We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goodwin's Bar and Kitchen Chorley

Preston Road, Chorley PR6 7AX, England
+44 1257 269966
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good22%
  • Average20%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
Restaurant Hours
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Preston Road, Chorley PR6 7AX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 145 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

My husband and I visited Goodwins this evening for the first time since it opened. We were greeted by a friendly young girl at the door who seated us immediately. We were given our menus, and shortly after our order was taken. The food came...More

1  Thank 1979emma
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was my first visit to goodwins and overall iam impressed. Me and my wife were greeted by the hostess with a smile and some banter. Which was great 😊 we were seated and our order was taken by Julie who attended to our table...More

1  Thank Ben P
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Took my parents here for dinner. The good was very tasty and well presented. Some of the menu choices are slightly over priced but I would say overall good value for money. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Considering how busy it was each...More

Thank Vicky B
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very nice décor and furniture. Meal was very tasty and I cleared my plate. The onion loaf is very much like onion bhaji , delicious.

Thank Julie196450
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Microwaved food chicken wrap awful sausage scotch egg tough not runny egg . Wouldn't not.ally complain but was really disappointed after hearing mixed reviews . Prices average drinks very expensive . Won't be going again

Thank ann h
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A slight wait on food but when it arrive it was well worth the wait it was beautiful I'd definitely go again

Thank Shona G
MCMLX1, General Manager at Goodwin's Bar and Kitchen Chorley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Short and to the point and a nice review! Thanks for leaving your feedback on Trip advisor TTFN Martin

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I have eaten at the Hartwood many, many times. Always freindly, busy with great food and reasonable prices. I arrived this year to see a whole new look. However, the place was virtually empty! Looking at the menu and prices I immediately saw why...forget dining...More

Thank johnhind11
MCMLX1, General Manager at Goodwin's Bar and Kitchen Chorley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi, Thanks for your review and feedback Im pleased to read you found the service and quality of the food to be to your liking, Regarding the pricing we have moved away from the plastic style value menu in favour of better quality. As we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the 4th time we have been to Goodwins and unfortunately definitely our last! Out of the 4 occasions two have been great and the remainder poor, so statistically wise I'm not going to be wasting my hard earned pennies going somewhere with a...More

Thank Sharon R
MCMLX1, General Manager at Goodwin's Bar and Kitchen Chorley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, First up an apology from me and the team for obviously dropping the ball on the occasion of your recent visit. I agree with your comments on always listening to the feedback be it good or poor as a invaluable tool to move the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been to most places in Chorley and was looking forward to coming to the refurbished Hartwood. The new decor was very nice and staff were great. However the ads had promised above average food (which you would expect at the above average prices) but the...More

Thank PaulH2222
MCMLX1, General Manager at Goodwin's Bar and Kitchen Chorley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, sorry to read of your disappointment and thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Goodwins as you know is a new concept and over the last few months we have been listening intently to our guests and subsequently we are...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place... very nice decor, lovely atmosphere! Staff lovely and very attentive. Poor food, ordered the hunters chicken, it was dry, hardly any sauce + bacon was just fatty, couldn't eat it. My partner had the lamb shank, again pretty basic, poor presentation. Deserts sounded...More

Thank Lauren K
Nearby Restaurants
Malthouse Farm
1,118 reviews
.90 miles away
Smokies Southern BBQ
93 reviews
.94 miles away
Katy's Kitchen
55 reviews
.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Astley Hall
391 reviews
.78 miles away
Botany Bay
486 reviews
.45 miles away
Preston England LDS Mormon Temple
62 reviews
.12 miles away
Chorley Market
33 reviews
.97 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
July 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MCMLX1 | Property representative |
Yes, send an email for more information
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$3 - $15
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Preston Road, Chorley PR6 7AX, England (Formerly Hartwood Hall Hotel Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Chorley
  • Phone Number: +44 1257 269966
  • E-mail
Wide selection of steaks, burgers and grills with a few trusted favourites We Open for breakfast from 7am through to full meals upto 10pm. stylish contemporary bar offering a great selection of Wines by the glass, gins and bottled craft beers , also Hotel accommodation available and a fully equipped conference room
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing