We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Roebuck Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Strinesdale, Oldham OL4 3RB, England
441616247819
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I visited with my coeliac partner and another couple. The staff where extremely friendly and attentive. My partner asked for gluten free cheesy garlic bread which wasn't on the menu. The chef managed to make her some anyway which was excellent after trying it myself. Everybody enjoyed the food and I can definitely recommend the specials starter - trio of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul E
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had my family Birthday meal here this Sunday the 21st , They could not have been nicer !! I had no cake but they put a massive sparkler in an ice cream and all the staff sang happy birthday , great fun and fantastic food ! Well worth the price and thanks

Helpful?
Thank Davepenny2468
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First of all was put on a table next to the kitchen door so every couple of minutes you would have the banging of kitchen door we ask to move was told we may not be able to due to booking well half of the restaurant was empty and still was when we left. When are food arrive about 5... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy C
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been regulars as the Roebuck for many years. Recent visits have left us feeling a little let down. The owners are brilliant and very hands on, everyone works very hard, that is why it is so disappointing to register anything other than a perfect experience. The place seems to be lacking atmosphere, The music is so low that it causes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arabicatheart
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for afternoon tea with the ladies who normally lunch, this was something new for us when the Roebuck said they had started afternoon teas, the presentation was unique with each person presented with a picnic hamper, in it was a cheese and onion pie, mini homemade burger with tomato relish and caramelised onion, Piri-Piri chicken skewers and homemade chips... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda M
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to give 3.5 stars because of the dirty fork but the friendliness of the staff brought it up. I was visiting my parents and being over from Australia, I thought I'd look at one of my old haunts for a midweek lunch. The Roebuck used to be a favourite of mine 15 years ago so we turned up without... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank McrtoMel
suehowarth1, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for providing a detailed and constructive review of you experience at our restaurant. We are taking steps to address the problem with the cutlery, as you point out, once might be a slip up but twice gives cause for concern and we will be taking steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. Incidentally, we have owned The Roebuck... More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

The Food was very good except the sweet cherry sauce was tasteless and what really killed it was my dinner guest was given a very dirty fork covered in dried on food all over the tines.

Helpful?
Thank Mick E
Oldham
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Having eaten at the Roebuck on many occasions, it was here that was chosen for a family celebration.. due to there being plenty to choose from. 17 of us to order, including children, you can't go wrong with such a varied menu, add in the fish board & the Sunday lunch menu, you can order one thing but fancy something... More 

Helpful?
Thank steven b
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

We visited the Roebuck tonight for a birthday meal. We have been visiting the restaurant for for quite a number of years most recently at Christmas. We have always enjoyed the meal and had good service. Unfortunately this case not the case tonight. We ordered our meals and waited. They brought out the starters and I asked a waitress for... More 

Helpful?
Thank alio37
suehowarth1, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review

We were so sorry to read of your disappointing meal experience at our restaurant recently. As you said in your comments you have eaten at The Roebuck before and been very satisfied with the food and the service. I think you would agree that most of our trip advisor reports express similar views. However, on this occasion we obviously didn't... More 

Oldham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Me and my family dined here on the occasion of my birthday and enjoyed it to the full. We have been before on several occasions so we knew what to expect. Those expectations were fulfilled to the max - great food, great atmosphere and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Skirlston

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck Inn also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Strinesdale, Oldham OL4 3RB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Oldham
  • Phone Number: 441616247819

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roebuck Inn and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
england
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Roebuck Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?