We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
+44 1283 561732
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good25%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place to eat if you enjoy cold meat and cold vegetables for your Sunday carvery. Nothing more to say 👎👎👎

1  Thank Magaret E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Magaret E, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was very impressed we went early to the carvery as I find things are always hotter. The staff very friendly. The drinks I thought expensive especially the cider. We had a voucher £10 for two people so good value for your money. I will...More

Thank janwoollett
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Janwoollett, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a fantastic meal at Burton Toby,carvery was very good,all the options were available all well presented and hot.Staff all very good,dealt with on arrival within a minute or two and asked if we had any preference on where we wanted to sit, ordered drinks...More

Thank Hedgehog29
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hedgehog29, thank you so much for your high rating!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch with my Mom, Aunt and Cousin. Food was lovely and the staff friendly and welcoming. We were seated right away, drinks order taken and the carvery explained. Our waitress, Hollie, was attentive but not intrusive. We all had a fab time

Thank Fae1972
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Fae1972, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

I visited Toby Carvery for the first time last week and was very happy with my visit. The food was lovely and the staff were friendly. I will definitely visit again.More

Thank Annalieza H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Hi Annalieza H, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Burton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! I shall pass you lovely comments onto our team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Toby...More

Reviewed August 13, 2017

Had to wait to be seated. Staff were just talking, not interested - don't appear to know how to 'go up a gear'. Couldn't give a toss attitude! Beef - was a scrag end, but told there was still slices on it. Food Luke warm,...More

Thank tracey672
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Tracey672, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. I am really sorry to hear that our team let you down. I shall be speaking with the team to find out exactly what happened during the time of...More

Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

The meat was poor quality, stringy, fatty and tough. If you want a good carvery, go to The Cherry Tree at Wilmington.More

Thank Lisa C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2017

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. I shall ensure your comments are passed onto our team to prevent this from happening again. The team all know if the meat is not to...More

Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

It was a quick business stop. We had carvery . It was end of service time. So we cant fault. Meat was on the dry side. We had it. Staff are good.

Thank Graham M
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017

Graham M, thank you so much for leaving us a 4* star review. We shall pass your comments onto our team to continue to deliver our high standards. Kind regards Toby Carvery Burton

Reviewed July 24, 2017

Service: slow. Food: cold. The waitress asked how the food was. I said it's all cold. Her response: Oh yes, a lot of people tell me that. Thanks for the feedback. Unbelievable! Dirty: you decide. I witnessed one of the carvers come to the front...More

Thank P C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

P C, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. We shall be speaking to the team and investigating as to what happened during the time of...More

Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

I know Toby are a National brand but this tardis like unit is run very well and the food can't be faulted. It is much larger inside than it looks from the exterior. It was initially a shock to see a full Christmas display as...More

Thank Garry S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Hi Garry S, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at Toby Carvery Burton. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Toby Carvery Burton

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pascal at The Old Vicarage
729 reviews
.28 miles away
The Bridge Inn Branston
220 reviews
.42 miles away
The Pavilion at Branston Golf & Country Club
55 reviews
.82 miles away
Riverside Hotel
136 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Forest Adventure Farm
673 reviews
1.45 miles away
Mimi spa
5 reviews
1.91 miles away
The National Brewery Centre
473 reviews
1.93 miles away
Whiteswan Walton
54 reviews
2.23 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Del-&-Mags
March 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ginantonic | Reviewed this property |
Yes mate And traffic lights
1
Vote
sarahgertie
November 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Smithdryfus | Reviewed this property |
I honestly don't know but wouldn't of thought so, maybe call before you go x
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ninth Avenue, Burton upon Trent DE14 3JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 561732
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Burton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Burton's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing