We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
01472 692988
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Four of us went for a Saturday night meal at the Dovedale. Our companions had been before. We arrived in the bar area, where we had drinks and were given the menus. Having ordered our meals, we were shown to our table. The restaurant was not busy, with less than half of the tables in use. We waited a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick P
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went to this restaurant as it has been a favourite of ours over the years.....Sadly to say we was very disappionted......only 2 other couples eating....we was a table of 4....the Fillet Steaks we ordered was spot on.....BUT....the level of service was shocking....the desserts came out luke warm ...had to be sent back....No icecream.....how the heck you run out of that.....oh... More 

Helpful?
Thank ljtraves
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay staff were lovely, rooms immaculate, breakfast was lovely, would definitely stay again 👍🏼

Helpful?
Thank Charlottebirtjackson
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family meal on a sunday afternoon, good service, good value ( portions were not the biggest but well presented. We were allocated a private room as a group of 10, we had not previously book. All meals were pretty good, the only complaint would be the lamb that I found a little chewy and fatty. Everyone else was happy form... More 

Helpful?
Thank GabbianoJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

how can a restaurant screw up on a 20 person 3corse meal?? when they had a FULL LIST of what everyone wanted a week before the meal date!! AVOID!!

Helpful?
Thank Jon T
Hull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

We have eaten here a number of times and the food is very nice. The place itself doesn't look much and the service is often a bit slow and disorganised. However the food makes up for this and we will no doubt return later this year.

Helpful?
Thank Rickandlisa999
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Working in the area again and booked straight away to stay here. This hotel as a high standard from the reception through to the rooms. Everywhere is spotless and on this visit noticed the change of decor again to a high standard. Location is 25 mts from the front with bars and restaurants just a bit further. Parking to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

called in here on Sunday 26th June and ordered 4 three course meals the Prawn and Lobster with salad and chips was some of the finest seafood i have ever had at the price i we paid and the other 2 coursed were delicious too,the four of us will certainly be frequent diners from now on

Helpful?
Thank keninlincs
Hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

Just had a fabulous steak on the 2 for 1 offer, service was great, staff lovely, went to pay for the bill to find the restaurant adds on £2.95 for a table spoon of mayonnaise and ketchup each! Extremely disappointed as condiments usually aren't charged unless stated on the menu, which they weren't. Nearly £6 added without being informed. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie H
Dovedale_Hotel, Manager at The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

so sorry for this as its a mistake.we do not charge for condiments.please give us a call so we can refund you.apologies sam restaurant manager More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent lunch in the hotel restaurant and the food was great. Congratuations to the chefs. The afternoon teas we saw being served looked excellent and we will be returning again soon to sample them. The other diners all said how good they where. There was only one girl on duty who had to take... More 

Helpful?
Thank _stuarthibbitt

Travelers who viewed The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Cleethorpes
  • Phone Number: 01472 692988

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?