We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The King’s Head

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
123 High Street, Teddington TW11 8HG, England
+44 20 3166 2900
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 443: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Went with a couple of friends as this is the pub at the end of their road. We just had one course of the bar menu - minute steak in my case - but it was very nice indeed. More of a Gastro-pub than a local but very nice food in good surroundings

Helpful?
Thank fender1961
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning Ian, Thank you for your lovely review about The Kings. We hope you can come again and try either our a la carte or lunch set menu. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2016

This restaurant is consistently brilliant. The food is always excellent - it is great for family meals, our late teen, early 20s children love it. Great atmosphere - service superb. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Littlemac2015
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your fantastic review about The Kings Head! We all do our utmost to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience whether it be a chilled pint in the bar or a meal in the restaurant. I will ensure to pass your kind words onto the whole team as they make it superb. We look forward to... More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2016

The Kings Head has never disappointed! The service, food, ambience is always outstanding. They even have a free mac and cheese for little people!

Helpful?
Thank Tashdonaldson15
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your cracking review about The Kings Head. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2016

My wife and i came here on one of the hottest days of the year. We were lucky enough to get a seat outside which was bustling with people and atmosphere. We had a really lovely evening with a great bottle of Rose and the food we were served was quick and delicious even though the vast amount of large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harlon H
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review about The Kings Head. The garden is beautiful in the summer! Let's hope you can have another fantastic summer evening when the sun decides to shine again! We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2016

I was disappointed and bit concerned when the Kings head was closed and re-opened as a bistro .... I need not have worried the atmosphere is still warm and welcoming whether you are coming in for a pint of Landlord or taking friends and family to lunch or dinner. The food is excellent I would highly recommend this delightful establishment.

Helpful?
Thank roger r
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your lovely review about The King's Head. It's great to hear you feel we are suitable for any occasion which is what we aim for. Whether it be a casual lunch or pint in the garden. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2016

As soon as we arrived, with our new 10 week old puppy, we were offered a water bowl to our table for the puppy. The food menus have an excellent variety. The wine menu is helpfully broken down to make it easy for you to select which wine you like. Good list at fair prices. The service is slick, efficient... More 

Helpful?
Thank 104Guinness1
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your fantastic review about The King's Head. Your puppy was adorable and everyone wanted to take it home!! We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Decent lunch in pleasant surroundings. Garden area spacious If slightly uncomfortable seating. Great mackerel dish on the day we went.This place is part of a chain and is sadly let down by the appalling and incredibly overpriced house red which Even I could buy online for £4 a Bottle,If I was so inclined.We had to go to £25 for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank desiro
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your great review about The King's Head. I do apologise you did not enjoy your house wine, we do have an extensive wine list and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your Cote Du Rhone. Leo is an asset to our team and I will ensure I pass on your kind words when I see... More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Wow what a pleasant surprise. This was marvellous! Went as a group of 8 does Sunday lunch. Service was fantastic and everyone we came across who served us were so friendly and efficient. They were so accommodating with the little ones in our group too. We all had 3 courses- a variety of things across both the a la carte... More 

Helpful?
Thank Selfstyledfash
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your amazing review regarding your lunch on Sunday. I will ensure this review is passed onto the whole team and my fab kitchen team! We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. Kind Regards, Polly Dunn General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2016

We visited Teddington with family intending going to an Italian restaurant across the road from The Kings Head for lunch but found it closed. As we don't know Teddington we decided to pop into The Kings Head for a drink and come up with Plan B. Plan B was easily found when we looked at the menu and decided we... More 

Helpful?
Thank MIW46
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your fantastic review about The Kings Head. I have to admit Canta Napoli was one of my favourites too and we were sad to see it closed down. I am very glad we became your Plan B and you had an enjoyable meal and service. I can also assure you we dealt with your comment... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2016

The Kings Head continues to be one of the better restaurants in Teddington for a relaxed evening meal, it stopped being a decent pub when the restaurant was extended and the bar became too narrow for more than 1 person to stand at to enjoy a pint. That said, the food offering out back is great, it's got a wide... More 

Helpful?
Thank andy_B269
Pollyanna D, General Manager at The King’s Head, responded to this review

Good morning Andy, Thank you for your lovely review about The King's Head. I can understand it can be very tight when people are at the bar. I will I just had an extra meter in width to make more space. I am really glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again in the near future.... More 

Travelers who viewed The King’s Head also viewed

Teddington, Greater London
 
Teddington, Greater London
Teddington, Greater London
 

Been to The King’s Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$15 - $31
Cuisine
Gastropub, French, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 123 High Street, Teddington TW11 8HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Teddington
  • Phone Number: +44 20 3166 2900
Description
This is very much a Victorian purpose built pub, but its roots are somewhat older. The original Teddington King's Head dates back to 1689, the time of William III. Maybe it's the history of the building that gives the pub its appeal or it could be Polly and her team who are undeniably charming, attentive and professional that make you want to come back time and time again.

Our regulars love us for the informality and cosiness of the King's, we have a large pewter bar, inviting snugs, three separate rooms, open fireplaces and a wonderful walled patio at the back (with our own fruiting grape vine).

Our open kitchen shows we are as serious about our food as we are about our ales and our wines - the menu features French brasserie dishes with an English pub twist with everything cooked fresh on the premises.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The King’s Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?