We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sergison Arms

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
+44 1444 413768
Website
Today
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 10:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 419: English reviews
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice interior serving Vintage Inn pub meals....good atmosphere. Staff a bit overstretched though but adequate

Helpful?
Thank Christine5434
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So disappointed that we have not returned here, and we eat out most weeks so are always trying new places. The staff were unhelpful and quite rude when a complaint made about the food and service was made. I wrote to the head office to complain with no response from them either, so would not recommend a visit. Maybe the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hybryans
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Hybryans, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Sergison Arms take our reviews very seriously. Can you please forward me the comlaint that you sent to head office and I will be in contact in due course. Sergisonarms@vintageinn.co.uk We'd like the opportunity to make this up to you, so if you're willing, please contact... More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an impromptu lunch here on a Saturday and thought it was a very nice place. Great roaring fire, and they made us and our dog feel very welcome. We enjoyed the food - we ate in the bar because of our four legged companion - but our daughter enjoyed her huge plate of food, as did myself and... More 

Helpful?
Thank francesl
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Francesl. We strive to provide excellent service to our guests at The Sergison Arms. You really made our day today. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet. Leigh and Team Serg More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have eaten here occasionally in the past - it's a decent pub and the food is usually reasonable if not exciting. However, on our last visit we were very disappointed. The staff were friendly enough and the food arrived fairly quickly, but it was obvious it had not been cooked to order. It was only luke-warm and had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Christopher A, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Christopher A, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. The staff at The Sergison Arms take our reviews very seriously and for that we are grateful with your review If you'd like, please contact us to... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stopped eating here as every time we have been in the past we have either not had the choice of menu, staff have been rude of never a clean table to sit at, it used to be much better but now not so good

Helpful?
Thank EAN44
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you, Ean44, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you are willing, please call us for further assistance with moving forward. Thank you for leaving your feedback, and we hope to... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's such a shame as last year I thought this place had turned a corner with service and food! Today the service was awful and the staff miserable. I definitely wouldn't recommend the food. Presentation? What presentation! The food was not up to standard and it's such a shame as the pub is lovely!

Helpful?
Thank Debbsoo7
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Debbsoo7, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Sergison Arms and on this occasion we have failed If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Sergison Arms, 441444413768 More 

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was clear shortly after we ordered that the staff were under pressure, they would have done better to close the kitchen. It was one of those occasions when I could not be bothered with the hassle of complaining, I might have got my money back, but I could not be bothered with the hassle, I simply won't be going... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi, Steve G, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. We'd like the opportunity to make this up to you, so if you're willing, please contact our manager at 441444413768. We hope to hear from you. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is normally good BUT I went here to dinner with a friend last night to celebrate her promotion and was really disappointed . I have been here many times before, but was really let down due to the lack of options available from the menu. It was quite embarrassing being told one thing after another wasn't available and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Chris M, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Sergison Arms take our reviews very seriously. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Sergison Arms, 441444413768 More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2017

Seafood risotto came out cold, resembled rice pudding with a layer of cheddar on top, contained a few small prawns. Nothing like as described on the menu. Chewy steaks, overdone burgers, chips cooked within an inch of their life added to an awful experience. Someone else in our group returned the steak pie after the lid came off to reveal... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrbb846
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Mrbb846, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Sergison Arms take our reviews very seriously. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our manager would really like to help turn your experience around. If you would be willing to give us another chance, please contact our manager at 441444413768 to discuss what... More 

Sussex England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2017 via mobile

We ate here after a long absence, food was very good as was the service. Our visit was later in the afternoon, would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Jackie C. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sergison Arms also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Newhaven, East Sussex
Climping, Arun District
 

Been to The Sergison Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 413768
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sergison Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sergison Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?