We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cott Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HW, England
+44 1208 872668
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 359: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was my first time visiting the garden centre for a catch up with a friend. We spent a couple of hours having lunch here. The staff were lovely and cheerful. The menu was much more varied than I imagined for a small café. The service was quick and polite, the food was lovely. Would definitely recommend to family and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShRuggy2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

it's been a while since we visited the duchy and we noticed a change, not for the better unfortunately - prices are high for a lunch - i had a sandwich which was basically a slice of wholemeal bread with grated cheese on top - bit disappointing - as ever the service was excellent and the venue too - we... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephenbarber13
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your kind comments about the service and venue. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your cheese sandwich and certainly by your description it does not sound very impressive. I do hope that you had the opportunity to let one of our team... More 

Bristol, united kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My 17 year old daughter and I popped in for lunch. It's a lovely setting with a beautiful view across the valley to Restormel castle. Depending on the light the castle itself can be quite camouflaged by it's deeply wooded setting. Makes for a bit of fun trying to spot it. Once located you realise it is quite big and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the coffee shop with our children during half term. This was our 4th visit in 12 months. The food was lovely as always, but the service was very poor. We had noticed how slow the service had been previously, but put this down to good food cooked to order. We were also content to wait in wonderful surroundings.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ehsbriggs
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to post your review. Thank you also for your regular custom this year and for your kind words about our food. I am very sorry that you found the service disappointing. A spilled cappuccino followed by a forgotten one are certainly not great examples of customer service and I am very sorry for that.... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today and found the cafe warm and cosy .The menu was varied and interesting lots of local produce used . Lovely choice of cakes too .We had warm scones with our cream tea ..quite delicious. The cafe prices are on the high side .Staff are competent and friendly .The shop has some lovely products ..but incredibly expensive!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sally S
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a popular place for locals to meet for coffee, and if the weather is inclement you always have the most interesting little shop to look around without venturing outside.

Helpful?
Thank Weekender787
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review: we all really appreciate such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back here - we'll keep the fire lit! More 

Saltash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a coffee on my mum's birthday. Her coffee, my tea and cake were good. However her scone was very heavy and dry. We weren't charged for it but this isn't the first time I've tried their scones. Never had any complaint on their other food in the past which has been lovely. They don't seem to be able... More 

Helpful?
Thank dotty0189
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to post a review and thank you also for your kind words about our lovely food. We’re sorry that our scones weren’t up to the mark. We are always looking to fine tune our recipes to make them even better and this has recently included our scones. One of the other benefits of... More 

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a meal with family members. The menu was interesting, we had 4 different meals between us, all of which were very good. The staff were friendly and attentive, there was a good atmosphere, there are lovely views from the windows. The only problem was that the tables were so close together that the back of my chair was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do get quite busy around lunchtime but we're very glad that you appreciated the atmosphere of the cafe. Thank you once again for your kind words. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was with friends who took me to this restaurant for lunch, it's a small place however it has a lovely atmosphere, we timed it just right as we were able to get a table with no delay. We ordered from the specials board, slightly expensive however you get what you pay for, we had a good portion of chicken... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sc00byD0
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and we're delighted that you enjoyed the chicken stroganoff. We do hope you visit again on a clear day as the views across the valley to Restormel Castle are beautiful. Thank you once again for taking the trouble to write your review - it really does mean a lot to the team. More 

Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

another good visit to this excellent restaurant food and service as good as ever atmosphere good attentive staff and varied menu

Helpful?
Thank mickmaydew
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write your review and for your kind words. We all really appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back here again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $24
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cott Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Lostwithiel
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 872668

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?