We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Sergison Arms

British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
+(44)01444 413768
Website
Today
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 10:30 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

364 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 363: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I pop in here sometimes after work for a nice glass of wine on my way home. Great wine, great staff, very friendly and also great food is served here.

Helpful?
1 Thank scottieipad
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Normally read reviews these days before we choose somewhere to eat. But today, made the mistake of going here spontaneously as we were out for the day in Haywards Heath. There was only one other table occupied for lunch and yet, having been presented with an extensive menu, we were immediately told that 3 items were 'unavailable' (lamb shanks, ham... More 

Helpful?
Thank SLFarmer
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Good Evening, I am sorry to hear of your experence with us and can assure you that I have taken your comments on board and spoke with the staff in length about the lack of choices and whats seems to be a distaster of a lunch for you and your family. I am truely sorry for your experience and would... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well its good and bad, We went into a fairly quiet place,We were served at a very leisurely rate ,We werent in a hurry so didnt matter.Ordered Bacon egg and chips .Steak .That came eventually and was nicely presented and was ok ish.Pudding i ordered was inedible Apple crumble /Custard it was just like toffee stodgy and scolding hot .Obviously... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodyat5
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Woody Glad to hear some of your visit went well and saddened to hear it went a bit wrong at the end. Please let me start by apologising for the service as we should be treating every guest like they were a guest in our own home. I have relayed your comments onto the team so this doesn't happen... More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The previously booked table was tucked around a corner from the main area so was good for meeting some friends net seen for may years. The food was traditional Vintage Inns fayre and all meals arrived in close succession by cheerful staff. Unfortunately there were no real ales (only 2 pumps) ready to be served. We had a lot to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham K
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi Graham Thank you for taking the time to write us a review at The Sergison Arms. I'm glad you had a good catch up with your friends, I am also disapointed that we did not score higher in your review so would like to discuss this with you to see what we could have done better for you and... More 

Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This used to be a favourite haunt but following bad reviews we were put off for a while but thought we would now give it another chance. Sadly, poor service, poor food, poor reception for the payment machine. We won't be going back!

Helpful?
Thank John S
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Hi John Thanks for taking the time to write your review, I would very much like to talk with you in regards to your visit with us. My number is 01444 413768. I look forward to hearing from you. More 

Haywards Heath
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Went there 1pm weds 15th June. My friend's food was inedible, overdone and completely burnt around the edges....no respectable chef would ever send out a dish like that. We sent it back and ordered something else. My dish was very disappointing, the ham was lovely, my egg was overdone, it said eggs on the menu so I was expecting more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
Emma H, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

I am so saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. I see that we fell short in terms of food quality and service and I sincerely apologise. Please give us a ring on 01444 413768 and we can work to rectify this for you. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

First time visiting this pub, looked inviting from the outside as we pulled in to treat friends visiting Sussex to a meal. We were extremely humiliated by the poor standard of food and lack of service. Would certainly not recommend based on our experience, especially given there were no more than 6 tables occupied at the time. We waited over... More 

Helpful?
Thank JetS10
Emma H, General Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Please let me start by apologising for falling short on the issues you raised, it is not what we strive for. I am concerned about your experience and would like to find out more. If you wouldn't mind getting in contact with me, and we can discuss these issues further on... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

Me and partner are here on Sunday. We have been before and are never disappointed. Our starter of king prawns, lobster and avacado arrived quickly, was really good and beautifully presented. we then had the rump lamb Sunday dinner which was nice apart from the Yorkshire pudding was more like a fairy cake. The staff are friendly and very approachable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hayleyw22
Emma H, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are working on our yorkies so next time they will be lovely and fluffy! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you very soon! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Not been for a while. Service was awful. The meals were served one at a time over 12 min! Food was over cooked and did not look appetising. Very few in the restaurant but ran out of new potatoes. Not going back

Helpful?
Thank Freda R
Emma H, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us feedback it helps us to constantly improve our service and see how we can ensure this doesn't happen again. I sincerely apologise for your experience as I can see we’ve let you down and I appreciate your disappointment and lack of confidence to return. I would like a chance to rectify this for you and... More 

Chartres, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

This used to be a jolly English pub. Now it has become terrible : staff slow, agressive, passing comments about our kids who had done nothing wrong, prices sky high ... never agin will I return to the Sergison Arms unless I see a sign saying they have changed owners !

Helpful?
1 Thank melabarant2010
Emma H, Manager at The Sergison Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback with us. I am so disappointed to hear about your experience with us and I would like a chance to make it better for you. If you would like to give us a ring on 01444 413768 we can discuss further. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sergison Arms also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Crowborough, East Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Climping, Littlehampton
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to The Sergison Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:30 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butlers Green Road | Haywards Heath, Haywards Heath RH16 4AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: +(44)01444 413768
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Sergison Arms offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sergison Arms and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Sergison Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?