We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandy Island Restaurant

Offshore, Sandy Island, Sandy Ground ai2640, Anguilla
+1 264-476-6534
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good25%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“chicken” (10 reviews)
“shellfish” (2 reviews)
“rum punch” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Offshore, Sandy Island, Sandy Ground ai2640, Anguilla
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Sandy Island is a great place to spend the day and have some wonderful food and down time.We spent the day there and it was very hot with little shade. If your a sun worshiper this is for you. Worth checking out. Be cool have...More

2  Thank Doug C
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Prepare to be ripped off majorly, if you order food here. Or drinks, if more than 2, you’ll easily be charged double the amount. Each time we went, we both had the same experience. It’s one of the biggest tourist traps around the area. I...More

Thank FloNYC
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear FloNYC Thanks for coming to Sandy Island once and then twice and then three times. While vessels from nearby islands do stop by, they do not come every 10-15 mins and very rarely are they loaded with tourists. They usually come by reservation with...More

Reviewed March 3, 2018

A little island so there is not much choice in restaurants ;) But to have a drink and realx is definitelly ok :)

Thank TomasSailor
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Irma reduced this former fun patch to absolutely nothing but sand. Word on the island is they plan to rebuild, but there is no signs of it so far. The white spec in the picture is what is leftMore

1  Thank rickybobbyhawro
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Dear RickyBobbyHawro, It is a fact that Hurricane Irma destroyed the restaurant on Sandy Island, and there is only sand left at this moment in time. It is also a fact that the restaurant will be rebuilt and the vegetation replanted, returning the island to...More

Reviewed August 7, 2017

This was amazing. A beautiful little island that offered a great beach, great service and an amazing food/drink selection. The beach has bed and lounge set-up, picnic tables for lunch and even offer volleyball should you choose. This is a definite must when visiting Anguillla

Thank Wendy J
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Thanks Wendy for your kind review. We are happy that you were able to dine with us prior to hurricane Irma. We look forward to seeing you at the new improved restaurant. Best

Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

I'm allergic to shellfish so that knocked a lot of the food off the menu for me so I had chicken. It was adequate, nothing memorable. Food took quite awhile even though they weren't that busy.

Thank Marla B
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Thanks Marla B for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Sandy Island. We will definitely take your feed back into consideration when crafting the new menu for the new restaurant and we hope to see you again. Best

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

After a day on a catamaran we were definitely ready for lunch- having pre ordered through our captain we were hungry when we got to sandy island. Perhaps it was the rum punch or the sun that made me particularly hungry that day, but lunch...More

Thank Koverton
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thanks for your generous review Koverton. We are grateful for your feedback and will share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you again in order that we may improve your impression of our portions and service. All the best.

Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile

What was a great day of white sand, warm water, and lunch/drinks, ended as a shock with a $1900 tab!! Be on notice! While we asked over and over for a menu, and asked why the bartender wasn't keeping a tally of our drink orders,...More

1  Thank john T
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear John Thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear that your day did not end as well as it began. During September and October Sandy Island is closed for regular business and we only open by request for group reservations. During this...More

Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous views, fantastic food - large portions easily sharable if you re worried about cost- and a fun little island. It s a don't miss experience. But be aware, the local islander that runs the place is gonna do everything he can to overcharge you...More

2  Thank rickybobbyhawro
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Thanks for your kind review Ricky. We hope to see you back on beautiful Sandy Island. If you have a moment we would appreciate it if you would send us an email detailing the aspects of your service that made you feel "sketchy" so that...More

Reviewed January 2, 2017

The island is lovely, but I paid $85 for some very mediocre food. I'm not sure how these places get away with doing this, but I think the rum punch is so lethal that the food is secondary! Definitely go, but not if it's a...More

1  Thank BTRPHLY
Sandyaxa, Manager at Sandy Island Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are never happy to hear that a guest was not satisfied with our product. We invite you back again to have lunch with us so that we may change your perception of our food and beverage service. Best

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 31 hotels in Anguilla
Royal Palms Holiday Suites
68 reviews
1.73 miles away
Quintessence Hotel
1 review
1.75 miles away
Bellavista Villas
56 reviews
1.89 miles away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
311 reviews
2.01 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
B & D's BBQ
71 reviews
1.87 miles away
Blanchards Beach Shack
1,491 reviews
2.26 miles away
Tasty's Restaurant
488 reviews
2.48 miles away
Elvis' Beach Bar
465 reviews
1.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Meads Bay
331 reviews
2.08 miles away
Rendezvous Bay Beach
400 reviews
2.73 miles away
Sandy Island
282 reviews
.00 miles away
SCUBA SHACK - Shoal Bay Scuba
73 reviews
2.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sandy Island Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $55
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Offshore, Sandy Island, Sandy Ground ai2640, Anguilla
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Anguilla  >  Sandy Ground
  • Phone Number: +1 264-476-6534
  • E-mail
Description
Voted one of the top five beach bars in the Caribbean; Sandy Island is a tiny spit of sand in the middle of the ocean serving fabulous fresh seafood, with excellent wine and beverage service and 360 degrees of ocean views. It is the ultimate destination for lunch, snorkeling and beach lounging.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;