We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Roebuck Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Strinesdale, Oldham ol43rb, England
441616247819
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Wanted to give 3.5 stars because of the dirty fork but the friendliness of the staff brought it up. I was visiting my parents and being over from Australia, I thought I'd look at one of my old haunts for a midweek lunch. The Roebuck used to be a favourite of mine 15 years ago so we turned up without... More 

Helpful?
Thank McrtoMel
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Food was very good except the sweet cherry sauce was tasteless and what really killed it was my dinner guest was given a very dirty fork covered in dried on food all over the tines.

Helpful?
Thank Mick E
Oldham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having eaten at the Roebuck on many occasions, it was here that was chosen for a family celebration.. due to there being plenty to choose from. 17 of us to order, including children, you can't go wrong with such a varied menu, add in the fish board & the Sunday lunch menu, you can order one thing but fancy something... More 

Helpful?
Thank steven b
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Roebuck tonight for a birthday meal. We have been visiting the restaurant for for quite a number of years most recently at Christmas. We have always enjoyed the meal and had good service. Unfortunately this case not the case tonight. We ordered our meals and waited. They brought out the starters and I asked a waitress for... More 

Helpful?
Thank alio37
suehowarth1, Owner at The Roebuck Inn, responded to this review

We were so sorry to read of your disappointing meal experience at our restaurant recently. As you said in your comments you have eaten at The Roebuck before and been very satisfied with the food and the service. I think you would agree that most of our trip advisor reports express similar views. However, on this occasion we obviously didn't... More 

Oldham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my family dined here on the occasion of my birthday and enjoyed it to the full. We have been before on several occasions so we knew what to expect. Those expectations were fulfilled to the max - great food, great atmosphere and great service.

Helpful?
Thank Skirlston
oldham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

We attended a Lancashire night at the Roebuck last night with typical Lancashire food and as always it was excellent. We have never had a bad meal at this restaurant/pub and the service is always good. It's a real value for money establishment.

Helpful?
Thank georgiaoldham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Being situated on a hill you have brilliant views over Manchester. It was a clear day when we went and we could see as far as Runcorn but been told on some days you can see as far as Blackpool (don't know how true that is) There was a good choice on the menu to suit all tastes and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Recently celebrated my 70th birthday at the Roebuck along with 20 friends and family. We had a wonderful evening with delicious food and excellent service. Thank you so much to everyone at the Roebuck for making it a very special evening for me and our guests.

Helpful?
Thank jbc0nn0r
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Had dinner here and couldn't complain food and service was great , value for money . Take your jacket as it was a wee bit cold .

Helpful?
Thank Donna W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Went to the Roebuck on Sunday, it has been over 20 years since we last had a meal at this pub, but it is still as good as I remember it to be. We had the set Sunday menu, 2 courses for £12.95, I started with Corn beef hash with sausage and a poached egg, I wasn't sure what to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nittyf

Travelers who viewed The Roebuck Inn also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Roebuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Pub, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Strinesdale, Oldham ol43rb, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Oldham
  • Phone Number: 441616247819

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roebuck Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
england
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Roebuck Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?