We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Scarlet Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth, England
01637 861800
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 265: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thought we would eat in as we were staying in the hotel. We had our dog with us and they dog sat so we could enjoy our meal without worrying about him. Big bonus points :) the food was of a high standard but maybe a big to fancy for our pallet. If you are looking for something special for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megahound
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Being able to dine with your dog is a big plus, I know it's unfamiliar territory for them, being all together feels much more relaxing. Should you join us again, we can always create a simpler menu enabling you to fully enjoy your dining experience, just let our reservation team know upon re-booking. We also have an Anytime Anywhere menu... More 

Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant has a great outlook out over the beach. The food was very good, despite there being few items on the menu. Unfortunately this is an 'eco' hotel, so the wines are not allowed any airmiles, so the choice is limited.

Helpful?
Thank toandfromtheairport
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

We do only source our wines from as far as Europe, but feel we have a large selection that has been carefully chosen, many of these can also be ordered by the glass. We prefer to have a slightly smaller menu to ensure we deliver beautifully presented, delicious food, I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your evening with... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Elegant Restaurant in Adult only exclusive hotel. Amazing view . We were served in the lounge as we wanted a better view thanks to adaptable friendly waiters.

Helpful?
Thank Halhoul626590
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

The Retreat lounge is a lovely alternative to our restaurant, especially for anyone wishing to dine with us and their beloved 4 legged friend. The views are beautiful and it's so quite and relaxing. Thank you for sharing your dining experience. Kind regards, Rachael Fisher House Manager More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very relaxed environment, with a perfect view for any occasion. The staff are so friendly and obliging. With food to swoon over it was fantastic, my fish stew was a taste of the sea, amazing with lamb to follow that just melted in the mouth. My daughter who is a veggie a feast for the eyes the detail on presentation... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz A
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

We are really proud of our vegetarian options on both our lunch & dinner menu, with us being a sustainable hotel, it fits very well with our ethos. Recently quite a few meat eating guests have been converted to the veggie options after seeing our menu, I particularly enjoy the cheese soufflé. Thank you for sharing you Scarlet experience, we... More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staying at the sister hotel ,this was a must for our last night. A rather cavernous dining room but it was certainly spacious. Staff were very friendly and service was good. Food excellent and the views were stunning.

Helpful?
Thank Sara B
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

What a wonderful way to end your time away, it's lovely to experience both of the sister hotels, the Scarlet is certainly a little more Serene. Thank you for sharing your experience. Kind regards, Rachael Fisher House Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely meal with fantastic views, recommend the wine flight with bubbles, all wraps up very early and lacks a little bit of atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank rickyhullagencies
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review The wine flight is a wonderful way to broaden your taste buds and learn a little about what you like or indeed don't like. As the majority of our guests are residents, they do prefer to retreat to their rooms after dinner, this however should not put you off enjoying a coffee with petit fours... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

We ate here for breakfast and dinner twice - we usually eat out so that should give you an idea of how much we liked it! The wine flight really opened our taste buds to some new wines, although the wine host wasn't overly knowledgeable on the wines As with everything at the Scarlet, nothing is too much trouble, including... More 

Helpful?
Thank FarmersDonandStu
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you perfect Dinner and Breakfast review. I feel the same, I don't usually eat out, so it takes something special to indulge and return to the same restaurant. I am delighted to hear we catered to your dietaries, the chefs are very adaptable with our guests additional needs and allergies, we hope this allows them to relax... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

We are regulars for Sunday lunch, and for Spa treats etc. The food is aways superb, best Sunday roast in Cornwall, and we have tried a lot. The restaurant is in a stunning location, today sitting under cloudless skies in warm sunshine on the terrace looking out to see. The food today was as brilliant as always (as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed A
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb reply and Scarlet support. You were really spoilt with the weather whilst joining us for lunch, the restaurant terrace is the perfect location for a relaxing afternoon with a glass of wine under the beating sun. Hearing about your flawless father's day lunch is also a delight to read. I will pass on your kind... More 

Towcester
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

the good............no sign of children, a great setting, striking outside design, quite a cool vibe (if that means 'beautiful people' trying to look cool and cornwallish), and importantly the food is good, with no complaints from anyone and sensibly priced. the not so good..... the cool vibe extends to the meet 'n greet. our inside lunch table for 6, in... More 

Helpful?
Thank nykwilkyins
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review With us being an adults only hotel, this certainly adds to the calmness of The Scarlet experience, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our setting and vibe during your lunch visit. Your feedback about the uniforms has a end is sight, as from mid July we take delivery of the teams new uniform, this... More 

Streatley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Terrible experience, we were dumped in a bland characterless meeting room with no ambience, instead of the dining room , despite it being quite late in the evening and the dining room wasn't full. The food was patchy some was quite nice but the meat courses were not good enough and the portions were very mean . The staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Rachael F, General Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that your private dining experience was so disappointing, it saddens me to hear that you felt that you were forgotten about and the overall experience was not what you had expected. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service to ensure each experience is tailored to our guests as its important to make all our guests feel special... More 

Travelers who viewed The Scarlet Restaurant also viewed

 
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Scarlet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Mawgan Porth
  • Phone Number: 01637 861800
Description
Our restaurant menus are simple yet bursting with flavour, changing daily to ensure that full use is made of what is at its local, seasonal best, whilst remaining reasonably priced. Breakfast and lunch are relaxed and served in the restaurant or the terrace. For dinner we add a shot of glamour to both the menu and the atmosphere, ensuring a memorable evening whether a romantic dinner à deux, or a long-overdue catch up with friends. Our comprehensive wine list includes plenty of unusual choices available by both the bottle and the glass, with selections made daily to complement the restaurant menu. Our enticing deli menu and ‘to die for’ Cornish afternoon tea can be served in your room or anywhere else you like at any time.3 course lunch £22.50. 3 course Sunday lunch £25. 3 course dinner £42.50.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scarlet Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?