We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Leconfield

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Leconfield New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
+44 1798 345111
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 306: English reviews
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We love this restaurant. The food is great. We adore the chalk stream gin and tonic cured trout - it's delicious! I recently had a sublime chilled tomato consommé - its all gorgeous. Alongside come the fabulous bread and butters, and the beetroot macaroons. Always love this restaurant. Just a shame we can't take our tiny dog in now it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank healthyappetite2015
West Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have not been to the Leconfield for a while but are so glad we returned. Food was faultless, excellent service, attentive without being obtrusive. A truly memorable lunch. We will be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank Murmeltier
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We held a family wedding here. The service was excellent and the food sumptious. I heard no complaints from any of my family, all 30 of them. That must be a record. Well done to all and thank you for a very enjoyable evening.

Helpful?
Thank rchester_sterne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited the Leconfield for a quick solo dinner on Wednesday night and ended up staying for a solo 3 course meal plus amuse bouche and bread. The attention to detail on each dish was impressive and thorough. Everything on the plate added to the dish rather than being there just for aesthetics. The food was excellent. The service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just a brief one, two courses £25 great taste, great value, great wines. A beautiful wander around the village followed.

Helpful?
Thank Huntages
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long absence we took relatives in for lunch and had a fabulous set menu meal. It couldn't have been any better; even the pumpkin soup took soup to a new level and I love the hidden extras in the menu - the beetroot meringues with cheese were so delicious. The atmosphere was lively and buzzing and service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerensarob
bobsbooks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was disappointing, we had the tasting menu which was full of odd combinations which did not work. Staff were unhelpful and ignored us. Much better restaurants locally.

Helpful?
Thank bobsbooks
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at The Leconfield. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal with us as we strive to maintain our high standards of food and service at all times. Could you please contact us on restaurant@theleconfield.co.uk so that we can discuss your experience further. More 

Horsham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Superb. Wanted a anniversary Sunday lunch where we could dress up as nowadays nobody seems to want to. Service, superb, lovely staff and wonderful sirloin of roast beef. Really recommend

Helpful?
Thank joyceydole
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us and that you found the food and service to a high standard. We hope that you return to dine at the restaurant again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016

My last experience of this restaurant was terrible and I vowed never to return. However, friends booked a table and wanted to go so I couldn't really refuse. I felt it best to have meat this time and the dish was completely lacklustre. Hardly any veg and very small portions. Definitely won't be going back. Not worth the money. There... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 733londongirl
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry that you found your experience of the restaurant to be negative on both occasions you dined with us. We take all reviews and feedback from our customers into consideration. We would like to discuss this further with you and we would be grateful if you would contact... More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016

We have now been to The Leconfield quite a few times over the years. One things for sure, you are always guaranteed excellent service and totally amazing food. Love it!!

Helpful?
2 Thank clareWestSussex
The_Leconfield, Manager at The Leconfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience of The Leconfield. We are always so pleased to read reviews such as yours. It is good to know that you find we are consistent and that you have returned to dine at the restaurant over the years. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Leconfield also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Leconfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$38 - $62
Cuisine
European, British, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Leconfield New Street, Petworth GU28 0AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Petworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1798 345111
Description
The Leconfield restaurant and bar is nestled in the heart of Petworth. Head chef Paul Welburn has brought his Michelin star cooking to the countryside.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Leconfield and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Leconfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?