We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Sloop Inn

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sloop Lane | Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath, England
01444831219
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently came in for meal with my girlfriend and two friends. We are local and have been looking forward to trying out the refurb! The pub is clean and tidy and the gardens look great. We were seated in the back room which was nice but need a little more decoration (a painting wouldn't hurt!). Initially the service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank rob_mintss
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I visited here with a friend for lunch ,on Sunday.The pub has undergone an excellent refurbishment attractive light & airy.Unfortunately the kitchen has been resited which meant that we were seated on a main highway from there;when it is very busy that must be very annoying.The service was excellent effecient & quick but the girls should be more friendly. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelagh G
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been looking forward to seeing how the lengthy refurbishment had gone. This used to be a favourite of ours. But having dropped in on a Saturday afternoon (16/7/16) and been charged 8.20 for a pint of cider and half of bitter, doubt that we will be back in a hurry! The refurbishment looked good, though!

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies you have very obviously been charged for two pints. The cider is £4.20 a pint and the bitters range from £ 3.70-£4.00 a pint, £1.80 -£2.00 a half it is no excuse but we were very busy yesterday otherwise we may have noticed the mistake at the time . If you let us know who you are... More 

sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sloop has recently been reopened after major redevelopment. If this is typical of the quality of food and service it will be closing its doors again very soon. I ordered the calfs liver with bacon at £13.00. I should have returned the dish to the kitchen but complained and ate it, leaving some on the plate in order for... More 

Helpful?
Thank tojrebor
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed with your meal the other day but my recollection of the service you received differs from your own. When you arrived you ordered a pint of Harveys £3.70 and a MEDIUM size glass of RIOJA £4.80 Which you knocked over almost the second it was put down , there was no apology from you, but it... More 

London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to the Sloop several years in a row and if anything it is getting better. The pub was recently renovated and with a fresh lease of life and some attentive staff it is a pleasure to visit. There is a good campsite next door if you fancy a bit of rural freshness.

Helpful?
1 Thank EnduroAfrica007
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , it was really nice to get some positive feedback. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got lost and took the wrong turning and found ourselves in Sloop Lane when we spotted the pub. Newly opened after an extensive refurbishment we were pleasantly surprised to find this establishment even if it was by accident. We had Sunday roasts in the garden, served by charming staff who couldn't do enough for us. Food: Excellent. A big... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Badgerbag
gary m, Owner at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Really pleased you found us even if it was by accident. Hope we will see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub had just been refurbished. It's now really nice and with great service and really good food. Harvey's beer on tap. The typical pub fish and chips was great. Experienced friendly landlord.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas G
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

9 of us went to the sloop to eat last weekend, late notice but they managed to fit us in with no fuss. The food and beer/wine was great, Such lovely owners now... They now know my name, I clearly go their too much! I would highly recommend to any of my family or friends. Absolutely Fantastic staff, so friendly!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina G
gary m, Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you in the future. More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We heard about the re fit and re opening its great. We visited during the week for dinner my partner had the halibut I had two starters . We were over the moon great food pretty garden the landlord was very attentive and great to chat too . It's now our special place

Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
gary m, Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

We're really pleased that you had a nice time and enjoyed your food. We think that the chef is pretty good too! More 

Redhill
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Went here to watch the FA cup final whilst visiting nearby wowo. Received such a warm welcome, they managed to fit us all in (19 in total including 10 kids). They were so friendly, food was great, including excellent kids menu, with a good selection of real ale and wines. Will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
gary m, Manager at The Sloop Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's so nice to have positive feedback like this because we have been told in other reviews that we're not child-friendly. We enjoyed having you! It was really lovely to have a party like yours where the parents engaged with their children, kept them amused and we'd like to say how well behaved they were. More 

Travelers who viewed The Sloop Inn also viewed

Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Plumpton, East Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sloop Lane | Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Haywards Heath
  • Phone Number: 01444831219

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sloop Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?