We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell & Barge

$$ - $$$, British,
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
+44 1788 569466
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good30%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible18%
Travelers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch . A bit of a wait to be seated. Asked us what we like to drink as soon as we sat down . Started nice and salad not that great due to it was all most ran out . Main course lovely...More

Thank Angela O
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great rating and feedback

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had kept away from here for a while as the food standards were just decreasing, visited this week and the food was much better and good value for money. The door welcome could have been better, but overall not bad, I think we hit...More

Thank david r
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your brilliant feedback and rating I'm so glad that you appreciate the improvement and we will continue to strive to be better

Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

Straight to the point...ordered 2 pints of Doombar bitter...barman....sorry needs changing...will bring to you...barman...sorry...no doombar. ..me only one other draught beer so that will do. Beer arrives cloudy...me...pint of Guinness then? Will bring it to you. ..barman...sorry no guinness....what a joke...this is a pub I...More

Thank RPSR1952
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed December 6, 2017

staff pleasant , our waitress was excellent managed our table very well , food was a mixed bag though , same meals ordered but the plate content varied across all the plates , some were plentiful and others very small portion , the food was...More

Thank Lillypoppy7
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2017

Thank you for your great feedback and review, if you can remember your waitresses name I will make sure she gets some recognition.

Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Called in on Sunday night, had to wait 15 minutes for a table but then got served by emma, best staff I've ever had in a harvester, had chicken grill and finacee had gammon, both brilliant, probably best visit I've had at a harvester.

Thank Robert H
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for your brilliant feedback and rating I'm so glad you had such a great time and I will pass on your thanks to Emma , we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Booked a Sunday lunchtime meal as needed to be sure we went somewhere with quick service due to other commitments. I like what they’ve done with the decor and it looked clean and fresh. We were seated immediately, and served drinks soon afterwards. The salad...More

Thank MouseB_21
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thank you for your great rating and feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed October 30, 2017

Stopped here after a long journey on the M6, they seemed under staffed and busy. Becks was fantastic, attentive, friendly, helpful and humorous. All the staff worked really hard under difficult circumstances. The food was cooked fresh and was good quality. Chefs worked hard to...More

Thank RIC9002000
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Thank you for your brilliant feedback and rating we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed October 22, 2017

I visited this restaurant during a relatively quiet time and the gentleman who was serving my table was very professional. Unfortunately I had to complain about the ribs being cold not just once but twice. I have eaten at a few harvesters & I have...More

Thank rachelbrown53
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

thank you for your great feedback and rating I am sorry you had some problems at the time and I hope you will give us another chance

Reviewed October 17, 2017

We didn't find the menu very imaginative, and it didn't include basic/traditional fare, but what we chose was however good/very good. The restaurant was very busy and perhaps not as cosy and relaxing as we would have liked, but that's down to personal preference. The...More

Thank ACROTERION
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

thank you for your brilliant rating and feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed October 13, 2017

It's a Harvester! Unlimited salad bar is great with a big choice. Sauce bar is very nice too and you can buy their sauces now (Get Maple Glaze). Food is generally well cooked. I did once ask for a steak cooked medium, and when it...More

Thank Kurt V
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thank you for your brilliant feedback and rating we look forward to seeing you again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel
838 reviews
.23 miles away
Travelodge Rugby Central
348 reviews
.83 miles away
Premier Inn Rugby North (M6 Jct1) Hotel
378 reviews
.90 miles away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
412 reviews
.98 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Gandhi
35 reviews
.92 miles away
Hungry Horse-Steam Turbine
204 reviews
.48 miles away
Steam Turbine
165 reviews
.47 miles away
Nando's
78 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Rugby Theatre
66 reviews
1.13 miles away
Elliotts Field Retail Park Rugby
28 reviews
.22 miles away
The Webb Ellis Rugby Football Museum
33 reviews
1.37 miles away
Rugby Art Gallery & Museum
66 reviews
1.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Megan H
May 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AS_Happy_hols | Reviewed this property |
will ask next time I am in, as I am looking for places which dogs are allowed. Baco lounge in town centre allow dogs and even sell treats for them too.
0
Votes
Helen M
Why on earth when you are next to a canal, is there not easier access to your restaurant? We tried tonight having seen your establishment, as we cruised along. We moored our boat almost directly across from your decking and lovely looking garden. We got all 3 kids rounded up along with my elderly, poorly parents. Wandered slowly over the foot bridge which appeared to be the way in, this took us to another bit of abandoned canal, where my partner got scratched to bits with the overgrown plants. We tried the other path which took us into the middle of an industrial estate with no signs, again my partner went ahead to try to find us the way and found that it was a long way to a bridge which appeared to go into a housing estate. Finally, we all came back over the foot bridge and attempted to try to walk round, this however seemed to involve climbing a fence, followed by walk up a steep hill that arrived at the side of a dual carriageway which was simply impossible for our party. At this point we changed tack and went to the easily accessible Ed's Diner. We talked to several other parties moored up beside us who all had the same conundrum and all solved it the same way. Very surprised, that you would want to miss out on all the passing trade ....
August 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
I agree that it is indeed very unfortunate that we have no direct connection to the canal path. It is something that I will be looking into as we have had increased comments since the new shopping centre has opened. I am... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1788 569466
Description
At The Bell and Barge Harvester in Rugby food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing