We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 10/31
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
102
70
36
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
102
70
36
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish soda bread fries caesar salad potatoes burger irish pub nice atmosphere visit erie on tap jameson bowl
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Ordered the pretzels and "beer cheese," not sure what they call cheese--like goop. Peel and eat shrimp averaged $1 per medium shrimp. They arrived in a bowl of luke warm liquid, submerged in the liquid, accompanied by a fork. Never saw peel and eat shrimp...that needed to be lifted from a liquid bath of spicy, otherwise flavorless watery whatever. Had to ask for a plate to put the shells in and extra napkins as I peeled the very wet shrimp. Potato and leek soup had potatoes and looked like it had been thickened with instant mashed potato flakes. Never saw a leek, let alone tasted one. Didn't have to worry about any drips as it was thicker than wall paper paste. Companion had the tater tot bowl with brisket; had asked if it was enough for a meal and was told "yes." . Brisket was bacon bits--otherwise no meat. Served barely warm, but wait meant she was too hungry to send it back. This restaurant is now owned by the Red Letter Hospitality group so we expected the same quality of food, which we have enjoyed within the past year, at the "The Cork 1794" in Erie as well as the "Skunk and Goat Tavern" in North East. There is no comparison. The building is nice. We were in the back and the noise meant it was difficult to talk. Upon entering at 6:15 without reservations on a Monday night, we were told we had a 45 minute wait, which fortunately was only 10 minutes. Staff friendly and attentive to filling water glasses, but this couldn't make up for the lack of food quality.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We met friends at “Molly Brannigans”, and we felt welcomed in an atmosphere that was light, open and happy. The tables were nice. We ordered some very nice cocktails, they were very tasty. The only annoying part was that the TVs were blasting a football...game, and although not much tolerable during the game, became totally intolerable during commercials (do I need to mention how often commercials happen during a football match?). So it was a nice experience. I might go back. Hopefully the TVs then will be softer.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 23, 2019

A friend and I met for Happy Hour. Wanting to avoid the crowds, we met at 4:30. We were seated and given menus and then the waiting began. Waited for the server, waited too long for beverages (3 people at the bar, 2 other tables)...waited to order food and then waited for refills of drinks. At one point we had to ask the hostess to find our server. Considering how UNcrowded it was, the service was unacceptable. Other negative was the music: too loud and heavy rock! The bar was beautifully (seriously) decked out for Christmas and the music was ridiculously loud and inappropriate. We had planned to eat dinner but left after one app. Disappointed and frustrated.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
AnneL5073, Owner at Molly Brannigans, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2019

Hi Robin, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. As I am reading through your review, I would be frustrated as well. I am sorry to hear you had such a negative experience with your friend. Please know that this...More

Reviewed December 1, 2019

The atmosphere was very festive for the holidays except I was seated in back which was not very festive in fact felt like I was being punished. I had not been to this establishment since change in ownership. I had heard they put a lot...of money into the building. They did but they did not buy new chairs. They do not want you to stick around long the chairs are horrible I was not the only one I saw 4 other tables trying to find better chairs. They made me want to eat and run so fast out the door. The food was good and although a little mid to high priced was worth it. The service was professional. The one thing I hated was when they brought my sandwich they brought my soup. I always want soup early and sandwich later. The server tried to explain it was a side. But I always want soup with my other guest the reason i ordered to eat with other guest who had soup. Anyway that is why only 3 star the chairs and the way the food was presented.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 17, 2019 via mobile

Met some colleagues here for a late working lunch—great food, good service, and nice atmosphere. The black bean burger was yummy!

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

Stopped in for early dinner. Had the fish sandwuch. Nice, thick fish. Date had a burger. We both enjoyed our meals and the price was reasonable.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Stopped in for dinner while heading downtown to Celebrate Erie, during Erie Days August 2019. Liked the atmosphere and the food that Molly Brannigan's had to offer. Prices and food quality were both in my expectations. If traveling to Erie Pa in the near future,...stop in and check it out.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

The whiskey flights offered here are delicious and at a reasonable price. Their Caesar salad was one of the best I’ve had. The atmosphere didn’t feel very as inviting as I would have liked but overall it was worth the visit.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Burned Shepard's Pie (1), 10 oz. Bass Ale, Artichoke Appetizer (1), bill was $ 35.00...will never go back there.

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

My food was not as good as I had hoped. I ordered the Shepard's pie and it was really lacking salt / savory. Like they forgot the worchestire sauce. It also used to be served with a delicious slice of Irish soda bread which was...nowhere to be found anymore. My husband's fries with his burger were cold as well. Disappointing. The new owners increased the prices of everything but I do not feel that the quality of the food went up as well...actually quite the opposite because I used to love Molly's. Our server was great though, friendly and accommodating. I just dont think I will be back until I hear better things about the food.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
469 reviews
.37 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Erie Bayfront
6 reviews
.41 miles away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
1,630 reviews
.54 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
505 reviews
.64 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
U Pick 6 Tap House
224 reviews
.09 miles away
Dave's Diner
72 reviews
.04 miles away
Jekyll & Hyde’s
78 reviews
.36 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Erie Maritime Museum
308 reviews
.45 miles away
UPMC Park
61 reviews
.37 miles away
Experience Childrens Museum
74 reviews
.09 miles away
Erie Playhouse
60 reviews
.40 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Molly Brannigans staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing