We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Marples Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Sea View Street, Cleethorpes DN35 8EZ, England
+44 1472 697188
Website
Today
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 8:45 am - 5:00 pm
Mon - Thu 8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Fri - Sat 8:45 am - 8:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 228: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We go to marples probably once a month to eat and in that time the food ha always been good. We've been for breakfast and lunch and both offer great choices for vegetarians. The service has always been reasonably good and the prices are great value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Toni-ann B
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Called in to see if we could eat but they were meant to be closed as it was 7pm closing for food but they said they would absolutely accommodate us which was a great surprise, the staff were great, friendly and helpful and the food was just great. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
2 Thank Amandah808
Birstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is popular and there were people being turned away as they didn't have enough seats. It was a really nice setting and all produce was very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle J
u k
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had tea and scones. Both our scones were stale. Did not expect that although I have been disappointed in the past with the food served. I will not try again.

Helpful?
Thank harry020
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Marples Cafe. I would like to apologise for the scones you were given. If we had known we would have replaced them for you straight away. Sorry you did not enjoy your visit. More 

Louth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We often pop into this cafe for coffe and we have had lunch there once before. On that occasion we had lasagna and it was very, very good. Nicely presented and a gererous portion. Today we were looking for somewhere nice to have some fish and chips and popped in on the spur of the moment. We were not disappointed.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sunkissedbabe
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent some time in Cleethorpes and needed a meal, Marples is just off the sea front and pleasantly quiet. We were shown to a table in the middle of the building and well looked after as soon as we arrived. The menu was impressive and we had very tasty main courses followed by desserts better than we expected. The staff... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice J
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Marples today hoping for a little lunchtime snack. The cafe was very busy so there was a little wait at the door, expected. We waited over 5 minutes in the hope of getting a seat however we were never even acknowledged by the staff despite there being 3 members behind the counter and 2 serving. Manners cost nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeg103
100rachg, Manager at Marples Cafe, responded to this review

Hello jeg103, I am very sorry your visit to Marples was unsatisfactory. However busy we may be there is no excuse for you not being acknowledged whilst waiting to be seated. This is not acceptable and I understand your annoyance. Front of house staff are asked to make sure they acknowledge customers who are waiting at the door however busy... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went last Saturday evening and had the steak which was beautifully cooked. We had sticky toffee pudding for desert which was lovely too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were wandering around Cleethorpes on a grey saturday afternoon looking for somewhere nice to eat - we turned a corner and suddenly saw The Marples, didn't look promising on the outside but as it was starting to rain we went inside - What a surprise, the place is charming inside and the staff so friendly, it was busy and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Went with friends for Lunch we all enjoyed our food would go again in fact we did two weeks later. Best to book in advance if you want to guarantee at table as it gets busy at lunch time.

Helpful?
3 Thank SECUREBASF

Travelers who viewed Marples Cafe also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Marples Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Cafe, British
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:45 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Tuesday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Wednesday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Thursday
8:45 am - 7:00 pm
Friday
8:45 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday
8:45 am - 8:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Sea View Street, Cleethorpes DN35 8EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Cleethorpes
  • Phone Number: +44 1472 697188

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marples Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?