We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Horse

Order Online

Ratings and reviews


Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Bar, British, Pub
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast triple cooked chips lamb yorkshire pudding table football the pub great refurb birthday drinks lovely waiter great atmosphere christmas meal meet friends table service food was amazing veg kingston blackhouse
Selected filters
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and a few friends attended the Black Horse’s 3rd birthday party after seeing the event posted on the pubs Instagram account. When we got there it was raining, but we were still welcomed with a smile by a LOVELY waiter called Joey - he...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank CharlotteE1994
Reviewed April 7, 2019

A great refurb of what was a really depressing old pub. Done on a budget which is understandable as a small group and huge premises. Loads of space indoors and outdoors with very good food and drink. Service is maybe not wonderful, but good-natured and...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank barrywestwood
Reviewed March 31, 2019

The quality of the food was awful. The beef was one large thick over cooked end of joint slice which was inedible. I then had to wait for an alternative(no other beef) which arrived after everyone had eaten... staff were not very apologetic and considering...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank bob1kingston
blackh0rse2016, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Hi Bob Firstly, many many apologies, as you can see by previous reviews and our overall rating, your experience was not the normal experience at Black Horse. No excuse, but it was Mothering Sunday - we had been crazy busy and were nearly out of...More

Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday, initial thoughts on arrival, nice decor and layout, liked the table football and darts area at the end of the bar. Nice choice of beer, however not all were available. Our first drinks were marred by the fact that both glasses...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank LammiePie75
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Just had their menu re-done and a lot of lovely selections. Great food and lovely staff and they host event nights now and again so great atmosphere

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank florenceroulson
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Barman Lewis was very welcoming and helped create a great atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed my evening with my friends.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank ManLikeArn
blackh0rse2016, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Thanks for the review Arn, so glad you had a good time and we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed December 12, 2018

I come here occasionally for a drink and decided to have a roast dinner to save cooking. Admittedly the roast was nice but for me The Black Horse is a glorified pub and not a restaurant so why add 10% service charge for 2 people....More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ArrogantCockney
Reviewed December 9, 2018

Took a group from work for a festive lunch, we were the only ones in there which is obviously a sign. Christmas special cocktails and mulled wine unavailable as respectively - the gingerbread men hadn't been cooked or the mulled wine put on to heat,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Dreamer553869
blackh0rse2016, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Hello, I am so sorry about your experience here at the Black Horse, We pride ourselves on a great food offer and delivering the best possible service. On this occasion it seems like we have failed to uphold these standards that we have set. I...More

Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

Shame as the staff were great. We were told that the management asked that the lighting was turned down and the music up volumes. Awful if you’re trying to read the menu or talk. Food was not good and not value for money. Admit we...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank ldjones186338
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous food, enormous Yorkshire puddings, great atmosphere & super helpful waiting team. Will certainly be coming here again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank isabellep755
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames
466 reviews
.57 miles away
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames Central
550 reviews
.63 miles away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
1,076 reviews
.65 miles away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
469 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 472 nearby restaurants
Trattoria Calabrese
379 reviews
.08 miles away
Roz ana
513 reviews
.03 miles away
The Pottery
280 reviews
.18 miles away
The Albert
183 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 79 nearby attractions
"Out of Order" by David Mach
298 reviews
.55 miles away
Canbury Gardens
75 reviews
.79 miles away
All Saints Church
98 reviews
.83 miles away
Ancient Market
88 reviews
.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Horse staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing