We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wilfred Owen

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for The Wilfred Owen
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
57
46
44
25
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
57
46
44
25
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chips and peas pizza wetherspoons pub standard breakfast curry night tea and coffee quick service excellent value for money facelift pint
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 50 of 202 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The food has got better over the years and good prices loving the steak and chips and lasange !! would recommend

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Ayeasha M
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your visit to The Wilfred Owen and for your kind words about our improvements, we are pleased to see our improvements are noted. Please come and visit us again in the near future. Regards, The Management Team

Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Great to see massive improvements over the last few months at the Wilfred Owen, food 100% better, as is the service more friendly staff better quality drinks, keep it up 😀😀

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Escape794671
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your visit to The Wilfred Owen and for your great comments, we are so pleased to see that all our hard work is paying off. We hope you come back in the near future. Regards, The Management Team

Reviewed September 18, 2018

We all know what to expect from a Wetherspoons and it was no different here. Food served quickly and reasonably priced. Our meals were very good and we had no complaints.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank lynne j
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your visit to The Wilfred Owen and for your comments. We are glad to see that you had a good visit, please come as see us again in the near future. Regards, The Management Team

Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We had a nice evening meal and drinks. Excellent selection of drinks at reasonable prices. The menu offers a good choice of good from snacks to full meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is served quickly, efficiently and taste great. We'll...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jenzco
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your visit to The Wilfred Owen and for your great comments. We are so pleased to see that you had a great visit, we will aim to inform the staff that they’re doing such a good job. Regards, The Management Team

Reviewed August 23, 2018

Nice pub ,clean and tidy well set out. The food we ordered was good,and served in good time. Staff asked us if we were enjoying our meal,and in a comfortable setting.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank bigtruck61
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your visit to The Wilfred Owen and kind comments. We are pleased to see that you had a good comfortable visit. Please come and see us again in the near future. Regards, The Management Team

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Standard in what they offer. Went for breakfast, decent enough,cheap & quick . One thing..."Sort the upholstery out on the 'booth seats', they look disgusting to sit on, probably full of bacteria and won't cost much for a bit of material.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank public-citizen
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your review of The Wilfred Owen. I am pleased to hear that you had a good meal. I will look into the upholstery on the chair and see what can be done. Please come and visit again in the near future....More

Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Called here for breakfast while in area. Great wraps and coffee. Nice staff who interacted with customers and therefore created pleasant atmosphere. Well done remaking exterior look good also - loved the flowers.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank carolandmickg
WilfredOwen, Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi, thank you for your review of The Wilfred Owen. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, I will convey your words to my team. Please come again and see us again in the near future. Regards, The Management Team.

Reviewed July 21, 2018

Every time I go to a Wetherspoon's I'm amazed at what value it offers - two mains and two drinks for lunch for less than £13, and not only was the food pretty good but the pub itself was really well fitted out and maintained....More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Trafford34
WilfredOwen, General Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your kind review of The Wilfred Owen. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our pub. My team do work really hard to maintain good service and facilities. Regards, The Management Team.

Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

Me and a group of friends recently came into the pub and found that it was changed for the better! The layout makes much more sense to when I used to come in here. The lighting is much improved. The staff seem a lot more...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 562nickj
WilfredOwen, General Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your kind review of The Wilfred Owen. I am really glad that you found your visit was to expectations and that you found improvements within the venue. The establishment is under new management and the team will be happy to hear...More

Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

We went in Wetherspoons as we both fancied a beer and a burger. The atmosphere was good, the staff were nice and th4 food reasonably priced. When the food arrived I cut my burger in half (It was a big burger) so I could eat...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank stephenoneill21
WilfredOwen, General Manager at The Wilfred Owen, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Hi, Thank you for your review of The Wilfred Owen. I am pleased to see that you have had a good visit, please do not let you after experience put you off coming back in the future. The establishment is now under new management and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Sebastians Hotel
165 reviews
.06 miles away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
534 reviews
.17 miles away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
888 reviews
1.23 miles away
Travelodge Oswestry
293 reviews
1.46 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 132 nearby restaurants
Sebastians Restaurant
282 reviews
.07 miles away
Greggs
5 reviews
.08 miles away
Townhouse Bar & Brasserie
487 reviews
.06 miles away
Prezzo - Oswestry
534 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 56 nearby attractions
Cae Glas Park
137 reviews
.14 miles away
Park Hall the Countryside Experience
387 reviews
.44 miles away
Oswestry Iron Age hill fort
137 reviews
.44 miles away
Cambrian Heritage Railways
74 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sue3
September 11, 2019|
Answer
Response from KMc528789 | Reviewed this property |
No but there is free on street parking in the evening close by
0
Votes
superme67
July 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from superme67 | Reviewed this property |
I've never had a reply still waiting for an email like one of the managers said he was going to email me. Also heard a fair few day they have never had a reply back
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing