We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn at Whitewell

Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
+44 1200 448222
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“fish pie” (57 reviews)
“lamb” (31 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 549 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Although a little out of our way from M6 on our way to Inverness to start the NC500 it was most worthwhile .we had room 12 which is delightful with open fire end,ems stream of complimentary tea and coffee. The team could not have been...More

Thank lovetotravel007_7
Reviewed 2 days ago

Place is lovely, very impressive. Food is average and expensive. I ordered a prawn sandwich 'open on homemade brown with large Norwegian prawns' Probably my lack of understanding of an 'open sandwich' this was in fact 1 small slice of bread with a few small...More

Thank simensky0607
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

So sorry you weren't impressed, we try not be be at all misleading and are very happy to make closed sandwiches if asked. Very much hope you'll give us another try. Regards Cb

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the Inn and Whitewell fitted the bill perfectly. Our room was fabulous and the views were amazing. The food was all cooked and served to perfection. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Can’t...More

Thank Purplesecret
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for writing us a review, so pleased you had a happy anniversary. Regards Cb

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have eaten here many times as the Inn is only a couple of miles from home but this is the first time I have posted a review. The Inn at Whitewell never disappoints. On this occasion I visited with a business colleague from "down...More

Thank David W
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Really kind of you to write us a review, especially important from a "frequent flyer", So sorry your meal wasn't hotter. Regards Cb

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten at the Inn at Whitewell on many occasions over the years but not recently so it was very pleasant to return! The food, atmosphere, service and decor were as we remembered, very good! The cheese pie and salmon dishes were hearty but...More

Thank Chowbins
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, so pleased you had a happy lunch. Cheese pie back on the menu due to public demand, when I say demand I do really mean it. Thanks again. Regards Cb

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today 8th April for Sunday lunch in the bar. It is 50 years to the year since last visit. No longer do a high tea in the evening and there have built out the back since then. The food is of top quality the...More

Thank paratanman
hotelierLancashire, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review. A half century elapsed since your visit, so pleased you came back to see us. Regards Cb

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this place!! so much serenity and peace. Home made cake is really good and the coffee is excellent! I will definitely visit again!

1  Thank Romi G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a delightful place for lunch with friends! A very good menu, good beer (Black Sheep on draft!), good wines (you can pay £28 for a small class of top-quality claret if you like). I had a wonderful juicy kipper, while friends had fish pie...More

Thank southendbootboy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a private room with a fantastic view of the river and hills,food and service outstanding,we have had a few big birthday family celebrations here,honestly this is the venue for a get together in the area,you will not be disappointed,absolutely first class.

1  Thank jezachefuk
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Had a fab post NY couple of nights at the Inn. Food was delicious & plenty of fine wines. We ate in the bar area which was ideal as our friends had a dog. The room we stayed in was number 3 which had beautiful...More

Thank Boardbuddah
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Clitheroe
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
478 reviews
3.06 miles away
Eaves Hall
285 reviews
5.08 miles away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
310 reviews
5.64 miles away
The Shireburn Arms
326 reviews
5.84 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at The Gibbon Bridge
129 reviews
3.04 miles away
Parkers Arms
491 reviews
3.22 miles away
The Red Pump Inn - Restaurant
113 reviews
3.25 miles away
The Higher Buck
444 reviews
4.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Trough of Bowland
306 reviews
4.15 miles away
Bowland Forest Gliding Club
8 reviews
4.45 miles away
Bowland Wild Boar Park
506 reviews
2.82 miles away
Browsholme Hall
29 reviews
1.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Missyxxx
February 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jacinta M | Reviewed this property |
There is indeed- although it’s a country pub with hunting type people in it, there’s a good choice.
1
Vote
Evie S
August 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Daniel I | Reviewed this property |
No it is probably about 8-10 miles from the centre of Clitheroe but as a result of the narrow country roads, I would budget for 20-25 minutes. You should also note that there is no public transport that goes anywhere near... More
0
Votes
Margaret S
August 20, 2017|
Answer
Response from City1fan | Reviewed this property |
In the bar they serve up until 2p.m. don't about the dining room
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$80 - $80
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dunsop Road, Clitheroe BB7 3AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe
  • Phone Number: +44 1200 448222
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing