We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Rock Inn

Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Tockholes, Darwen, Lancashire, Darwen BB3 0LU, England
01254 702733
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 89: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, the owners and staff are plainly doing what they enjoy and enjoying what they do well, this pub has a very friendly feel and lots of character. Service was great, everyone chipped in and were very efficient. We felt very welcome, as if everyone wanted us to enjoy our visit. Which we did. There is a restaurant and... More 

Thank Rick S
Norma G, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and much appreciated remarks, my staff and ourselves do work hard to achieve the best for our customers, it is always a good feeling when we get comments like yours because we do like customers to leave happy and contented and want the to return again and again, so thank you once again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I felt I had to write another reveiw due to the rudeness of the last person that reveiwed. I have never had a bad meal at the rock or if there ever was a problem with the food you only have to tell the waitress and it will be dealt with promptly, iv never felt the need to slag it... More 

Thank Emgal2
Norma G, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, it's nice to know we have such lovelly loyal customers, like you said all you need to do if you are disappointed with your meal, please please do tell us, we can replace your meal not a problem, the only problem I find hard to deal with is the fact that it's... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for Sunday lunch with my family. Beautiful views. I ordered brie to start - it was cold and hard inside. I then had prawn sandwiches which were okay. Other members ordered burgers and they weren't keen. My husband ordered lamb cutlets. He expected them to be pink in the middle. They looked like they'd been microwaved in a... More 

Thank Robyn D
Norma G, Owner at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed on Sunday with your food, firstly when taking your order you were informed that shrimps were not on the menu as they were to expensive, secondly why did you not inform the waitress that your Brie was cold, we would of changed it gladly, the lamb cutlets are cooked on a griddle then finished off in... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Always a great choice of food and plenty of it. Good value too. We go regularly with our golden retriever , Millie, and the staff make her very welcome and even bring her treats.

Thank alisonlyndasanderson
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

4 of us went for a meal on the 28th may, the staff were very attentive and welcoming, all of us had starters from the specials board each one was better than the other, 2 of us had mushroom and stilton which was very good the couple we attended with had the Black pudding and poached egg he said he... More 

Thank Karl C
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

Couldn't be bothered cooking. 2 Thwaites beers on. Good £10 for 2 mains deal. Pretty wide selection. We went for Flookburgh shrimps to share. Sorry, none! Boo! Shared a black pudding thing. Wife had trout & really really enjoyed it! My fillet steak was excellent & great value at £16!? Wine not chilled enough! Full & time to go. Landlady... More 

Thank SirBillTaylor
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Before I start, if you decide to have the Friday night 3 course special make sure that your stomach is empty because you get a lot for your money at £10.95. The young waitress was absolutely brilliant and a credit to the pub, she was happy and attentive without being overbearing. She came over to us as soon as we... More 

Thank cjrk
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Bullied out of the venue at 8.30pm on a Sunday night shortly after we had just arrived. Bar staff attitude obnoxious and unacceptable. Wake up Thwaites!! No wonder your Company is failing employing such horrible staff. We will not be recommending this venue to anyone because of it's attitude to customers. You deserve to join the long list of failed... More 

3 Thank Philip L
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Have been to The Rock a few times with hubby and the food is great, plentiful and the views are fabulous. My only tiny niggle was the veg, the carrots and cauliflower had been cooked in same pan (confirmed by staff) and so it all tasted of cauliflower which I hate. The bar staff need to smile a bit more,... More 

Thank 16ge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

!Been on many trips to the rock. this is an old worldly pub with a coal fire. the views around are breath taking. the management are friendly ,not always the bar staff. the food is home made and lovely . not much of a wait. a great menu ti choose from. would recommend.

Thank carole bates D
Norma G, Landlady at The Rock Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks, it is always nice when we get positive reviews, hope you call again very soon More 

Travelers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

Darwen, Lancashire
Darwen, Lancashire

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    4 of 5 stars
Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tockholes, Darwen, Lancashire, Darwen BB3 0LU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Darwen
  • Phone Number: 01254 702733

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rock Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Rock Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?