We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marples Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Sea View Street, Cleethorpes DN35 8EZ, England
+44 1472 697188
Website
Today
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 8:45 am - 5:00 pm
Mon - Thu 8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Fri - Sat 8:45 am - 8:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 249: English reviews
Flamborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and a friend dropped in here this week for a spot of lunch, the service was prompt and polite. The food was of a great standard and it was refreshing to see gluten free options. Will recommend and will definitely return! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Karl G
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I dined here three times on our recent visit to Cleethorpes. The food was excellent and the atmosphere lovely. We had great service each time. While the menu boasts an excellent variety of dishes, we were told that the chef specializes in seafood dishes. I ordered halibut with a balsamic reduction on a bed of roasted vegetables... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kumbayah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Great place in Cleethorpes, stopped in for a drink after a walk along the coast. Really welcoming to us, great place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016

I have visited Marples once before and was looking forward to my second visit. The food here is delicious and I cannot fault it. We booked a table for four as were celebrating my Nanna's birthday. We booked in advance knowing that a Saturday afternoon would probably be a busy time and we wanted to be sure of getting a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lashlees
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Marples Cafe. having read your review I have waited to respond until I had the opportunity to speak with the staff working on Saturday. At the time of your booking Marples was, as you've stated very busy, all tables were occupied and most tables were waiting for their... More 

Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere with friendly staff. Good choice of lunch. Roasted vegetable panini was very generous in portion and exceedingly good! Great coffee, iced tap water provided. Window ta les are the best.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelwarren1048
Grimsby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I popped in on the spur of the moment for a cuppa and something sweet. Timing was good as we were seated immediately, sometimes due to popularity it's full. We were served with serviette and cutlery , menu and a nice welcome from our waitress. Within a few minutes she returned to take our order. No sooner... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessicasgrandad
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2016 via mobile

This was perhaps our 5th or 6th visit and as is always the case, everything was absolutely what you want from a restaurant. We had the steak pie which is absolutely to die for and the Lasagne. The lasagne wasn't actually even on the evening menu but we asked anyway and the staff were only too pleased to help. Nothing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ellis S
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016

Just dropped in this afternoon around 3.30pm (Sunday) I had the Seafood Platter from the specials Board @ £16 and my partner had smoked Salmon & roast veg quiche , both of these meals were warm & looked like that they had been reheated and where certainly not freshly cooked . We where both disappointed . especially after we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Paul. I remember you coming in yesterday afternoon. I can assure you the fish platter was cooked fresh to order. Am confused at this review as you were happy when you came to pay at the till and I asked you if all was ok? and you said yes it was. I would certainly appreciated you telling me at... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Have been on numerous occasions and have now realised its just not worth my time. The service is always poor. Slow and miserable. They don't ask if you would like anything else after you have say drunk your coffee or finished your meal. You sit for ages waiting for service. The food is expensive for what you get. My daughter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you have not been happy with your visit to Marples. I will be investigating the uncooked prawns issue you have raised here. We will make sure this doesn't happen again in the future. To address your comments on the service. We do always ask customers if they require additional drinks or if they would like to... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, lovely table service, food was tasty and looked good. I had eggs Benedick. Lovely experience will come again. Cakes looked amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Irene C

Travelers who viewed Marples Cafe also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Marples Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:45 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Tuesday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Wednesday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Thursday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Friday
8:45 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
8:45 am - 8:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Sea View Street, Cleethorpes DN35 8EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Cleethorpes
  • Phone Number: +44 1472 697188

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marples Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?