We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sergison Arms

Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
+44 1444 413768
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good17%
  • Average20%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible30%
3 weeks ago
“Not great”
3 weeks ago
“Well below standard lunchtime!”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Since I last wrote a review the pub has improved and it has got busier. Part of this reason I think is the food. The food is delicious be it anything from a roast to a pizza. I have had food on two recent occasions...More

Thank Greengrass1222
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Two of us had steak pie, mash and vegetables and one of us had ham,eggs and chips. The food tasted awful and we didn't eat all of it. Advised the waitress the meal was not really ok, she replied sorry to hear that and walked...More

Thank V1660NVlindaa
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations on Saturday. I remember your visit well and I feel your feedback is a little harsh. Your waitress checked back on you during your meal and asked if everything was ok. You didn't give much away...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a special occasion for 12 with the choices provided in advance. Service was unattentive, the medium steaks were over cooked and the gluten free request was totally ignored and a non gluten dish served, luckily this was suspected before the item was eaten....More

Thank hh012017
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear HH, Would you be able to contact me as a matter of urgency regarding your visit? Regards, Anthony General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this establishment years ago when I was called the Dolphin and enjoyed a good meal. There was no repeat of that memory this time. The food was very ordinary and very expensive when compared with other places which we have visited. Most disappointing...More

Thank Garth M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Garth, We are sorry you had a bad meal with us but pleased the service and atmosphere was up to standard. We like to think we have a range of prices to suit all budgets, especially with our fixed price menu. We will take...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced, badly cooked and unimaginative. The Wagyu Burger at £14.50 including cheese was absolutely awful...a total and utter ripoff. Accompanying salads were minimal and boring. Won't be going back. Sort yourselves out!

Thank G S
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear G S, We are so sorry we got it wrong and that you had a bad experience with us. We will take your comments on board and us them to improve.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited last night for dinner. I love a lamb shank and so my choice was easy. What a mistake, I have never been so disappointed with a meal. The meat was off the bone and rolled up the size of a golf ball. It was...More

Thank Richard G
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Richard, We are so sorry you had a bad experience. The lamb shank is currently lamb rump and this should have been explained at the time of ordering, we can only apologise this wasn't. We are glad the rest of the meals were up...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food and service at this pub was terrible. We waited a very long time, even though the pub was fairly quiet. The food looked like something that had been taken straight from the freezer and cooked on the pass, only to be allowed to...More

Thank Andrew S
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andrew, We are so sorry you had a bad experience with us. We are always learning from our feedback and will take your comments on board to improve our food and service.

Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

The menu is diverse and there are plenty if drinks to choose from. Food is excellent and portions are fairly generous. Would recommend!

Thank Ollie M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ollie, Thank you for your great review! We are glad you had a fantastic visit and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Bad! The meat was tough and dry, dirty plates, sausages were tasteless. Been to much better vintage inns around the area. Avoid.

2  Thank basilfawlty1976
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Basilfawlty We are so sorry we got it wrong on Sunday! We can only apologise you had such a bad experience. We are always learning from feedback and hope you will give us another chance to show you what we can do.

Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

What more can i say. Good food, good service, nice presentation and parking. Can't go wrong. Nice wine and well kept beer. Nice summer or winter.

Thank Darrell C
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear Darrell, Thank you for your kind words glad you had a nice time, we really appreciate our hard work being recognised. Hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lockhart Tavern
89 reviews
.44 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Haywards Heath
311 reviews
.46 miles away
Cafe Rouge
393 reviews
.42 miles away
La Campana
223 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ockenden Manor Spa
89 reviews
1.30 miles away
The Stand Up Inn
22 reviews
1.78 miles away
UpMarket 22
11 reviews
3.13 miles away
Ardingly Reservoir
12 reviews
3.19 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Richard S
October 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Woofalot1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are most welcome
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 413768
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing