We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fishmongers Byron Bay

$$ - $$$
Seafood, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Bay Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
61412059771
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great breakfast here so decided to go for dinner. Unfortunately the Dinner was not as good. Next time in Byron we would go somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank lynMaroubra
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Lyn I believe you may have us confused with another restaurant as do not serve breakfast. We open at 12pm and close late. Thanks Spresa More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gluten Free? No worries. Hungry? You've found the right place. Not your bog standard F&C here. Tasty, fresh and inventive options for the more health conscious diner.

Helpful?
Thank Alex A
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Wow, thanks for this quick, straight to the point review. You are so on point, that's exactly what we aim to deliver. You are welcome back any time. Spresa More 

Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a location. Maybe they rest on their laurels a bit due to this. Go around the corner to Fishmongers for the best F&C. Still if you want to takeaway and eat on the beach, this is your place. Not cheap and cheerful.

Helpful?
Thank Rich_dw_chnz
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation Rich, we may not have the best view however we sure do put a lot of love into our product and service. You must try our new Fish Taco's when you next visit, they are the bomb! See you again soon :) More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2016

Consistent as always! Menu has expanded over time but quality and freshness has not been compromised. Doesn't disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Weekender
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hey Aussie Weekender! Sounds like you have been one of our loyal customers. So glad to hear you are still enjoying our yummy food. And yes we have added a few more options to spice it up a little, however our commitment to freshness and consistency will never waver. Have a great Xmas Spresa More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

I got the octopus here for take out, walked down to the beach sat down and ate it. It was so good I didn't even look up at the beautiful surroundings. Would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank ShaunMc87
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hey Shaun Well nothing says "I loved my food" like missing a the spectacular Byron Bay light house view. Thanks for taking the time to share you experience and we look forward to enjoying our succulent marinated & char grilled octopus. Have a great Xmas Spresa V More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Its a must stop in byron but everytime i go i get a little dissapointed. Quality slips time after time. For this kind of price i expect close to perfection every time. Also they could probably get bigger oysters as well.

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Michael Sorry to hear you where a little disappointed. As much as we have a solid focus on consistency there are times we may meet some peoples expectations. We can guarantee one thing and that is that we are as committed to delivering a special Fish Mongers Byron Bay experience as ever before. We are heading into our 7th... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Don't bother wasting you time here Service terrible took a hour to get our food was terribly overpriced hardly edible It wasn't even busy don't know how they cope when actually busy👎😡

Helpful?
Thank ANDREW C
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Andrew The food can sometimes take a while even though the restaurant may appear not busy as we receive a lot of phone orders. In saying that we still pride ourselves on getting food out promptly in the height of summer. We write down what time orders were taken to ensure the time is recorded as sometimes the wait... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

A little more expensive than your average fish and chip shop but it's a little more gourmet than that. Enjoyed very much. Got takeaway and ate at the beach 😊

Helpful?
Thank Katherine W
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Thanks Katherine, glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. Our home made chips alone often catch a lot of our new customers by surprise. The good news is you don't need as many as they are real potatoes and you get full pretty quickly. (Mind you that hasn't stopped many from eating them all, me included) Heading to the beach... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016

We had a lovely lunch of corn wraps with fish and salad - delicious with chips - the best. Go down the lane and you will have your taste buds invigorated!

Helpful?
Thank AmeliaJane247
Spresa V, Manager at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Love it Amelia, your review has bought a huge smile to my face :) The lane can get busy and glad you selected our establishment to eat at. Come back soon and try the Taco's next time they are amazing :) Thanks again.... More 

Tasmania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

The Italian young lady was excellent giving great suggestions and very friendly. The food was very good, with good salads. Remember it's a up market fish and chip shop. There were options of having grilled fish which was very nice..

Helpful?
Thank Dogsey
Spresa V, Owner at Fishmongers Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hey Dogsey Thanks for your feedback about my great front of house crew, we know our offering is far from "normal" so it's important we help out were we can. And thanks for reminding all readers that we are an up market fish and chip shop, our home made chips alone take us to another level. See you again soon... More 

Travelers who viewed Fishmongers Byron Bay also viewed

Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 
Byron Bay, New South Wales
Byron Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Fishmongers Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Australian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Highchairs Available
Good for
Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Bay Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Byron Bay
  • Phone Number: 61412059771
Description
Dine in or Take Away Monday - Sunday 12pm to Late

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fishmongers Byron Bay and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Fishmongers Byron Bay staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?