We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Junior Poon

16 Hill Road, Clevedon BS21 7NZ, England
+44 1275 341900
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“crispy duck” (17 reviews)
“spring rolls” (7 reviews)
“noodles” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Hill Road, Clevedon BS21 7NZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 140 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

You can always rely on getting a good and tasty meal here. There is plenty of selection from a great menu and I have never had anything but great service here. They serve a mean sake here as well as a great selection of Asian...More

Thank SharonRutts
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Thank you for your 5-Star review and your kind compliment. We always try to provide varieties and flexibilities with our utmost care and attention for all our customers without any compromise. We look forward to be of service to you again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed July 11, 2016

Visited here on recommendations from Trip Advisor. Food was tasty and had a few different options than your typical Chinese menu. Service was very attentive and surroundings were pleasant. Highly recommended...

Thank David C
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Thank you for taking your time to review us with your compliment and recommendation. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future. Thank you.

Reviewed July 8, 2016

I think the headline says it all. What an amazing place. This is one of the reasons why I use trip advisor and also spend a fair amount of time reviewing places. We were in Weston-Super-Mare enjoying the beach and wanted to visit a really...More

Thank Andrew K
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2016

Thank you for taking your time to write us a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you were impressed and enjoyed your evening with us. More so to learn that all my staff were doing all the right things whilst I am away....More

Reviewed July 5, 2016

Highly recommended as the authentic Chinese food, the choice of beverages, the service and ambiance are consistently good and often excellent.More

Thank Peter B
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you for your kind 5-Star review. I would also very much like to thank you for all your support throughout all these years. We always work harder and our utmost best to provide the best our customers and friends deserve. We are always investing...More

Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Always reliable, food of excellent quality and service 2nd to none- attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommend, especially the Wine Bar for a less formal but equally enjoyable meal.More

Thank NickyS29260
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you for your lovely and encouraging review. We all do enjoy what we do hence it's not a chore but fun for us. We all take great pride in our service and will always provide the best for all our customers. With our wine...More

Reviewed June 19, 2016

Good vegetarian choices, extremely friendly service. We had some specific food requests which they managed well. Fairly standard Chinese food - well done.More

Thank Saedy
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you. We do have quite a varied vegetarian choice on our menu and we always do our utmost best to meet all request. Ultimately it is you that's why we are here for. Thank you again and we look forward to be of service...More

Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We met in the wine bar downstairs and that was rather nice. Decor was good, very clean, good atmosphere and drinks were okay priced. Could do with draft beer and all they had was bottles. Then we moved upstairs to the restaurant to eat. Unfortunately...More

Thank Francesca F
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you for your taking your time to write us a 5-Star review. Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your evening with us and thank you for being with us to celebrate your birthday. We always aim to sit everyone at the same table...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

We decided on the set menu for two @ £20 per head, not the cheep option, and have visited this restaurant many times, although sadly I won't return anymore. Some of the food was nice, some was very bland, frankly I would have preferred a...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

I am very sorry to hear that we do not meet your expectation. But please to hear that you found some of our food were nice to your liking. If only you have let us know of those that did not meet your taste we...More

Reviewed June 11, 2016

I am a big fan of Chinese food so have eaten in many Chinese restaurants in England. However none will ever live up to Junior Poon's standards. My family and I ate there a couple of weeks ago and there were 8 of us so...More

Thank vicmurray
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you, thank you. Words like yours go a long way in motivating us to work harder and better for all our customers. We are all human and every now and then we need a 'pat' on our backs for job well done and for...More

Reviewed June 9, 2016

Previous experiences over the years were good, now very disappointed with the food in the cellar bar. Outdated, not changed in 10years. Food was bland and the squid was undercooked and strong, nothing freshly prepared. Will not be back.More

Thank claresomerset12345
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Obviously we are very disappointed to receive such a feedback from our customers but nevertheless we always look into it constructively. All our food are freshly prepared and cooked on premises as you have noted that the 'squid' was undercooked. Squid are best not overcooked...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Rose
327 reviews
.47 miles away
Old Street Pantry
146 reviews
.47 miles away
Number Five The Beach
565 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Clevedon Pier and Heritage Centre
593 reviews
.23 miles away
Clevedon Marine Lake
26 reviews
.77 miles away
Lovers Walk Clevedon
7 reviews
.20 miles away
Toll House Gallery
8 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Junior Poon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20 - $66
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Hill Road, Clevedon BS21 7NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Clevedon
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 341900
  • E-mail
Description
We are a privately owned restaurant operating since 1992. Junior Poon never been about stars, glitz or gimmicks. It's about the simple old fashion traditional qualities that really matters most to their guests - serving well cooked exquisite classic food with care and attention. It is a venue for people who appreciate fine food, good old fashion friendly service in a stylish yet informal and comfortable elegant surrounding at an affordable price.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing