We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Rock Lobster Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
D'Albora Marina - 6 Teramby Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
(02) 4981 1813
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 301: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Good seafood but way too pricey..view is great though. Lobster not included in seafood platter....shop around

Helpful?
Thank Doris D
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The restaurant is s favourite. Great seafood platters and prawn dishes. The fresh seafood platter was $55 and absolutely delicious with contents updated for likes and dislikes. The desserts were offered and an unbaked lemon cheesecake was served with raspberry gelato and pistachios. Great combination with berries topping the cheesecake. Great service and attention to detail.

Helpful?
Thank Nanette T
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Greeted by someone who looked questioningly when we asked for a table for 2 and then was told to choose one. Waited over 15 minutes before finding our own menus to be told they were short on menus another 10 minutes before being given table water and offered a drink and then served by a red faced and flustered wait... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Libbydyson
megan905, Owner at Rock Lobster Restaurant, responded to this review

Libby You failed to advise that on arrival you were advised that there would be a 30 minute delay due to demand and that your food was plated and ready to be served when you chose to make a stand and leave, you also chose to ignore the fact that every restaurant in Nelson Bay decreases there staff level during... More 

Gladstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent service, food, music and surrounding. Very fresh and the calamari was so tender. Melt in your mouth. The chef accommodated our extras that we asked for. Excellent. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank holden4us
megan905, Owner at Rock Lobster Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review it is greatly appreciated Kind Regards Megan More 

Salamander Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a meal there last night. Service was poor considering it is part of a special promotion called Love Sea Food. Owners were not there on a Saturday night which is surprising as they had just promoted the establishment in the local press. However the meal was excellent when it arrived. Superb oyster special and my mussels where very tasty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug J
megan905, Owner at Rock Lobster Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review,we the owners were not there on the evening as we had a family member rushed to hospital. Your comment regarding poor service was due to the fact that two staff members were off ill with the flu. which happens at this time of year. Regards Megan More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I went out for a date night and got served by Suzanne she was extremely attentive and such a lovely young lady with a pretty smile. The food was amazing I recommend the hot and cold platter for two, it was very fresh and yummy! I can't wait to come back and dine there again it has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went out with my partner, great views and friendly staff that treated us very well. Unfortunately that's where the perfection started to dwindle. The oysters were very over priced, and the choices of garnish we choose over powered the oysters so they couldn't be tasted. My Chowder was very good, not to Muiers standard, but a good creamy version none... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
megan905, Owner at Rock Lobster Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Morning Joshua Thank you for your review I appreciate your feedback and these matters will be directed to my kitchen staff, as we are new owners of the restaurant it astounds me as to why customers do not advise the experienced wait staff when these matters occur as this could have been rectified there and then. I would requestl... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Waterfront with good views. The food was average and not at all like the pictures they use for advertising. "Fresh" seafood was fried and the batter could have been much better if it wasn't overcooked and quite tasteless and plain. To show I'm not biased - there were 4 of us and we had similar comments about this place, If... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
megan905, Owner at Rock Lobster Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Morning Craig Thank you for your review it is appreciated and I have address these matters with the staff, as we are new owners of the restaurant we appreciate your feedback and swift action has been taken. All staff members have been spoken to and I am assured this will not happen in the future. Kind Regards Megan More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautifully presented food, delicious seafood and to die for dessert! The view over the marina enhances the dining experience. To walk around the marina afterwards is a bonus. There's a small beach close by and the restaurant is suitable to take children but perhaps lunchtime only.

Helpful?
Thank Anita M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although the design and furniture would need a refresh, we found the food was great quality and the service very good. We went there after a whale cruise and they were still open for lunch after 2pm which was great! I would recommend the oysters and the seafood basket. Also, the servings are pretty big! Prices are a bit high... More 

Helpful?
Thank lolaFrance
megan905, Owner at Rock Lobster Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review it is appreciated, our prices are in line with every other seafood restaurant in Nelson Bay. More 

Travelers who viewed Rock Lobster Restaurant also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Rock Lobster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: D'Albora Marina - 6 Teramby Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Port Stephens  >  Nelson Bay
  • Phone Number: (02) 4981 1813

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rock Lobster Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rock Lobster Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?