We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sergison Arms

Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
+44 1444 413768
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good17%
  • Average20%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible30%
6 days ago
“DISAPPOINTING - First Visit”
2 weeks ago
“Gone downhill”
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Arrived here at about 6:15 for dinner on Tuesday. Ordered some drinks and went to peruse the menu for dinner. They have a telephone with such a loud ringer which was very off putting chose off the menu only for the waitress to say the...More

Thank Sarah E
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sarah, We apologise for the loud ring, unfortunately we do need to hear it but will certainly look Into turning it down. I'm disappointed you couldn't find anything else on the menu, we do sell out of items on occasion. We always look at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This used to be the pub I came to with my friends when we were younger although we had found the pub declined over the years but we were still hopeful and decided to revisit today. Turns out we shouldn't have come back! The vegetables...More

1  Thank Jo N
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jo N, We are so sorry you had a less than enjoyable experience with us yesterday. There is no excuse for the cold vegetables and we are extremely sorry about the allergy being left on your plate. We were short staffed yesterday and regrettably...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ordered two roast beef dinners. Had to ask for cutlery and when the roasts arrived the food was cold and was minus the advertised roast potatoes. Complained to manager and he said they were two staff short and apologised. New roast dinners arrived and these...More

1  Thank derrick_9
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Derrick, We are so sorry we didn't get it right on Sunday that the food didn't impress you. We will use your comments to improve, as we are always learning from feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as have had good food, service and experiences on many occasions at our local vintage inn. So, we stopped here. I therefore didn't check trip advisor - which i usually do. The first problem was that 45 mins after ordering we hadn't...More

1  Thank teabus
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Teabus, We are so sorry you had a bad experience. I can only apologise for the long wait for your meals to arrive and about the way they came out. Some meals take longer to cook than others and this is probably why others...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped into The Sergison Arms for a quick Sunday lunch on our way to visiting a family member at the hospital. On arrival, we noticed a big sign by the front door explaining how the service works there & it said to find a table,...More

1  Thank Nobby2642
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nobby, Thank you for your review, we are always learning and welcome feedback. The sign you saw at the front of the pub is for our alfresco outside dining. Inside is our waitress service and casual dining area. We can only apologise for the...More

Reviewed October 17, 2017

Since I last wrote a review the pub has improved and it has got busier. Part of this reason I think is the food. The food is delicious be it anything from a roast to a pizza. I have had food on two recent occasions...More

Thank Greengrass1222
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your extremely kind review! We have been working very hard recently to get the pub back to where it used to be. We are so pleased you can see our efforts are paying off, and that you had...More

Reviewed October 2, 2017

Two of us had steak pie, mash and vegetables and one of us had ham,eggs and chips. The food tasted awful and we didn't eat all of it. Advised the waitress the meal was not really ok, she replied sorry to hear that and walked...More

Thank V1660NVlindaa
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Guest, We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations on Saturday. I remember your visit well and I feel your feedback is a little harsh. Your waitress checked back on you during your meal and asked if everything was ok. You didn't give much away...More

Reviewed September 29, 2017

This was a special occasion for 12 with the choices provided in advance. Service was unattentive, the medium steaks were over cooked and the gluten free request was totally ignored and a non gluten dish served, luckily this was suspected before the item was eaten....More

Thank hh012017
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Dear HH, Would you be able to contact me as a matter of urgency regarding your visit? Regards, Anthony General Manager

Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

We visited this establishment years ago when I was called the Dolphin and enjoyed a good meal. There was no repeat of that memory this time. The food was very ordinary and very expensive when compared with other places which we have visited. Most disappointing...More

Thank Garth M
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear Garth, We are sorry you had a bad meal with us but pleased the service and atmosphere was up to standard. We like to think we have a range of prices to suit all budgets, especially with our fixed price menu. We will take...More

Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

Overpriced, badly cooked and unimaginative. The Wagyu Burger at £14.50 including cheese was absolutely awful...a total and utter ripoff. Accompanying salads were minimal and boring. Won't be going back. Sort yourselves out!

Thank G S
General Manager A, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Dear G S, We are so sorry we got it wrong and that you had a bad experience with us. We will take your comments on board and us them to improve.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lockhart Tavern
91 reviews
.26 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Haywards Heath
323 reviews
.28 miles away
Cafe Rouge
417 reviews
.25 miles away
La Campana
225 reviews
.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ockenden Manor Spa
89 reviews
1.46 miles away
The Stand Up Inn
22 reviews
1.62 miles away
Ardingly Reservoir
12 reviews
2.99 miles away
Martlets Hall & Events
15 reviews
3.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Richard S
October 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Woofalot1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are most welcome
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 413768
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing