We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Hop Pole Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
+44 1299 401295
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 553: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful lunch at the hop pole inn on Saturday 16 July. I am such a fussy eater. However, the chef completely catered for my loathing of garlic and onions. I had this lovely smoked salmon salad with olives sunflower seeds, rocket and seaweed. Delicious as were the home made chunky fries. Lovely dessert too. The young waitress and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dizzylizzie2013
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The food was amazing! The duck was cooked perfect for me, the way it should be pink! My other half's chicken was really good too as he let me try it, I am fussy on chicken as a lot off people don't know how to cook it correctly and tends to dry it out however the chefs here cooked it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Great to hear. See you again soon. :-) More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

But this place deserves it! Great arrival with the front of the pub planted with veggies and good outside seating. Very friendly staff who were very attentive, despite the place being packed. When the food arrived a slight intake of breath as my pie was massive! Full of meat, tasty and accompanied by fresh vegetables. Mrs I&G had a bacon... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IanandGilly
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Really pleased you enjoyed your experience with us. I've passed them onto the team. See you again soon. Louise More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Here from Australia visting family and this was a beautiful meal with great service. I can honestly say that this was the best food I had in my whole trip. I can't recommend this place enough. Do yourself a favour and get on the phone and book.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth T
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Lovely news. Really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Hope the rest of trip is lovely too. Thank you. :-) More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal here with husband as we are looking at local places to eat... For us and our visitors from Australia this summer....Disappointed!! Meals no bigger than a child's portion for me with no vegetables.... Did ask but she said already on my plate ha!! 2 cherry tomatoes cut in half and a couple of slices oh red pepper... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Well I've never seen food at The Hop the size of a children's portion before. If you had the set menu then this is designed as a 2/3 course meal. I have mentioned to the kitchen to ensure this is not the case. Dishes do have vegetables within but if you want extra you can always order this with the... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We use the hop pole regularly, so I got in touch with Louise and Daren to talk about using them for my son's christening. We had a pig roast . The food was fabulous really succulent piece of meat all my guest's were very impressed. Daren and Alex did a amazing job very professional . Also the price was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Laura, Mr B does cook a mighty fine Pig! See you soon. xx More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely decor, friendly and accommodating staff and most of all delicious food! Beef main cooked to absolute perfection.

Helpful?
Thank Sadie-May D
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

What more can you ask for! Lovely news. More 

uk
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in for Dinner earlier this week and was glad that we did so.I had the beef pie that was generous and covered with a thin layer of delicious shortcrust pastry-perfect. Wife had spicy chicken.Both were very pleased.Portions generous.Friendly service and good real ale choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank gareth47
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

The pastry recipe comes from my mum the infamous Mrs Porter! Everyone loves it. Thanks for the review! More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table of two for 8pm on Saturday night. We arrived 20mins early and were offered a drink at the bar while our table was being laid. There was a great buzz about the place, the staff were lovely and polite, the food was great. I had the calamari which was lovely, I also had the duck breast for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Connor P
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Our aim is always to please so I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. More 

Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not very good ... I had house burger - greasy & undercooked, wife had fish not much to it no veg. Ordered Preseco no bubbles totally flat - sent back

Helpful?
1 Thank Olliedog11
Lou1968Lou, Owner at The Hop Pole Inn, responded to this review

Such a shame you never mentioned anything on the night as when you left all seemed like you had a pleasant evening with us. Very strange. More 

Travelers who viewed The Hop Pole Inn also viewed

 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Hop Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$16 - $24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Television
Good for
Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hop Pole Lane, Bewdley DY12 2QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Worcestershire  >  Bewdley
  • Phone Number: +44 1299 401295
Description
Family run Restaurant and Bar situated in the Georgian town of Bewdley. Menu ranges from Pub Food Favourites to Gastro pub so something for everyone. Real Ales and Chilled lagers with a interesting Wine List. Nice relaxed atmosphere with friendly attentive staff.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hop Pole Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Hop Pole Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?