We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Restaurant and Bar

$$ - $$$
European, British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kettering Parkway, Kettering NN15 6XT, England
+44 1536 416666
Website
Today
6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Mon - Fri 6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I was hoping for a home made slice of fruit cake, but it was a supermarket cheap one and not great....shame in a hotel of this standard.

Helpful?
Thank Millicent64
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

We booked a table for six of us and we were looking forward to it as our friends two couples had never been before. The menu was extensive and fabulous choices. We all chose our starters and mains.....the food came nicely served and looking delicious. We certainly enjoyed the starters and then the mains came these looked very tempting...we all... More 

Helpful?
Thank BJW259
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review BJW259, I am really pleased you enjoyed our new autumn menu plus the whole experience worked well for your get together. Hope to see you again soon ! Andrew Hollett General manager More 

Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2016

The restaurant food was very imaginative and enjoyable and the seating area was spacious and well appointed. The restaurant food was somewhat expensive compared to its quality and the bread selection was all white. An interesting feature was the chef's table of local foods as starters. As there were several wedding parties, not all the restaurant was open and they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue A
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. The bread choices have been reviewed by the chef and we will introduce a different range shortly. I can also report that our Sunday lunch opening times have been extended as of October to allow more guests to take lunch. Sincerely, Andrew Hollett General manager More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2016

Catering for larger families is what this restaurant does well, however the food is a little hit and miss. We all decided to go for the taster buffet starter which I would imagine if we had been first to get to would have been fab, however was poor selection with several elements missing or meaning you were scrapping the bottom.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cath H
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Cath H, Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were not fully happy. I hope that your following visit was much more enjoyable so please let me know. Andrew Hollett General manager More 

Essex, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We had a table for 8 booked for 7.45pm for an evening meal as we were all residing in the hotel for business. The restaurant was fairly busy but not packed. The service was slow and not very helpful. They ran out of cold white wine and we were told we would have to wait for it to be chilled... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ess3x_Girly
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I hope that you will respond to the message sent to you relating to your dinner experience. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed and left your comments accordingly. Sincerely, Andrew Hollett More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

We visited the restaurant this Easter Saturday in the evening and really enjoyed our visit. The restaurant is contemporary and very nice. The staff were extremely friendly and appeared to be working hard. We had the buffet to start which was extremely enjoyable and different from Normal starters. You can also have this as a mains too. My burger was... More 

Helpful?
Thank wellingboroNosey
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear wellingboroNosey Thank you for your review and for enjoying our Chefs table concept. I hope you will be back to try some of the other dishes and my apologies go out to you for the wrong meal being delivered. Best regards, Andrew Hollett General manager More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

Have been here before but this visit wasn't the best....service was really slow, for example we got the menus for dessert, our server didn't come back to take the order for another ten minutes then it was another 30 minutes before we got them, the manager came over and said they were on the hot plate (which considering they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 113vicki
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Vicki Thank you for your comments and I have investigated the issues you raised and replied to you. Your comments are valuable and certainly help for my team to understand the issues but more importantly take action to resolve the matters you raised. if you wish to pick up on any of my comments, I would be happy to... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2015

Not a cheap option but we had £35 per person to spend on food as part of our deal. The fillet steak was fantastic as were all the other meals we had.

Helpful?
Thank Dan G
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Dan G, So glad you enjoyed your fillet steak as its one of the favourites especially with the Béarnaise sauce and thin frites ! See you soon, hopefully, Andrew Hollett General manager More 

Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2015

If you want to go for a good beer or cider don't forget to pass here! The restaurant serves a very good breakfast with a personal service. Dinner a of a very high level and the service that starts with the waiters and ends with a superb glass of wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank SlabbyBelgium
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Slabby Belgium, I am very pleased that you like the hotel and the restaurant /bar in particular. Your comments are much appreciated and I will share them with the team. See you soon, hopefully, Andrew Hollett General Manager More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

We came here for our anniversary. The food is very nice but not a lot to choose from (but that's not a bad thing) the service is great and the wine is good too. We used our gourmet society card discount and came to around £50 with starters, mains and wine. Will be coming back.

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
KetteringManager, General Manager at The Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Dan D, Thank you for your excellent review and hope to see you again soon. Hopefully, you might be tempted by the new autumn menu with some really interesting new dishes and it's well worth trying. Plus we have a small stock of vintage Port from 1970 and 1985 to share with the Blacksticks blue and our other artisan... More 

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$10 - $72
Cuisine
European, British, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Seating
Good for
Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 8:30 pm
Monday
6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:45 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kettering Parkway, Kettering NN15 6XT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Kettering
  • Phone Number: +44 1536 416666
Description
Summer drinks on the terrace or intimate dining by a crackling cosy fire. Whatever the season, taste the very best of the Midlands at The Restaurant and Bar. Our doors are open all day until late. With fabulous daily menus that showcase the region's excellent produce, we're proud to support local suppliers wherever possible. Our enviable reputation is built on great quality - always served with a professional cheery smile.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?