We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sergison Arms

Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
+(44)01444 413768
Website
Today
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 10:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 368: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having read a few recent reviews I was a bit hesitant about visiting this pub; however we had a very nice meal there, and service was good. There was a small issue with the coffee but this was very quickly resolved. The decor and atmosphere were very pleasant; it had a nice feel to it. I would recommend!

Helpful?
Thank ccampye
Addlestone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went into this dreadful pub again yesterday to see if the service had improved, but no it was still dreadful. The atmosphere is dead more like a mortuary than a pub, The girl behind the bar was on her mobile chatting away not paying hardly any attention to me at all, so I had to butt in and say... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hadn't heard good things about the Sergison recently, so was a bit wary about going there. However it was convenient for our requirements so decided to risk it. Very glad we did, the interior is attractive and we received a warm welcome from the waitress. The food was good, served piping hot and nicely presented. The sweet (creme brulee) was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wilma1114
Leigh S, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Good Morning Thank you for visiting and taking the time to write us a nice review. It means a lot that despite the rumours, you gave me and my team a chance to show The Sergison Arms is returning to its former glory. We look forward to seeing you again The Sergison Arms Team More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok I have been going here on and off for twenty years and love the place. The decor and ambiance is great and I love the feel of the place. Tonight my wife and I went on a "date" night as we had no kids. Service was very slow and the starter we chose was sold out. On a quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncan I
Leigh S, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Good Morning Duncan May I start with apologising about the starter but glad the main course was how it should be! I argee that the pub should be a lot busier and having just taken over The Sergison Arms it is my goal to get the put back to where it should be. Thank you for taking the time to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here since it was the dolphin and has sadly gone downhill with every visit. The food was, and always is very good but the service was appalling. We waited for an hour for our starters only for us to be presented with our mains. We sent them back and received our starters. When we got our main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura T
Leigh S, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Laura I am very annoyed that we ruined your evening with us. We as a team strive to wow all of our guests and this time we have failed you. If you would like to discuss this matter please give me a call on 01444 413768 as this is not how I expect guests in my pub to be... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I pop in here sometimes after work for a nice glass of wine on my way home. Great wine, great staff, very friendly and also great food is served here.

Helpful?
1 Thank scottieipad
Leigh S, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your great review! I and my team are very proud that you like visiting us and return. We look forward to seeing you in the future More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

Normally read reviews these days before we choose somewhere to eat. But today, made the mistake of going here spontaneously as we were out for the day in Haywards Heath. There was only one other table occupied for lunch and yet, having been presented with an extensive menu, we were immediately told that 3 items were 'unavailable' (lamb shanks, ham... More 

Helpful?
Thank SLFarmer
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Good Evening, I am sorry to hear of your experence with us and can assure you that I have taken your comments on board and spoke with the staff in length about the lack of choices and whats seems to be a distaster of a lunch for you and your family. I am truely sorry for your experience and would... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016 via mobile

Well its good and bad, We went into a fairly quiet place,We were served at a very leisurely rate ,We werent in a hurry so didnt matter.Ordered Bacon egg and chips .Steak .That came eventually and was nicely presented and was ok ish.Pudding i ordered was inedible Apple crumble /Custard it was just like toffee stodgy and scolding hot .Obviously... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodyat5
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Woody Glad to hear some of your visit went well and saddened to hear it went a bit wrong at the end. Please let me start by apologising for the service as we should be treating every guest like they were a guest in our own home. I have relayed your comments onto the team so this doesn't happen... More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

The previously booked table was tucked around a corner from the main area so was good for meeting some friends net seen for may years. The food was traditional Vintage Inns fayre and all meals arrived in close succession by cheerful staff. Unfortunately there were no real ales (only 2 pumps) ready to be served. We had a lot to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Graham Thank you for taking the time to write us a review at The Sergison Arms. I'm glad you had a good catch up with your friends, I am also disapointed that we did not score higher in your review so would like to discuss this with you to see what we could have done better for you and... More 

Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

This used to be a favourite haunt but following bad reviews we were put off for a while but thought we would now give it another chance. Sadly, poor service, poor food, poor reception for the payment machine. We won't be going back!

Helpful?
Thank John S
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi John Thanks for taking the time to write your review, I would very much like to talk with you in regards to your visit with us. My number is 01444 413768. I look forward to hearing from you. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sergison Arms also viewed

Crowborough, East Sussex
Newhaven, East Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to The Sergison Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +(44)01444 413768
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sergison Arms and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Sergison Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?