We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Austrian Schnitzelhaus

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Hive/Erina Fair | Terrigal Drive, Gosford, New South Wales 2250, Australia
61243674874
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sat - Sun 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 61 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 8
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Great food

Visited here for lunch and wasn't sure what to expect. Restaurant has a wonderful ambience. We did wait a while for our orders to be taken, hence the 4 stars, but once the food arrived we were not disappointed. We all had the lunch special which is exceptional value! Food was of a generous portion... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 3, 2016
sandgal1970
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently celebrated a family members birthday at this restaurant and the set menu was great with good choices. The service was excellent and the food delicious.

Helpful?
Thank valdaj2015
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pork knuckle was over cooked and dry and the potato rosti was undercooked and bland. We mentioned it to the waiter and he said there was nothing wrong, he was rude and then told us that other people said that they didn't like the food, he said they were all wrong.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
gerry j, Manager at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Hello Mr Simon S, I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit to the Schnitzelhaus recently. Unfortunately I wasn't afforded an audience with yourself on the evening. I don't understand how I was misconstrued as rude when I never spoke with you. The friend from your table that I did have the fortune to speak with... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Visited here for lunch and wasn't sure what to expect. Restaurant has a wonderful ambience. We did wait a while for our orders to be taken, hence the 4 stars, but once the food arrived we were not disappointed. We all had the lunch special which is exceptional value! Food was of a generous portion and very well prepared and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandgal1970
gerry j, Manager at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to send us some rewarding feedback. It is very appreciated and nice to be able to pass on to our team and let them know how great a job they are doing. I'm sorry that you had a wait on ordering, at this time of year that can be expected as its not... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

The Star Wars premiere at adjacent Hoyts created an unusually high volume of non-booked visitors but once we had survived the wait for our order to be taken the swiss cheese garlic bread was delicious. It was followed way too closely (about 40 seconds) by the arrival of our mains, but the food was so good that by the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank philipargy
gerry j, Manager at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Thank you Philip for your generous words. Thursday night was certainly a testing night for staff and the ratio of walk in customers to reserved diners was certainly an unanticipated anomally thanks to the New movie at the cinema. These don't normally effect our trade too much. I thank you for your patience. I did speak to you on the... More 

Newtown, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We took my elderly parents for lunch, the weather was horrible outside and the restaurant being in Erina Fair made parking and access very good. Atmosphere a little lacking but the staff and food made up for that. The meals are quite large especially the pork knuckle. We visited for lunch so maybe the half size have been better. Many... More 

Helpful?
Thank 792Carol_H
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

On arrival we were not sure whether you are meant to be seated or you just sit down and wait to be served. After waiting for 5 minutes i decided to ask and had a snarky reply "well do you have a booking?". We did not have a booking but i assumed it would be ok to ask the question... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rory J
gerry j, General Manager at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Hello Rory J, I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the level of food and service at our restaurant during your recent visit. Here at the Schnitzelhaus, as a restaurant, we do expect customers to wait at the front counter to be seated. This is common practice in a waited restaurant and sets us apart from Pubs,... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Waitress could not wait for us to leave. After 170 bill for 4 mains and 2 kids meals the food was plain but the service took it even lower.

Helpful?
Thank Skev V
gerry j, Manager at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Hi Skev, Please accept my sincere apologies for your poor dining experience. I dont like to hear that a customer didnt feel accomodated. I'm not sure what went wrong here but if you can give me some more details I will be able to address the situation. When were you dining and at which of our restaurants, Erina or Neutral... More 

Booker Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

We had a pleasant lunch at this venue, after a movie at the Cinema.If the ratings allowed, our assessment would be a deserved 3 and a half! We have been at this restaurant previously and have always enjoyed their meals, especially if you are feeling hungry. On this occasion, we avoided entree, as in the past we have found it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron T
gerry j, Manager at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Thank you Ron for your kind words. I am very glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Also that the New Schnitzel of the month was a hit. Hopefully we will see you visiting us again soon. Regards, Paul Callaghan General Manager Austrian Schnitzelhaus Erina More 

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Went there for dinner with family. I had the Schnitzel & Ribs The meal was enormous, could not eat it all. Would go there again but would not order the wine it was very expensive.

Helpful?
Thank dogbird
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

We come here often. Food is tasty and enjoyable! The menu has many options (& staff are flexible in changing platters to suit your preferences). There's a great kids area to keep the little ones contained and entertained. It's a great venue for lunch and dinner ... staff are lovely!

Helpful?
Thank Mimm78

Travelers who viewed The Austrian Schnitzelhaus also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to The Austrian Schnitzelhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Hive/Erina Fair | Terrigal Drive, Gosford, New South Wales 2250, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Gosford
  • Phone Number: 61243674874

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 21
  • Cuisine: German

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Austrian Schnitzelhaus staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?
#