We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Admiral Nelson

$$ - $$$British, ,
123 Nelson Road | Whitton, Twickenham TW2 7BB, England
+44 20 8894 9998
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (4 reviews)
“beef” (2 reviews)
Closes in 2 min
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
123 Nelson Road | Whitton, Twickenham TW2 7BB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid. Staff friendly enough but thats because they know when you pay by card a 10% hidden service charge is added even if you walk to the bar to order. The service charge is not displayed clearly especially when using tap to pay as your...More

1  Thank Dave B
Admiral N, Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you feel you was tricked in to paying 10% service charge, but however this is not the case, like most card readers in pubs & restaurants now days we do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table especially for a concert, knew it was busy, knew it was football and arrived to find out they had run out of food! Treated as if it was our fault, told we should have preordered! HOW WOULD WE KNOW - you didn’t...More

3  Thank Nick W
Admiral N, General Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

NIck, Thanks for your comments, whilst I can understand your frustration, you must understand that on the day in question we were massively busy. We always try to look after our customers to the best of our ability and that is why we ask that...More

Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Visited with colleagues and found the service slow and miserable and when talking with a local he probably summed it up when he said they don’t have to try very hard as they have the high st to themselves and rugby matches to keep them...More

3  Thank Patrick W
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

I come in here often for a drink with my Mum and Dad. Nice wine selection and friendly bar staff. I’ve eaten in here a number of times, and I’ve not been disappointed. Other family members have in the past been troubled by items missing...More

Thank musicalnikki
Admiral N, Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hi musicalnikki, Thanks for taking the time to complete your 4 star review. We enjoy welcoming you guys back regularly and really like the fact that you enjoy our sunday roasts and other menu items. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

This pub must have been the inspiration for Faulty Towers. We were a party of 8, and previously confirmed everything on the menu was available. The order was taken and after 30/40 minutes we were informed there were insuficient prawns, no cheese in burgers, spectacularly...More

2  Thank Info Paintball M
Admiral N, Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate your comments but would like to respond honestly. Your starters were delayed and two side items were missing from your order. We made accommodation for this by giving you a round of drinks in...More

Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We prebooked a Sunday Roast to include a vegetarian option online and as a birthday treat. When we arrived there was no vegetarian roast and we were told that they do not look at what is requested if you book online! The waiter was apologetic...More

2  Thank joyandrich
Admiral N, General Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2018

Hi joyandrich, Thanks for your review. I appreciate your comments regarding vegetarian options and will pass this feedback onto the kitchen team, it may have been advisable to book via telephone in order to ensure that this could be accommodated for on the day. I'm...More

Reviewed April 27, 2018

Despite this pub being on the door step each time we have been we have not been impressed. The beer is expensive and although we appreciate that when the rugby is on its busy - maybe they need staff to check the toilets more frequently...More

2  Thank Irene J
Admiral N, General Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Hi Irene, Thanks for your review. Whilst I appreciate your comments around the price of our beers, we are part of Fullers whereby we pride ourselves on selling premium products with a premium service. Regarding toilets, unfortunately it is not always possible for staff to...More

Reviewed April 22, 2018

I do not know how the brewery can let a pub go down the drain as this one it used to be so lively and a locals pub will not visit anymore until the staff ere changed

1  Thank teetotal665
Admiral N, General Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

Hi teetotal665, Thanks for your review and your comments. Should you wish to discuss this matter in further detail please contact Tony or Dan on 0208 894 9998. Kind regards, The Admiral Nelson Team

Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Had my father's wake in here and the service was fantastic. They catered for a busy gathering very well, great food and nice room. Thank you for your service.

Thank Stella G
Admiral N, General Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you and your guests. We are glad that everything was ok for you on the day.

Reviewed March 20, 2018

Have visited this pub many times before on rugby days and have always had an enjoyable time. Myself and my brother visited this pub on Saturday night after the rugby and I ordered a pint of Guinness and an Amstel and it came to £11.50!!!!...More

4  Thank Capman68
Admiral N, General Manager at The Admiral Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Hi Capman68, Thanks for your review. Whilst I appreciate your comments, our staff are neither rude or aggressive. As for the gents toilets, this is something that was out of our control given the number of people that visited us on the day and unfortunately...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Twickenham
Premier Inn London Twickenham Stadium Hotel
402 reviews
.43 miles away
London Marriott Hotel Twickenham
934 reviews
.81 miles away
Twickenham Guest House
141 reviews
.90 miles away
Premier Inn London Twickenham East Hotel
240 reviews
1.03 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mosaico
113 reviews
.18 miles away
Taste of Pakistan
172 reviews
.68 miles away
Ralph's Wine Cellar & Delicatessen
33 reviews
.13 miles away
Whitton Cafe
41 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Twickenham Stadium
1,569 reviews
.78 miles away
World Rugby Museum
89 reviews
.74 miles away
Twickenham Stoop
97 reviews
.67 miles away
Twickenham Fine Ales
35 reviews
.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Admiral Nelson staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $19
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 123 Nelson Road | Whitton, Twickenham TW2 7BB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Twickenham
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8894 9998
  • E-mail
Description
The Admiral Nelson is the finest pub in Whitton with hearty dishes and sublime Sunday roasts! Enjoy our cask ales, world wines, premium spirits and craft lagers by the fire, or a quiet coffee all in our cosy, comfy surroundings. Weekly pub quiz and live music every Friday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing