We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dexters Bar & Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Crown Court Market Place | market place, Oundle PE8 4BQ, England
+44 1832 273366
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 224: English reviews
Midlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The lunch menu is a bit limited but our pasta with meat balls was nice and tasty and there was plenty of it accompanied by a tasty tomato sauce. The only down side was the lack of adequate heating as the restaurant was a bit cold.

Helpful?
Thank Dexx
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love this restaurant. Tucked away in the picturesque village of Oundle's market square it has a large outside patio which is brilliant for the summer evenings. Inside, the bar is quite small so not ideal for pre-drinks but there are just the right amount of tables to stop the restaurant feeling cramped. The food has been superb every time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sidda1
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looked at a couple of places for lunch. Then chose Dexters. The staff were friendly and efficient. Two of us had pork chops and two had seafood paella. The chops were enormous: the chef came out and commented that they had taken a long time to cook, which may have been what caused them to be a bit on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrismCambridgeshire
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely lunch here..Seafood Salad and Mussels in white wine sauce and a yummy bottle of rose' The lady who greeted us on our arrival was so friendly and welcoming. The interior has a contemporary look and a great atmosphere. we will definitely go back on our next trip to Oundle.

Helpful?
Thank Michelesnails
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016

We arrived at this restaurant not knowing the area in search of some breakfast. The waitress was friendly and we chose sausage rolls all round. They use sausages from the local butchers but used very small buns for these very chunky sausages. My Mother sent her coffee back as it was not very strong and was told by the waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judgys
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Brilliant food, friendly staff and a great atmosphere! A must try if you're in the area. Great beer on tap too!

Helpful?
Thank Shane M
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

Went for lunch.Checked menu on line beforehand, looked promising. Arrived, shown table then abandoned. After 10 minutes we were about to go the bar as assumed there was no table service when a friendly lady from Ohio asked if we wanted drinks. Still no sign of menus. Band playing in courtyard were excellent, they announced food would be served shortly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank G S
Chef226459, Owner at Dexters Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

We are so disapointed to read this review we had in excess of 80 people for our band and bbq event and have only received praise and complements regard the whole day including the food (please read previous review) .All our meat is from our local butcher and I cannot understand how everything you tried was either dry or overcooked... More 

Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

We went as a party of 9 for to Celebrate 2 birthdays, one being my son who is 10 and a good friend who is 50. I have to say the people that own this restaurant are accommodating and have very well organised staff. The food was great, the music was brilliant and the service exemplary, keep up the good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bulleybeef
Chef226459, Owner at Dexters Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review we hope to see you again soon .Regards Adrian. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal with my wife and 2 friends this evening.... Hadn't booked but they accommodated us even though they were busy. The Seared tuna was perfect. All of the team were friendly and really helpful Really looking forward to going back - best place I've eaten in Oundle

Helpful?
Thank Investor2311
Chef226459, Owner at Dexters Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

Thank you I am so please you enjoyex your time at Dexters. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2016

As a visitor to Northants a friend recommended Dexters to us. So disappointing!!! After ordering the meal took ages - even after a prompt or two! The restaurant wasn't busy so not sure how they will handle a rush, Sea Bass was just a tiny fillet and veg serving dish had far too much water in it !!! Also over... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenAgers29
Chef226459, Owner at Dexters Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time at Dexters but I have spoken to all my staff and we have never had anyone complain about the size of the seabass served .We give 2 whole fillets with every dish so either you have reviewed the wrong restaurant or you are reviewing on behalf of a competitor regards Adrian More 

Travelers who viewed Dexters Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Oundle, Northamptonshire
Woodnewton, Oundle
 
Oundle, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Dexters Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $20
Cuisine
European, British, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Crown Court Market Place | market place, Oundle PE8 4BQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Oundle
  • Phone Number: +44 1832 273366
Description
A HIDDEN GEM IN THE HEART OF OUNDLE...... We strive to serve locally sourced ingredients for our dishes, our meat comes from Trendalls next door and is free range where possible, our baker is Santoros in Kettering our fish comes fresh from the boats from our merchant in Colchester.
Whether you want a casual lunch, a light bite, sandwich or coffee through to our evening dinner service we will provide you with fresh,delicious produce. And in the milder weather our stunning outdoor terraces are the perfect oasis to while away some quality time, or just sit and sip cocktails into the evening, and sample some sharing platters or tapas.
Food service is 11- 2.30pm monday to sunday (closed sunday eve) and evening is 6-10pm although we are open from 10-3pm for drinks,coffee,cocktails and cake.
We look forward to serving you soon....Adrian

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dexters Bar & Kitchen and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dexters Bar & Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?