We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

59 The Street | Wrecclesham, Farnham GU10 4QS, England
+44 1252 728319
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (26 reviews)
“cheesecake” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
59 The Street | Wrecclesham, Farnham GU10 4QS, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very cosy, friendly atmosphere, convivial staff. Food very good, parking was easy. Service great. A great example of a British pub

Thank chitake
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food here, good options, home made all round lovely lunch, some smaller meals offered for some of the mains too and a really warm welcome, great staff and customer service, will def go again

Thank Joy W
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old building with only limited parking. Lots of seating inside and a nice big garden with seating. Some interesting brews and a good menu. The staff were very helpful and pet friendly. Will go again, loved the choice of food and the quality of...More

Thank Dale H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's hard to find a fantastic vegetarian Sunday roast dinner but I've found it at the Royal Oak. Veggie roast was made up of root vegetables and tomatoes, definitely homemade. The dinner was acompanied with tradtion roast potatoes, parsnip, Yorkshire pudding and fresh vegtables. Will...More

Thank Kathryn B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great Sunday roast this afternoon here. Portion size was perfect , food was hot , great value and the wait for food wasn't long. As the sun was shining I ate in the large sized garden with friends. Staff were friendly and...More

Thank Kerry G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've visited the royal oak a few times and ive always been impressed with the food. Thursday night is burger night and burgers are gorgeous, very rich and filling especially if you add goats cheese. I think that they are good value for money too....More

Thank Bea1994
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for an evening meal for the first time as reviews looked good. I have to say we were not disappointed. Lovely traditional pub not had a make over do it looks like all the other non descript pubs in the UK today. It...More

Thank heathend
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met up with old friends. None of us had visited this lovely old Inn before so weren't sure what to expect. The staff were very welcoming and the service was excellent. The food was wonderful and we all agreed how perfectly everything was cooked. The...More

Thank maureen100945
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awful experience. Slow service. Waited 40 mins for a meal which was very low standard for price. No roast beef left. Meagre chicken portion. Roast potatoes were overcooked and dry. Lunchtime leftovers as not a carvery. Lamb burger overcooked. Too many chips. No salad garnish....More

Thank Elaine V
Paul G, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Firstly I apologise for the “awful experience” that you had on what was an exceptionally busy Sunday evening. We pride ourselves that all roasts are cooked freshly every Sunday we always plan to have both roast available all day but due to an exceptionally busy...More

Reviewed April 18, 2017

This is a lovely pub, just a few minutes from Alice Holt forest, we. Liked a table after reading g reviews here and we weren't disappointed. There was a great range of food that catered well for all, including hungry dads, a teenager and five...More

Thank Langlandboy
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hare & Hounds
35 reviews
.90 miles away
The Bat & Ball Freehouse
261 reviews
.58 miles away
The Bengal Lounge
99 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Frensham Little Pond
69 reviews
2.96 miles away
Alice Holt Forest
477 reviews
.01 miles away
The Crown Inn
9 reviews
3.21 miles away
Frensham Great Pond & Common
47 reviews
3.46 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
lowlow83
Is food served all day?
October 9, 2015|
Answer
Response from Paul G |
Hi Monday to Saturday 12- 2.30 and Sunday 12 - 9.00 would always recommend booking. Kind regards Paul
0
Votes
biggingerwookie
Hello, Can anyone tell me if dogs are allowed? Many Thanks Nick.
February 9, 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Paul G | Property representative |
Hi Nick i'm so sorry but I've never seen the Q&A part of tripadvisor until this evening. Dogs are very much welcome and a must in any country pub! Hope to see you and your hound (S) soon kind regards Ed and Becs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 59 The Street | Wrecclesham, Farnham GU10 4QS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Farnham
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 728319
  • E-mail