We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Austrian Schnitzelhaus

$$ - $$$
German, Austrian, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Hive/Erina Fair | Terrigal Drive, Gosford, New South Wales 2250, Australia
+61 2 4367 4874
Website
Today
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Sat - Sun 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So from the outside this looks great and once in still the same but we found the food was not very nice at all . My meal which is in my picture came out and I was wowed by the quantity of food on the plate but thats where it ended the ribs were a bit dry and chewy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Troy S
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2017

After wanting to visit for a while, I decided to go and went for my birthday, had a table booked for 9. Service was quite slow, food was quite average for the price, nothing to rave about. The staff member we dealt with for the night wasn't very friendly, having short answers and unable/unwilling to answer any questions from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HollynDillonJenkins
Umina beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

Love The Austrian Schnitzelhaus! Golden, crispy and juicy schnitzels, traditional sides (I love the sauerkraut!) and amazing strudel (try the cherry!) the portions are massive and they even have a schnitzel challenge and a bratwurst challenge (attempt at your own risk- there's so much food!) The decor is kitsch with its cow print lined booths and seats as well as... More 

Helpful?
Thank chelseam301
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2016

Friends of ours took us the Austrian Schnitzelhaus and it was simply the best schnitzel we have ever had. We ordered the medium which was more than enough for us and it was great. I had the surf n turf and my wife had the Italian. Just cannot speak highly enough of the food here. The staff service was excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2016 via mobile

The schnitzel was good. Chips ok. Not many really healthy options too choose from. Service was a bit slow

Helpful?
Thank Tee G
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Great. Alyssa and good quality food. Lovely to get a choice of veal park and clicked schnitzel. We both had the veal and it was veal and was delicious. Personally not thrilled with their coleslaw but maybe that was just us. Great you get three portion sizes to choose from. Only gripe from me was poor quality Chardonnay by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee T
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2016

Firstly, my husband and I have dined previously at this restaurant saying we will never return. On this occasion it was a family celebration to which we were invited to with high hopes that the level of dining may have changed. What fools are we the whole dining experience was disgusting, the only positive comment that I can pass on... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarenTerrigal
gerry j, Owner at The Austrian Schnitzelhaus, responded to this review

Hallo Karen I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Austrian Schnitzelhaus. The Baby Farmer is one of our most popular dishes because of is variety of food. We cook fresh Knuckel 4 to 5 times a week and get fresh delivery's every week because of is big demand, if a pice was dry i apologize for it,... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016

Food is delicious with a lot of variety. The various sizes and types of schnitzels means that there's something for everyone. I haven't tried anything other than schnitzels though, so can't speak about anything else. It IS a schnitzel house after all right...

Helpful?
1 Thank Yongazz
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2016

Nineteen members of a Probus Club visited The Austrian Schnitzelhaus at Erina yesterday, on arrival we were greeted warmly by the Waitress and then we were seated, bar service was provided promptly and they had an excellent variety of beers and wines by the glass. Our meals of Chicken or Veal Vienna Schnitzel and Casserole were cooked swiftly and delivered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice T
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2016

Excited to eat Rosti for the first time in a few years you can imagine my disappointment when the pathetic square frozen deep-fried potato cakes were served. veal snitzel was dryer then my partners left dead ovary and the price paid is ridiculous. It also just feels like the place needs a good clean. Ive had better Austrian in Vietnam

Helpful?
Thank James S

Travelers who viewed The Austrian Schnitzelhaus also viewed

Gosford, New South Wales
 
Gosford, New South Wales
Gosford, New South Wales
 

Been to The Austrian Schnitzelhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $23
Cuisine
German, Austrian, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Hive/Erina Fair | Terrigal Drive, Gosford, New South Wales 2250, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Gosford
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4367 4874

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Austrian Schnitzelhaus staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?