We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Jack Mytton Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hindford | Whittingham, Oswestry SY11 4NL, England
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue 5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wed - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 316: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed today NEW via mobile

What The Jack Mytton inn offers is a lovely pub atmosphere in the bar, but a sophisticated restaurant serving good, filling yet delicate and flavourful food. The selections of wines, beers and spirits is exceptional and the deserts are to die for! HOWEVER poor management has lead to understaffing and slow service and small change in consistency of food. I... More 

Thank William S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

7 elderly gentlemen left their narrow boat moored nearby and arrived around 1930 - having changed booking from 2000. Shown to a table and then ignored for 10 minutes. Found our own menus and got our own drinks from the bar. The appearance and ambiance of the restaurant was good and the place was relatively busy - with an obvious... More 

1 Thank NBD1946
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location, friendly and fab beer and food, will be returning for sure. Dog friendly and kid friendly, with great views along the canal.

Thank Jiminy178
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I had heard mixed reviews of Mad Jacks but decided to give it a try, but it was not a success. It was not busy, only two other tables eating but we waited an hour and a quarter for our food to arrive.

3 Thank perdita22
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this review

TripAdvisor Readers will be wary of comments that are posted a month after a visit as is your case with a single piece of general information. It is not possible to investigate your complaint because you chose to write anonymous negative comments long after your visit, I am absolutely confident that issues in service like the one you claim are... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a table in advance and when we arrived checked in at the bar. We ordered two dishes only then to be told they were not available. We ordered a shared nacho and pulled pork starter which was very good. The main dishes were OK. The chicken pie was very dry but there was a sauce on the side that... More 

Thank WhatNoBiscuits
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments. I wish you had contacted me first as I could have investigated your comments and responded personally and sooner. The Ribs are sold in three sizes , large, half and small. On the menu we clearly say that a choice of sides is available by adding any of Fries, Half Corn on the Cob... More 

Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly I would like to say many congratulations on re-opening Mad Jacks and to say what a wonderful job has been done of the renovations. So often when a pub is bought or taken over the essence of the place is lost, but you have not done this, you have kept what Mad Jacks is all about and improved what... More 

3 Thank AMBetts
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this review

I have taken the time to go through all emails since August (over 2000) and cannot find an email from you so I am sorry if this is the first opportunity for me to respond. There have been no changes to the menu or portion sizes since July although we regularly introduce new popular dishes through Specials and Seasonal menu... More 

Level Contributor
226 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WE were on a canal boat holls.with friends when we called in for a drink and meal it was great the staff were spot on offering great service.The range of drinks was very good as was the large range of food we will be bach again soon.Thank You Jack Mytton team

1 Thank Joe H
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having checkered that the pub was open on website we planned a walking route to include lunch at the Jack Myttom. To our disappointment it was closed until 5 pm. We had chosen to go there even after reading mixed reviews and to give it the benefit of the doubt. While we were there 2 narrow boats pulled up lunch... More 

6 Thank 987jenny
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this review

A one star review because we were closed ? Are you for real??? Your posting plays to the absurdity of crowd sourced reviews as entertainment value. Like South Park when Cartman becomes a social media food critic : “I’m teetering between giving you 5 Stars or a One Star- as food you’re okay but as free food you’d be neat”.... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food. Good service. Stopped for drinks while navigating on a narrow boat on the way to Llangollen, and then for dinner on the way back.

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

We booked a table for Friday 9th Sept 8pm to eat , on arrival we joined a queue in the bar which was already 6 deep & busy, with only one young lady serving , we took 25 min to gain service which for a Friday evening at peak time isn't acceptable , We confirmed out booking with the young... More 

7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Table 7. You visited a popular destination Pub set in Leafy Gardens by the Llangollen Canal, with Moorings for customers to tie up for the night (at no charge) at a peak time on a Sunny Friday night. And you think it is unacceptable to be busy??? We are very lucky to be a popular Pub with locals... More 

Travelers who viewed The Jack Mytton Inn also viewed

St Martins, Oswestry
Oswestry, Shropshire

Been to The Jack Mytton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $37
American, Pub, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hindford | Whittingham, Oswestry SY11 4NL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Oswestry
  • Phone Number: 441691679861
The Jack Mytton is a canal side Public House and Restaurant in the hamlet of Hindford North Shropshire set in grounds of nearly 3 acres bordering the Famous Llangollen Canal where it houses 6 private boat moorings. Popular with Locals over a wide area,The Jack Mytton has relaunched under new ownership after an extensive refit to create a cosy timeless Inn atmosphere with a contemporary twist. The Jack Mytton features a Tap Room, Snug Bar with log fire and Lounge with a Dining Room and a conservatory serviced by one of the largest restaurant kitchens in Shropshire. The Restaurant operates an extensive menu of its own Smytton cuisine featuring a British led menu with French and American cuisine influences. The Jack Mytton features Real Ales with a regularly changing Guest Beer and featuring its own House Ale, "Growling Bear", a 4.5% Mahogany Session Ale with a creamy texture brewed exclusively for the Jack Mytton by local microbrewer, Joule's Brewery.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Jack Mytton Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Jack Mytton Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?