We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Scarlet Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth, England
01637 861800
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 260: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a lovely meal with fantastic views, recommend the wine flight with bubbles, all wraps up very early and lacks a little bit of atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank rickyhullagencies
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review The wine flight is a wonderful way to broaden your taste buds and learn a little about what you like or indeed don't like. As the majority of our guests are residents, they do prefer to retreat to their rooms after dinner, this however should not put you off enjoying a coffee with petit fours... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We ate here for breakfast and dinner twice - we usually eat out so that should give you an idea of how much we liked it! The wine flight really opened our taste buds to some new wines, although the wine host wasn't overly knowledgeable on the wines As with everything at the Scarlet, nothing is too much trouble, including... More 

Helpful?
Thank FarmersDonandStu
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for you perfect Dinner and Breakfast review. I feel the same, I don't usually eat out, so it takes something special to indulge and return to the same restaurant. I am delighted to hear we catered to your dietaries, the chefs are very adaptable with our guests additional needs and allergies, we hope this allows them to relax... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are regulars for Sunday lunch, and for Spa treats etc. The food is aways superb, best Sunday roast in Cornwall, and we have tried a lot. The restaurant is in a stunning location, today sitting under cloudless skies in warm sunshine on the terrace looking out to see. The food today was as brilliant as always (as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed A
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb reply and Scarlet support. You were really spoilt with the weather whilst joining us for lunch, the restaurant terrace is the perfect location for a relaxing afternoon with a glass of wine under the beating sun. Hearing about your flawless father's day lunch is also a delight to read. I will pass on your kind... More 

Towcester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the good............no sign of children, a great setting, striking outside design, quite a cool vibe (if that means 'beautiful people' trying to look cool and cornwallish), and importantly the food is good, with no complaints from anyone and sensibly priced. the not so good..... the cool vibe extends to the meet 'n greet. our inside lunch table for 6, in... More 

Helpful?
Thank nykwilkyins
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review With us being an adults only hotel, this certainly adds to the calmness of The Scarlet experience, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our setting and vibe during your lunch visit. Your feedback about the uniforms has a end is sight, as from mid July we take delivery of the teams new uniform, this... More 

Streatley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible experience, we were dumped in a bland characterless meeting room with no ambience, instead of the dining room , despite it being quite late in the evening and the dining room wasn't full. The food was patchy some was quite nice but the meat courses were not good enough and the portions were very mean . The staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Rachael F, General Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry that your private dining experience was so disappointing, it saddens me to hear that you felt that you were forgotten about and the overall experience was not what you had expected. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent service to ensure each experience is tailored to our guests as its important to make all our guests feel special... More 

Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very disappointing visit to the restaurant at the Scarlet Hotel. We had booked Fathers Day dinner, the men had starters which were fine but for three of us the main course roast beef dinner was a disaster. Let alone cut the meat trying to eat it was almost impossible. We did mention it to our waitress who offered to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mandieward
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was saddened to read of your experience on Fathers Day in The Scarlet Restaurant. I would very much like to speak to you about your time with us, so I can understand more about where we went so wrong for you. I would love the opportunity to show you that your experience is not... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had been recommended to visit the Scarlet by several colleagues and I was not disappointed. We decided to visit with my in-laws to celebrate my partner's mother's birthday. What fantastic design of the whole hotel and the views were superb. We were not disappointed with the meal which was a fixed price 3 course but large portions for every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare B
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Birthday Dinner review. It always lovely to receive a recommendation and for it to live up to its hype, especially when it is for such a special occasion. I am so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience, especially the portions sizes and attentive service. I am sorry to read that the ending to your service... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just give it a try, amazing service the staff were very helpful, laid back and chilled but always on the ball with great attention to detail, never rushed. The food was excellent with a superb selection of local produce and an excellent selection of wines.

Helpful?
Thank oddjob30
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely restaurant review. The service is laid back and low key, this allows the food & wine to take pride of place along with the stunning open sea views. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the local produce & selection of wines, the evening wine flight is a wonderful new addition to this experience. I... More 

Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Took advantage of the lunch special offer and were not disappointed. Oozes laid back class, high end design, beautiful art - a very zen feeling. Personally greeted & shown around, invited to stay as long as you wish after lunch, fabulous service & fabulous views. Food was pretty faultless, plenty of it for us, fresh & seasonal. Our waitress was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen1962_13
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

What an extra special lunch review, thank you for sharing you Scarlet experience. I am delighted to read your Birthday lunch was one of luxury and relaxation, I hope you made use of the extra time in one of our lounges. We, as a team, absolutely love being dog friendly, it's also wonderful seeing our guests enjoying a well earned... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Ate at the Scarlet twice during a family stay at the neighbouring Bethruthan Hotel. Lovely looking restaurant with stellar views and an interesting menu. Food was excellent during our first visit, not quite at that mark second time around, but it was all imaginative, locally sourced and of very high quality. Some lovely wines at reasonable prices too. Service was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheRichens2
Rachael F, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your Scarlet dining experience. Dan the restaurant host is such a wonderful guy, his manner amongst guests is charming and he exudes warmth within the team. The wines are sourced with much care and consideration, our Sommelier is an exciting addition to our wine menu during Dinner service. If you wish to... More 

Travelers who viewed The Scarlet Restaurant also viewed

 
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Scarlet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, British, Gluten Free
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Mawgan Porth
  • Phone Number: 01637 861800
Description
Our restaurant menus are simple yet bursting with flavour, changing daily to ensure that full use is made of what is at its local, seasonal best, whilst remaining reasonably priced. Breakfast and lunch are relaxed and served in the restaurant or the terrace. For dinner we add a shot of glamour to both the menu and the atmosphere, ensuring a memorable evening whether a romantic dinner à deux, or a long-overdue catch up with friends. Our comprehensive wine list includes plenty of unusual choices available by both the bottle and the glass, with selections made daily to complement the restaurant menu. Our enticing deli menu and ‘to die for’ Cornish afternoon tea can be served in your room or anywhere else you like at any time.3 course lunch £22.50. 3 course Sunday lunch £25. 3 course dinner £42.50.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scarlet Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Scarlet Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?