We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Piggy In The Middle

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
+44 1643 862647
Today
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 263: English reviews
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spur of the moment choice for our party of 4 adults. Had to return later as all tables were busy but then ate in this small restaurant when it was no longer so. All of us had freshly cooked fish and chips which were very good - but no choice of type of fish. Service quick and friendly. Surprised to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SONIA248
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Came down for a family holiday nearby and heard nothing but good things about this chip shop. Worst chip shop I have ever been too! Terrible customer service! Placed the order clearly and was given our food but was missing 3 portions of chips which we paid for so we went back to the shop and kitchen staff was shouting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh M
Verena515, Owner at Piggy In The Middle, responded to this review

I am sorry you think we are the worst chip shop you have ever visited but firstly let me say that we are not a chip shop! We are a restaurant that happens to serve takeaways too. You did not place your order clearly at all infact it was 2 orders for 2 separate families. The first order was for... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2016

Very pleased to hear that this place was dog-friendly and also had vegan food. Staff were friendly and helpful; service was prompt. Sadly the vegan food was horrible. Chips tasted as though they were frozen, and had been warmed up; uniquely for me, I couldn't eat them. The peas were tasteless and hardly warm. The pies, which were described as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
Verena515, Owner at Piggy In The Middle, responded to this review

I am sorry that you think our food is horrible?? The chips we use are not frozen and they were certainly not reheated. The peas are petit pois which we have been using for years and this is the first time we have had a complaint regarding their taste. I have personally eaten all of the vegan pies and could... More 

Oregon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2016

We returned here a second night for dinner because we enjoyed the savory pies so much. It was very reasonably priced. It is a small place, so reservations highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
fareham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2016

We went in on a Wednesday and was told there would be a 40 min wait, apparently Wed & Fri are always busy. We went back the next day and the cafe was empty. We had cod n chips, there is no choice of fish, the fish was delicious but the chips weren't anything special, have had much nicer chips... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank agadircamels
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Short and sweet review Visited here in July and it was perfect...visited again yesterday and it was just as good....fish cooked to perfection as was the beef and all pie. Simply the best

Helpful?
Thank paul m
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

What could be more quintessentially English than the above mentioned foods. My husband and I tried this restaurant whilst visiting Porlock for a few days and we went back again the following night because the food was really delicious. The restaurant is very busy catering for take away as well and very reasonably priced for the excellent quality it serves.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mopearson
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2016

This cafe has one of the best veggie meals I have had for ages ,we had a meal here and it was generous and really good ,even given veggie gravy .We also had a fish and chip meal and this was good value and tasty.Opens in the evening 5-9 and is very popular so get there quick or book a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
I Don't Live In A City.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2016

We went to order fish and chips on a Saturday evening in August for a party of eight. Had we known we would have phoned it through first as there was a bit of a queue and the restaurant, which is quite small, was also full. Therefore we had to wait quite a while and even when we went back... More 

Helpful?
Thank R. F
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2016

Gorgeous place to eat, food was excellent. Only a small place and you probably should book, but it was the nicest fish and chips I have ever had

Helpful?
Thank janekJ244YB

Travelers who viewed Piggy In The Middle also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Piggy In The Middle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $19
Cuisine
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer, Cash Only
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Porlock
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 862647

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Piggy In The Middle and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Piggy In The Middle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?