We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Eagle

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Oakleaf Close | Mansfield, Mansfield NG18 4GH, England
+44 1623 414627
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: The Golden Eagle is part of the Marston's chain of pubs/restaurants. Our...
The Golden Eagle is part of the Marston's chain of pubs/restaurants. Our specific brand, is 'TWO FOR ONE' on ALL main meals.
As this, we offer a wide menu choice of traditional pub food, with the option to have something a bit different from our huge range of specials & a full pizza kitchen.
Our aim is to offer good value & quality food, with efficient & friendly service, as part of the trusted UK wide Marston's brand.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 327 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 139
    Excellent
  • 94
    Very good
  • 35
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 29
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Family meal

Had a family meal here in Janurary. Seated at a table for 4 after a 10 minute wait which was good. All enjoyed the meal. Will eat here again.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Christy1871
,
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Visited the golden eagle on Sunday the 7th of February. We have been many times before and always been pleased with the meal. This time l have to say that the quality of the meal was good as was the service. We both ordered the fillet steak which was good and cooked to our liking but the quantity of chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Been here a few times. Great value for money and would certainly recommend to others. Food was beautiful and received great service x

Helpful?
Thank Joanne Y
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Been here a few times and never had a bad experience. There's a good choice on the menu's that change from time to time, not long on waiting for your food to come out either! I'd go everyday if I could! :-)

Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had a family meal here in Janurary. Seated at a table for 4 after a 10 minute wait which was good. All enjoyed the meal. Will eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Christy1871
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Cheeky pre-Christmas visit. Very impressed with the level of service and the quality of the food. If I had to be picky I would have to say that the menu is a little limited, but as this is a chain restaurant this is no fault of the staff. Will definitely go back with family and friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
sherwood forest
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

excellent food well presented plenty of choice . food cooked to our liking and served hot couldnt find a fault. staf very polite . would reccomend it to anyone

Helpful?
1 Thank delacy2005
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of friends and I came here out of the blue the other evening, we had had a vile meal at another local 'restaurant ' and we needed to get the taste out of our mouths! We each had a dessert and coffee which were are lovely and very reasonably priced. The service was excellent and the staff very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amypatrick2012
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in yesterday as we didn't want to travel too far as neither of us were feeling too great. We ordered two tomato and basil soups which tasted beautiful and a lovely warm baguette. Mains were a fillet steak and lasagne, one of the berst steaks my husbands has had in a while, its one of the most expensive things... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchener50
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to call in for some lunch, one meal was ok, one was just about acceptable and the third was awful. When we politely suggested that the mash potatoe was not right, the response was quite dismissive and condescending, it was taken to the chef, the message came back, how could it be off, it's frozen mash heated up!! Clearly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eddie K
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

thanks for your feedback Eddie k. I do remember this incident with your visit and appreciate that you appreciated my actions. you didn't mention any issues with any other meals you had, only the mashed potato. Again I apologise and am saddened that you will not be returning to us. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived on a busy evening so had to wait for about 20 minutes for a table, however once we were seated then our orders were swiftly taken. Didn't have to wait very long for our starters and the mains were brought out on time too. Good choice of food and good value too.

Helpful?
1 Thank tandkg
GoldenEagle2011, Manager at Golden Eagle, responded to this review

Hi tandkg, thank you for your comments regarding your visit here. Its exactly what we strive for...prompt service with quality food. More 

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle also viewed

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Golden Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Oakleaf Close | Mansfield, Mansfield NG18 4GH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Nottinghamshire  >  Mansfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1623 414627

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 14
  • Cuisine: British, Pizza, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Large groups

Description

The Golden Eagle is part of the Marston's chain of pubs/restaurants. Our specific brand, is 'TWO FOR ONE' on ALL main meals.
As this, we offer a wide menu choice of traditional pub food, with the option to have something a bit different from our huge range of specials & a full pizza kitchen.
Our aim is to offer good value & quality food, with efficient & friendly service, as part of the trusted UK wide Marston's brand.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Golden Eagle and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Golden Eagle staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?