We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cott Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HW, England
+44 1208 872668
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 302: English reviews
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we have been pretty regular visitors here in the last few months combining plant buying and food nibbling! Lovely lattes to start with and then usually try things off the Specials Board - favourites have included flaked crab in a creamy pasta, Miss Muffet honey and cheese tart and prawn and mussel risotto with salmon. Also enjoyed bouillabaisse and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackangelmine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Go here often friendly staff excellent food always recommend For a light bite or full meal. Not a huge menu . But often changes so something different to try. Nursery always a delight .

Helpful?
Thank Lynelyn
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In trying to reach the castle we found the Nursery and Cafe. Unfortunately it was closed, but we did continue to the castle entrance which was next to the Duchy offices. There are public foot paths that are perfect for an after dinner walk through scenic and fairly flat surroundings. A perfect end to our day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review and I am sorry that we weren't open. Our hours are 9.00am - 5.00pm (Mon - Sat) and 10.00am - 5.00pm on Sundays. As you say, it's a lovely walk from Restormel Castle and there's plenty of refreshments available here after your stroll. I do hope to find the time to visit us again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

inside the cafe there's an open fire for colder months and outside has lovely views of Lostwithiels rolling hills and you can see the castle too. The staff are always really happy and friendly and the place is generally clean. Now onto food - I've had a couple of bad meals there.. BUT, they were apologetic and sorted it out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kat E
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review. We're sorry to hear that you have had some disappointing dishes here but glad to hear that you were pleased with the manner in which your complaints were dealt with. Thank you also for your regular custom and we hope that you will enjoy plenty more of our delicious meals in the... More 

UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited this café and nursery every time we have been to Cornwall including twice this week. The food is absolutely stunning, extremely generous portions and very, very good value for money. The staff are always attentive and happy, even today half an hour before closing the waitress was cheerful and lovely. This café is absolute must visit for... More 

Helpful?
Thank StuCharlie
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your kind words, as well as visiting us twice in a week! All the team here very much appreciate your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back here very soon. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to relax with home made cakes and savouries! Service was a little slow and confused in the cafe but we were in no rush! Lovely shop and reasonably priced plants, cheaper than our garden centre at home!

Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire461
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and apologies if the service was a little slow. All our food is freshly prepared, which, when we are busy can mean a bit of a delay. We all really appreciate your positive comments and hope you visit us again soon. More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We walked up here from Lostwithiel which takes approximately 30 minutes. Fantastic selection of cakes as well as more substantial fare. Very good shop for gifts and the nursery alone is worth a walk around. Great with kids too.

Helpful?
Thank BDAShorts101
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a review and for your positive comments - it's a lovely walk from Lostwithiel, especially in the sunshine! More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here after spending time at Restormel Castle and were pleasantly surprised with what we found. Sitting on the terrace is wonderful :the views are spectacular but make sure you sit away from the trees planted in pots, else you'll find you have to crane your neck to appreciate the view. We chose the paties for our lunch and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lightningrider
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review us and for your kind comments. We think that the view is rather special too! We hope to see you here again soon. More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We read the reviews, and decided to give this a go on our way home. We were impressed! A lovely well run garden centre (we spent far too much - it all looked lovely) and a fabulous cafe. Great seating, everything is really good quality and comfortable. The food isn't the cheapest, but the portions are large and filling and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words! The team will be delighted with your comments and we very much look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a look as we were passing. Amazing bacon sandwich. Very good decaf tea to go with it. Nice plants too. Very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
DuchyNursery, Manager at Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words. The bacon sandwich is a favourite of our's too! More 

Travelers who viewed Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe also viewed

Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
Lostwithiel, Cornwall
 

Been to Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $24
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cott Road, Lostwithiel PL22 0HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Lostwithiel
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 872668

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duchy of Cornwall Nursery & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?