We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews



$7 - $27
Pub, Bar, British, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding beef sunday roast the pub large garden be visiting again booked a table lovely lunch pelicans lauren refurbishment specials egg vegan
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed December 12, 2020

Excellent outdoor setting with heaters for cold weather but open to feel COVID safe. Very friendly and accommodating staff whose service was very efficient, even during a busy afternoon service. Food was fresh and the mulled cider delicious. Will be back very soon!

Date of visit: December 2020
Reviewed November 6, 2020 via mobile

The perfect to stop on a cold day! Open fires all round and the food was delicious. Well spaced out and the staff were really friendly. Will definitely be returning when lockdown is over!

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed October 22, 2020

Visited for lunch. Had not booked . Friendly staff and the new decor is excellent. Shame about all the plants. Good for interior designers but a nightmare for the staff. Many are dead or close to it. Limited menu although understand a new one is...on its way. Fish and chips quite good but the burger was terrible. It was very small and dried out . I guess it had been reheated. Chips too were cold both for the fish and the burger. Hopefully with the new menu comes a chef.More

Date of visit: October 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2020

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that the food wasn't up to standard during your visit with us. Please could you email me further details on foxandpelican@fullers.co.uk and I would like to discuss it further. Thanks

Reviewed October 17, 2020 via mobile

Booking in advance ie not choosing your own table, ordering and paying via apps, mean something of the experience is lost but due to current Covid issues perhaps unavoidable sadly. Food really outstanding and decor very cosy and pleasant including lovely outdoor areas. Not a...lot of parking but free public car park 50 yards down tge road.More

Date of visit: October 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. We glad to hear you enjoyed your food whilst you were with us. We take on board everything you have said and will feed it back to our HO.

Reviewed September 25, 2020

Have had plenty of mediocre meals but in my daughter’s words worst meal in years. The starter of squid was pallid and looked and tasted bland. Chicken liver parfait: think cheap supermarket pate and this was a whole lot worse. Fish and chips with minted...peas. At this point my daughter laughed: the peas are like eating minty chewing gum there is so much mint! Burgers: not homemade, suspect reheated. Chips cooked in old fat with a weird colour. So disappointing, I question the taste of the people writing reviews or is it the pub itself. Staff were friendly and helpful but frankly I would avoid the pub and based on this all Fuller pubs and furthermore look at training the incompetent chef and kitchen team.More

Date of visit: September 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2020

Hi Jane. Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that the food you received on your visit wasn't up to the high standard we aim to deliver. If you could email me on foxandpelican@fullers.co.uk further information regarding your...More

Reviewed September 21, 2020

Stopped here for a Sunday roast and was not disappointed! Lovely, spacious beer garden, a perfect spot for sunny weather. Myself and partner ordered a vegan roast, but asked for yorkshire puds to be added as we're vegetarians (they only had meat/vegan). We waited a...decent time for the food, but it was worth the wait, the vegan nut roast was gorgeous, even came with vegan cauliflower cheese, portions were really generous. Would definitely return if in the area!More

Date of visit: September 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2020

Hi AbsScott. Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review and 5* rating. We hope to see you again soon for a Sunday Roast!

Reviewed September 15, 2020

Had a lovely , very well prepared and cooked meal ! Which was somewhat tainted by being stalked everywhere myself and my 5 work colleagues walked after we had eaten, I say everywhere ( which was a toilet trip & 2 went for a cigarette!)...our sever was fantastic & unfortunately was the person made to make our visit uncomfortable and judgemental. My Bill was £160 , I also still added a gratuity for the server . Would I return ?!? Probably not ! Food fantastic but if your not known locally , you’ll be judged as if your Jack the Ripper 🤷🏻‍♂️More

Date of visit: September 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2020

Hi Dean. Thank you for leaving us a review. I will pick this up with the team and will message you to discuss further.

Reviewed September 10, 2020

I'd recently moved into the area to see the Fox and Pelican closed due to refurbishment and Covid, but visiting today the place is fantastic, food was fantastic, service was brilliant, I hadn't visited prior to the refurbishment but the place looks amazing. Staff were...brilliant-very Covid compliant. Well worth the wait and look forward to visiting again soonMore

Date of visit: September 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2020

Hi David, Thank you for your rating and kind words. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed August 30, 2020

We were a party of 4 plus a dog. We had booked a table for lunch on Sunday and the service was first class. The dog was welcome. We had two shared plates which were excellent and the main courses ands the deserts were also...very good. the beer was excellent! They have a very pretty garden which unfortunately we were unable to make use of due to the weather.More

Date of visit: August 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Thank you for the kind words and the review. We hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed August 23, 2020 via mobile

This ended up being a meal of two halves for us. We had our meal inside, which has been recently renovated and was well spaced out and clean (except for the floor, which was covered in food). I came with my parents and little boy,...who sat in his high chair and was well-behaved while we ate. The staff that served us inside we’re all really friendly and made a fuss of my (very chatty) little boy. The meal itself was lovely. I had the blackened salmon & Bakewell tart (both delicious). Meal choices are now significantly reduced on both the main and children’s menus, but that didn’t take away from the meal as it was all really tasty. Only one comment- if you say something comes with avocado please put more than one 2cm piece on the plate! My little boy got a bit grouchy once we’d finished eating and, well, he’s 2, and doesn’t sit still for long, so we decided to go and sit outside so he could have a run around. We let him run around the part of the garden where there were no other people sitting, and he was closely supervised at all times. The new playground is currently locked. We managed to stay in the garden for a short while before we were approached by a member of staff who told us that we should not let our child run around as this goes against guidelines. We disagree. There were no other people in the area. We left without finishing our drinks. I’ve seen similar reviews about having children at this (apparently child-friendly) pub, and being made to feel like taking them out for a meal is a crime. This has really upset us, as we followed the guidance, but we were made to feel like we were doing something wrong. These are trying times, but children are a joy, and it is perfectly safe for families to eat out. If this restaurant is following guidelines or have made guidelines of their own, I suggest they make people aware of these rules prior to booking, at booking, when they arrive, and through signage in the restaurant and gardens, otherwise they risk making parents feel like they’re not welcome, but happy for us to spend our money beforehand. There is no information about this rule on the Fullers website. I would also like to point out that none of the staff at this pub wear any PPE. Again, wearing this is a guideline, but I would personally prefer stricter measures in place, especially given your concerns around children. Needless to say I’m not happy, and my parents and I will not be visiting again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
terryc986, General Manager at The Fox & Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2020

Hello. I would like to firstly thank you for taking your time to leave a review for us. I am glad to hear that everything was good with the food. I am sorry to hear that you feel disappointed with everything afterwards. It is an...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Devils Punchbowl
436 reviews
.99 miles away
Grayshott Health Spa
634 reviews
1.05 miles away
The Georgian Hotel
613 reviews
2.43 miles away
Metro Inns A3 Liphook Services
217 reviews
3.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Gurkha Durbar
277 reviews
.07 miles away
141 reviews
.92 miles away
Cookie Bar
37 reviews
.85 miles away
426 reviews
.99 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Waggoners Wells
47 reviews
.88 miles away
Hindhead Commons and the Devil's Punch Bowl
306 reviews
.92 miles away
Haslemere Educational Museum
82 reviews
2.44 miles away
The Sculpture Park
1,070 reviews
2.46 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Stephen G
December 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Lucas T | Property representative |
Yes we are Dog Friendly Sir
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing