We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Winery

Certificate of Excellence
$
British, Wine Bar, Gluten Free, European, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Manor Drive | Adjacent to Burton College, Burton upon Trent DE14 3RW, England
+44 1283 568170
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

909 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 905: English reviews
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Father's Day lunch. Absolutely spot on as always. Food great, service superb. Never had a bad experience here.

Helpful?
Thank Sarahcomfortzone
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Popped into the Winery ( pre booked ) on a Sunday for row course lunch very reasonably priced. Quality of food and presentation was great - loved it. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was good - courteous and pleasant staff team. Finished off the afternoon chilling by the river. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
burton on trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited on late Saturday afternoon managed to get a table within 30 minutes...we didn't mind the wait as we sampled a couple of very nice cocktails. .I had a mojito I did ask for it to be shaken as I always think it tasted better frosted. I then tried a mixed berry mojito and it was delightful. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank helenbrett236
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Been here for dinner and for cocktails and it is a wonderful place. The staff are friendly, the service is great and the quality of food is lovely. Highly recommend The Winery

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Pre meeting dinner for x4 and I'm lucky enough to have four lobsters from this mornings fishing trip to Whitby..... Turned up and asked if chef can work some magic and was blown away by response. Staff were brilliant especially Katie, the lobster was served in Thermidor sauce with a superb cheeky white wine and we loved it. Very busy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tweedsdining
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice setting by the river very upmarket place but not expensive. Nice meal good service and quality food. All this in the Abbey building that started brewing in Burton.

Helpful?
Thank 148anthony
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just been to the winery for a family birthday meal and i cant praise the service and food enough. Waitress polite and friendly everyones food came at about the same time and ok value for money (not cheap but worth the money) .This is our second visit and we will definitely be back. One of our party needed gluten free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
TheWinery1, Manager at The Winery, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and we are delighted you had a lovely birthday celebration with your family. In particular, we are pleased that we were able to look after your guest with gluten intolerance so they enjoyed their food with the rest of the party. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this establishment as an impartial diner (my daughter had bad service and complained and was given two free meals to try re appraise the place). We were shown to a table and given the menu and wine list and within two mins. we were ask for our order we ask for more time and shortly after we ordered.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
TheWinery1, Manager at The Winery, responded to this review

Dear Alan Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your dining experience at the Winery . We were extremely pleased to read about your lovely comments on the service and the food and hope we will see you again soon. Kind Regards Simon Haslam More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a large booking on a Friday night and managed to get small room all to ourselves. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good was really delicious and no one in our group was disappointed. Beautiful setting and gardens. Only downside was the price!!

Helpful?
Thank David B
TheWinery1, Manager at The Winery, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we are delighted that you found the food “delicious” and the lovely comments about the” helpful” team. Your party was in in the “Laurent Perrier” room, which I agree is perfect for large bookings. Kind Regards Simon Haslam More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

after stopping to ask directions about 6 times. we finally found the winery. it is tucked down a well hidden road at the side of the college.with a sign about 8 inches in size. with a large car park. we were greeted at the door and welcomed in by the doorman. after letting front of house know we had arrived.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chunkster
TheWinery1, Manager at The Winery, responded to this review

Dear “Chunkster” Thank You for taking the time to post a comprehensive review on Trip Advisor. All the reviews are shared with the leadership team at the Winery. From your comments we will make sure Katie receives some reward and recognition for her superior service. Kind Regards Simon Haslam More 

Travelers who viewed The Winery also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Wine Bar, Gluten Free, European, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Manor Drive | Adjacent to Burton College, Burton upon Trent DE14 3RW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Burton upon Trent
  • Phone Number: +44 1283 568170

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Winery and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?