We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shifnal Cottage

A5, Shifnal TF11 8QT, England
+44 1952 462755
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“curry” (17 reviews)
“poppadoms” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
A5, Shifnal TF11 8QT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impressions were good, the restaurant is clean and well decorated, unfortunately that is the only good point about this place. The starters and poppadoms were ok but we have had far better at a much cheaper price. The cobra was flat. The chicken tikka...More

2  Thank Yendors
Shifnal C, Manager at Shifnal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, firstly thank you for taking the time to give your review. As you can can see from all the reviews I do not really respond to reviews however I appreciate them all. You mentioned the 'Cobra was flat' however you are the only one...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family for a birthday meal but was very disappointed. Food was average but orders were mixed up and the bill was wrong at the end extra drinks had been added so we were over charged! Seemed expensive for what it was too.

Thank jackrw190
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Having recently moved into the area we tried it for the first time. The greeting was warm, the ambience good, the service also and, most importantly, the food was of a high standard. Draft Cobra and an extensive Wine List complete things. Will definitely be...More

2  Thank Darren1911
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Chicken tikka starter is my favourite starter. This dish varies in quality and serves a a great indicator of the meal to come. Chicken was succulent, carefully spiced and not overloaded with salt. This was a pleasing start. The main course failed to match this...More

2  Thank Rob H
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This Indian Restaurant has the most fantastic food. I had never had such a lovely meal with a rice that contained fruit and nuts. I can't praise I enough. The staff were very friendly and the cleanliness outstanding.

2  Thank _mohillier
Reviewed August 24, 2017

First visit and not disappointed. Had heard good reports from friends/work colleagues who had previously been. We ate earlier so restaurant was very quiet, staff very helpful/attentive. We both chose combination dishes which were recommended by the waiter and both mine and hubbys meals were...More

2  Thank MissBongo
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Very impressive dining room that has been refitted quite recently. The service is impeccable and the food delicious. The staff are very attentive and the whole dining experience is very relaxing and satisfying. The best value and tastes can be sampled here!!

2  Thank minnytwo
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for two on a Saturday evening at 7pm and arrived slightly early but received fantastic service. All members of the team were extremely polite and catered to our every need. Wine was wonderful at a decent price and our food was extremely...More

1  Thank Tom C
Reviewed June 17, 2017

This is my first time here, I popped in for a takeaway and dashed away. On arrival there is plenty of parking spots and the building itself is nicely refurbished. Once inside the decor is lovely and you are greeted by an abundance of staff....More

Thank Dan E
Shifnal C, Manager at Shifnal Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, many thanks for your review. I would like to make sure that you dined with us, as since we opened (2010) we have never used the so called plastic see through containers that you received. Thank you for review

Reviewed June 4, 2017

Had dinner here on Bank Holiday Monday. Staff were lovely- very welcoming. Food was delicious and very reasonably-priced.

2  Thank L K
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Latimer's of Shifnal
285 reviews
2.18 miles away
Carlini
103 reviews
2.19 miles away
The White Hart
75 reviews
1.84 miles away
Spice of Shifnal
99 reviews
2.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Warped Sports
10 reviews
3.51 miles away
RAF Cosford Air Museum
117 reviews
3.83 miles away
Royal Air Force Museum
1,846 reviews
3.85 miles away
Lilleshall Abbey
26 reviews
3.89 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shifnal Cottage staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A5, Shifnal TF11 8QT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Shifnal
  • Phone Number: +44 1952 462755
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing