We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose and Crown

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Home Away From Home! Visit The Rose And Crown in Grimsby for authentic British cooking and real ales in a genuine local pub warmed by a cosy fire. Our Pub Food Menu features classic meals made with aware winning ingredients, included are seasonal specials and buffet food for all occasisions, and great value set menus too! You'll also find a hand picked range of perfectly conditioned cask ales on tap now including our very own Ember Pale Ale, and a selection of fine wines from around the world. A True local in Grimsby, we're a great place to meet up with friends and swap stories. take part in our weekly quizzes, or just come to eat and relax in our stylish pub surroundings.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $11
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Grill
FEATURES
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Reservations, Television
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
86
52
53
40
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
86
52
53
40
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger pie puds mash bread salmon nice pub set menu served quickly nice meal pub grub family meal kyle ale
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

decided to try Sunday dinner here for a change and, although the staff were all friendly and helpful the food was appalling; The meat was lukewarm and swimming in gravy ( with another jug of gravy on the side, the roast potatoes were soggy and...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Paul H
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded today

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Rose and Crown. We strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. Thank you for your feedback, and be sure that your...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited here as a group of 10. We have been several times before and the food has always been ok. This time however was not so good. The portions have shrunk and the broccoli was virtually raw. I like my vegetables aldente but this...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sprond
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your most recent visit to us here at the Rose and Crown. It's regretable to hear that you didnt have a good experience with us on this occasion and are glad that you have...More

Reviewed July 8, 2019

Average is perhaps harsh, but at the end of the day this is a chain pub and our visit proved nothing out of the ordinary. We actually arrived at this pub as we were early for hospital visiting and decided to grab a quick lunch....More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Mike R
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Rose and Crown.

Reviewed June 25, 2019

It was Monday,10.30 the cask ales all on at £2.49 but no signs of this and only one ale was on sale, the rest settling or empty awaiting a delivery when I asked. The only cask ale, the summer lightning ( as I wouldn't include...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank dangerusagi
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Hi Dangerusagi, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We have at least 4 ales on at all times and sometimes they may not be...More

Reviewed June 20, 2019 via mobile

Must be a mug?! Went back to the rose, thinking it might be better.Fish and chips £9.47 so was thinking for this price this must be good?. Honestly it was awful, very small portion and dried up mushy peas. Really don’t get it?. The pub...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank nick w
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Nick W, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve and find ways how we can...More

Reviewed June 16, 2019

Food reasonably priced but that's reflected in the portions. We had Sunday lunch. It was okay, nothing special and we were both still hungry at the end. Took just over an hour from ordering to food arriving. It was busy but that's a really long...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Dave H
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Hi Dave H, we appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve. As you will have noticed we had a very busy day and will take your feedback onboard.

Reviewed June 12, 2019

Lovely venue. Waitress good but food dire. Manageress shouted at my response that ham was not good it want thick as suggested on the menu. Fried eggs were hard and coldMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank christabellekins
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Hi Christabellekins, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We strive for 100% satisfaction, and we regret to find out that this was not the...More

Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

I would normally leave this and just not go back but seen as they promote trip advisor reviews in their entrance, I thought I’d give them the feedback they ask for. We visited as a group on the 24th and found ourselves sat at the...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank L4237PCaarong
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

L4237pcaarong, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Reviewed May 21, 2019

The food was nice, good presentation. Staff polite. The atmosphere was slightly spoilt by some very noisy customers.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JAL1964
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Jal1964, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Rose and Crown!

Reviewed May 17, 2019

Quick stop here on the way back from Grimsby, 2 course lunch meal for £6.79. Both had pie, mash and peas - lovely jug of gravy. Puds - treacle sponge and custard for me, apple pie and ice cream for him. Nothing left, totally scrumptious....More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank lynnc185
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Rose and Crown, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Lynnc185, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Rose and Crown! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Millfields Hotel
271 reviews
1.39 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
296 reviews
1.84 miles away
The Yarborough Hotel
338 reviews
1.91 miles away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
485 reviews
1.94 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 228 nearby restaurants
Seven Seas Inn
97 reviews
.70 miles away
Shahi Mahal Takeaway
45 reviews
.14 miles away
Fairfield Fish Bar
29 reviews
.66 miles away
Scartho
43 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 41 nearby attractions
Waltham Windmill
90 reviews
1.81 miles away
Grimsby Fishing Heritage Centre
509 reviews
2.28 miles away
Time Trap Museum
92 reviews
1.99 miles away
Grimsby Minster
25 reviews
1.91 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
John A
March 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from lynnc185 | Reviewed this property |
Hello, Yes I saw children in there and also they have a menu for them
1
Vote
rebecca92m
September 5, 2017|
Answer
Response from kelly c | Property representative |
Hi It's on a Wednesday evening from 830pm Thanks
0
Votes
Dayna B
July 13, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from colinrimington | Reviewed this property |
Not as such , but outside there's a park with children's equipment
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing