We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Inn

46 High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
+44 1952 727292
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (21 reviews)
“monkfish” (6 reviews)
“pudding” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
46 High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 313 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A group of 7 chose the Fox as the venue for a family get together and we travelled extensively to ‘meet in the middle’. The reception from the staff could not have been less welcoming and in hospitable. I can tolerate delays and booking mishaps...More

2  Thank mlewis52
Reviewed 2 days ago

On arrival we were greeted by Paige who took our bags with a smile. The room was 'wonky, quirky and perfect' just what you would expect from a centuries old Inn. The bathroom had a shower, bath, wash basin and wc. Huge fluffy bath and...More

Thank Linda P
Reviewed 4 days ago

We ate breakfast at The Fox during our stay in Much Wenlock. the eggs were well cooked and the atmosphere relaxed.

Thank ladieswholunch696
Reviewed 5 days ago

The food was nice enough, but the chef served mine with new potatoes 'by accident' (!) when I'd asked for mash - this was brought in a separate dish and I then had to fish all the new potatoes off my plate. They brought the...More

2  Thank Claire H
Hoppo74, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

This review is absolutely ridiculous. Is there a reason for the 'by accident'? Do you think it was done 'on purpose'? They sent you your required potato's within minutes - bearing in mind the dish you asked for was automatically served with new potato's -...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was Good choose from the set menu two starters and mains Very well priced.sat outside with the dog .bowls of water for her...staff where very good....and so was the thatchers.....

Thank CSP1964
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here yesterday (8/6) for a bite to eat. The bar person and service was adequate and very nice touch with board games on each table. However, the food is terrible. I had a cheese and onion wrap for 5 pound and it was dreadful....More

1  Thank Caroline K
Hoppo74, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Having spoken to my staff of that day, we are a little confused by your review.... Kath tells me she had a laugh and joke with you and not once did you mention you were unhappy with anything! If you had, we would have done...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best pub experience I have had in a long time! Top notch British food made with love. I don't normally leave reviews but The food, beer and staff were so good I was compelled to. If you are in much wenlock 100% give this...More

Thank Joe W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Camping in the area booked a table for 11, half of which we children. Nice big table, friendly smiling staff in spite of spillage that comes with children. Games for the kids to play. Food wise I wish I had never tried the mixed grill....More

1  Thank Outstandinginmyfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Met friends here for lunch. Chose from set menu at £9-95 for two courses. I had spicy chicken strips to start followed by pie of the day, steak and ale. Both were delicious as were the rest of our party’s meals. Service was excellent and...More

Thank peterw373
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On an overnight stay in Much Wenlock we headed out for a Saturday night meal. We liked the menu at the Fox the best and despite some of the recent reviews on here we thought we'd give it a try. We can confirm that these...More

4  Thank Dan547
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Much Wenlock Hotels
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
113 reviews
.05 miles away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
426 reviews
.17 miles away
The Lion Hotel
26 reviews
3.46 miles away
Best Western Valley Hotel
1,060 reviews
3.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Tea on the Square
113 reviews
.17 miles away
The George & Dragon Inn
285 reviews
.13 miles away
The Copper Kettle
162 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Edge Adventure Activities
118 reviews
.77 miles away
Much Wenlock Priory
232 reviews
.28 miles away
Much Wenlock Museum and Visitor Centre
59 reviews
.05 miles away
The Guildhall
32 reviews
.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marilyn O
April 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from James P | Reviewed this property |
Sorry only ate there
0
Votes
Jacquikane67
February 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sam N | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
lindyloo23
October 2, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hoppo74 | Property representative |
Yes we have a large car park and it is covered by CCTV
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 High Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Much Wenlock
  • Phone Number: +44 1952 727292
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;