We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sergison Arms

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
+44 1444 413768
Website
Today
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 10:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 432: English reviews
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I came today for a Sunday roast and wasn't disappointed. The only roast not available was pork but no worry for me as I chose beef. It came out cooked medium but was OK as I knew how beef can be cooked especially steaks. I had a lot of vegetables and potatoes as well as a great Yorkshire pudding and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greengrass1222
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review, We have been working hard over the past weeks to learn and respond to our feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry that we ran out of a couple of items at the time of your visit, we do try to keep everything available but sometimes... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice enough pub, I wouldn't go just for a drink though as it's very much a restaurant atmosphere. Food is ok, but in my opinion, expensive for what it is. Table service is fine, service at the bar is incredibly slow, but friendly.

Helpful?
Thank LeilaS84
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Leila, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are very much appreciated as they allow us to see where we can improve. I hope that we will see you again soon and that you see the improvements that we are putting into place. Phil Henstridge, GM More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a quiet week night, food was good but waitress was very rude and looked angry. Didn't even offer a drink and then forgot my drink so I went to the bar myself and got my drink. We won't be coming back unfortunately.

Helpful?
Thank 32hannaht
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi 32hannaht, Thank you for leaving your comments, we take all of our feedback seriously. You have not given a time and date when you visited. If you are wiling to help me investigate the poor service more fully then I would be grateful if you could call me on 01444 413768. This would allow me to better identify any... More 

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here for a pub lunch on a Wednesday in March (lunch time), it was not busy but had only one waitress! I ordered soup and a bowl of chips my husband ordered a sandwich and chips, it took half an hour of waiting until we got served, we were on the point of leaving! The inside of this... More 

Helpful?
Thank MariaD48pink
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Maria, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. It is always our intention that all of our Guests enjoy their visit and I am sorry that you were left waiting during your visit. I have very recently joined the business and have been reviewing all aspects of the experience we offer. I note that your comments relate to... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Long wait plates not all cleared away burnt food.doughy yorksires and parsnip you could break a window with. Rude angry looking waitress rushing everywhere and the manager also sullen ...no personalities at all. Will never return

Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

we have visited this pub 3 times over the past 4 months - twice before Xmas and once a few weeks back. The visits before Xmas were both equally poor - meals served with items missing, meals served lukewarm. The meal a few weeks back (only undertaken because we had an apology cash-voucher, following our complaint about the second Xmas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elliot-Roses
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Elliot-roses, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Sergison Arms take our reviews very seriously. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Sergison Arms, 441444413768 More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

I have frequented The Sergison many times but not recently as many people have said how downhill it's gone in the last year or two. They weren't wrong! Firstly, the place felt like you had just entered a sauna. It must have been at least 27/28c inside, far far too hot (it wasn't even cold outside). Secondly, the service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Chris M, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Sergison Arms. If you are willing, please call us for further assistance with moving forward. Thank you for leaving your feedback, and we hope to hear from you in the future. The Sergison Arms, Customer Fulfillment 441444413768 More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Stopped off here on way home for lunchtime snack with 3 other family members. Nice setting and chosen because we could take the dog in to a selected area (he's small and well behaved). Took ages to get served and had to pay up front. Took ages to get food and it was anything but appetising. Bloke who seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger F
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Roger, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Sergison Arms take our reviews very seriously. Can I ask when you attended the Sergison Arms, please? So I can investigate this matter further. We strive to maintain excellent business relations at The Sergison Arms. Please call our manager directly at 441444413768 to discuss ways we... More 

Sharpthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2017

I was here with 5 friends for lunch and it was very good. Between us we had scampi, chicken wings, salmon salad and chicken pie, all very nice. The desserts were all good too. The service was very pleasant and we felt very relaxed and unhurried. Would go back. One quibble-could have done with more scampi on the plate-otherwise very... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathy b
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Kathy, thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with The Sergison Arms. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I visit here a lot and we are always so impressed with the delicious food and incredible staff! Well worth every penny!!

Helpful?
Thank junoself
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you, Junoself, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. We always love to receive great feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sergison Arms also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Climping, Arun District
 

Been to The Sergison Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 413768
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sergison Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Sergison Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?