We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruth's Chris Steak House

Reserve a Table
Wed, 1/16
8:00 PM
2

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

About
Ruth's Chris Steak House specializes in serving aged USDA Prime steaks, broiled in a trademark 1800-degree oven and served on a plate heated to 500 degrees to ensure the steak stays "sizzling" hot. To experience fine dining at its best … Just follow the sizzle to the nearest Ruth's Chris Steak House.
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
166
56
30
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
166
56
30
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filet lamb lollipops creamed spinach sliders ahi tuna lettuce wraps seafood tower burger onion rings crab cakes chicken french quarter wine dinner cooked to perfection paired perfectly our waiter great happy hour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were excited to have reservations then sorely disappointed. Yes the food was good but nothing special as was the service. Not sure how they have such an outstanding reputation. The restaurant is very nice and can’t beat the ambience; however, not a good enough...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 614jb2014
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your candid review. While I'm glad to hear that the food was good, I'm disappointed that we ultimately didn't leave you with a better impression. Should you wish to share any more specific feedback, I encourage you to give me...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well this was disappointing, 6:30pm the restaurant was nearly empty and hostess says with no reservations bar seating only, well were good with that. We visit Ruth’s Chris all over North America and Mexico. My wife loves the stuffed chicken and the cowboy ribeye is...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank karls662
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your candor. As guests who are familiar with and were looking forward to the Ruth's Chris experience, I am especially disappointed to hear about your recent visit to our restaurant. What you describe not only falls short of your expectations, but also...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a party of five and had a reservation at 8:00. My first impression was the hostess dressed too casual for this type of restaurant. I thought they had a uniform but obviously not. Our meal was fine with the exception of the baked...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mary Sue H
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your candid feedback, Mary Sue. While I'm glad your meal left an overall favorable impression, I'm disappointed that your baked potato was not up to our highest brand standards. I sincerely apologize that you didn't catch us at our very best, and...More

Reviewed December 10, 2018

Sunday brunch only a menu of typical selections; while food was good it missed the idea of a brunch.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank James K
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you taking the time to leave a review, James. I'm sorry to know that our brunch menu didn't have the offerings you were expecting. It is usually very well received (my personal favorites is the tenderloin eggs benedict), but I will be sure to...More

Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

All I have ever heard was Ruth Chris is the place to go! My parents are regulars at the one in Louisville, Ky where we are from. So we decided to try the one here on vacation. Service was awful . Dirty dishes left on...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 542caseyv
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. I can assure you that just like our sister restaurant in Louisville, we pride ourselves on upholding the same high standards that were set forth by our founder, Ruth Fertel. With that said, I'm disappointed...More

Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Had the best double Expresso chocolate martini made by Austin. Austin and Chelsea were hilarious and very personable.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Passport212339
John W, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Thank you! Knowing that martini hit the spot is great, and I'll be sure to pass the compliment along to Austin. We hope you'll join us for a meal next time, too. Cheers! Christine Bennett, Assistant General Manager

Reviewed December 2, 2018

Whenever we can find one we always stop in at a Ruth's Chris for their extraordinary happy hour offerings. Charleston did not disappoint and we had dinner there twice and stopped by an additional time for one of their superb cocktails. Bravo to all concerned!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank happytraveller914
John W, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2018

Knowing we're your favorite steakhouse means the world -- thank you. I'm glad our location lived up to your standards, and I hope to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in Charleston. Cheers, Christine Bennett, Assistant General Manager

Reviewed November 26, 2018

Thanksgiving Meal was poor . Waited 20 minutes to take order , turkey was dry , potatoes were cool , drink had no whiskey in it . Spoke to manager and she corrected everything . It appeared that they were short staffed .More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank stanley2252
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2018

We appreciate your feedback, Stanley, though it's certainly disheartening to know you weren't more impressed with the Thanksgiving meal. We have addressed your concerns with our team and I am confident your experience won't be repeated moving forward. As you mentioned, I had the chance...More

Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

We love to visit Ruth’s Chris in as many cities as we can. We understand some are franchises and the chance the experience may not be stellar. I can say that this restaurant lived up to the name and delivered excellent food and service! Shout...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 962cheryle
John W, Owner at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Thank you for the shout out, Cheryle! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your recent experience at our restaurant (we are, indeed, a franchise, but we pride ourselves on upholding the highest brand standards set forth by our fearless founder, Ruth Fertel). I'll be sure to share...More

Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

We had a very good meal. The seafood tower was fantastic as was our steak. The server was professional and attentive. The GM came by our table to make sure everything was good. The chef even checked in with us.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank WorldTraveler50226
John W, Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

We're delighted you enjoyed the seafood tower and attentive service! Thanks for the wonderful feedback, and we hope to see you again soon. Take care, Christine Bennett, Assistant General Manager

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
isaidsandy
January 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ccr9217 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is plenty of street parking. I would bring cash and cc so you can have any parking you choose.
1
Vote
RogerG2294
June 4, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from betty29410 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think there is a dress code. But I think it's ok as long as you don't look like you are going to the beach. In other words nice shirt and pants or shorts.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing