We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chalet in the Valley

5060 State Route 557, Millersburg, OH 44654-9440
+1 330-893-2550
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“schnitzel” (55 reviews)
“fondue” (44 reviews)
“veal” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
German, Austrian, Swiss, European, American, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
5060 State Route 557, Millersburg, OH 44654-9440
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Trip Advisor on target again, The Chalet is a very culinary satisfying experience. The music is upbeat Bavarian style. The food hints at Bavrian. I had a type of spaghetti that was called Swissghetti that was awesome. I ordered sauerkraut on the side, some of...More

Thank Jerry B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perched on a beautiful hillside, this restaurant serves authentic Swiss and Austrian cuisine (and American). It was a fun place to eat, coo coo clocks, furnishings and the building itself has beautiful woodwork. The food was a great change from the monotonous Amish restaurants we...More

Thank Buttersy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped for supper. Excellent choices to choose from. Delicious food. Awesome waitresses. The night we was there another family was there and their young son was choking. The staff very alert and quick thinking. The waitress saved her son with heimlich.

Thank Ledger05
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a good meal at the Chalet. It is a good place to go if you want the taste of European food in Holmes County.

Thank KJY17
ChaletValley, General Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to review! We're so glad you had a chance to dine with us, and hope you can make it back again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped in here for dinner on our trip to Amish country. Lovely setting and wonderful selection of authentic german/european cuisine.

Thank treeesa27
ChaletValley, General Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by and dining with us! We're so glad you enjoyed the setting and your meals, and hope you'll return again someday soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So happy I chose this place for lunch. Only had a couple of hours in the area - just enough to realize I definitely want to return to explore more of the Ohio Amish Country. The Chalet in the Valley was such a treat -...More

Thank Sue U
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for dinner & it was great! The food was excellent & if your a coffee drinker, thiers was the best!

Thank Cheryl G
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Love the fabulous cheese fondue. The salad was excellent as well You might want to try the delicious desserts as well. We look forward to returning to this restaurant every year

Thank nanS376LR
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

This place is a must stop in Amish country. Great food and excellent servers. Swiss and German style but also hamburgers and Cod and Perch fish were enjoyed by our party. The brats were better the almost anywhere else. We been in Holmes county several...More

Thank Pastorhfactor
ChaletValley, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for reviewing your experience! We feel honored to be considered a must-stop establishment for you, and are so glad to see that you and your party had an excellent experience. We hope to see you again during your next visit to...More

Reviewed March 24, 2017

Schnitzel and pork shanks were excellent, as was rosti potatoes. Hot potato salad was completely bland and tasteless.More

1  Thank tacataco89
ChaletValley, Public Relations Manager at The Chalet in the Valley, responded to this review

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review. We're so glad to see that you enjoyed our Schnitzel, Pork Shanks, and Rosti! We also appreciate you noting your disappointment with the Hot German Potato Salad, as we value our customers' opinions and are...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Charm Family Restauraunt
76 reviews
1.59 miles away
Hershberger Farm and Bakery
335 reviews
1.77 miles away
Boyd and Wurthmann
814 reviews
2.60 miles away
Rebecca's Bistro
268 reviews
4.53 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Guggisberg Cheese Factory
332 reviews
.04 miles away
Miller's Dry Goods
19 reviews
1.45 miles away
Hershberger Farm & Bakery
272 reviews
1.74 miles away
Holmes County Flea Market
85 reviews
2.23 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
scoobapadi
Do you have gluten free options? Do you need reservations for a group of 12? We will be riding thru August 21
January 15, 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from ChaletValley | Property representative |
Hello, Yes, we do have a Gluten-free menu available to our guests. We do recommend reservations for a larger group; however, I see that August 21st is on a Monday, and we are closed Mondays. We would be happy to have you... More
0
Votes
nicki448
Is the CHALET wheelchair accessable
December 17, 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Devon M | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it is. There is handicap parking behind the building where you are able to get in.
1
Vote
Klfsomm
Why is management not handling my complaint when I was charged for someone else's bill? Then you put thru a second charge for the same amount. This is fraud.
December 13, 2016|
Answer
Response from ChaletValley | Property representative |
Hello, Kim. We apologize for this error. Would you like us to send a check for the difference, or would you like us to refund you for the initial amount, and re-charge for the correct amount? We can do either for... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $20
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5060 State Route 557, Millersburg, OH 44654-9440
  • Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Millersburg
  • Phone Number: +1 330-893-2550
  • E-mail