We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Little Brown Jug

$$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chiddingstone Causeway, Tonbridge TN11 8JJ, England
01892870318
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 12:30 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 353: English reviews
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited this pub on a lovely sunny Saturday evening. Started off in the garden with a delicious glass of pimms, then moved inside for dinner. My husband had the wild mushrooms on toast which were delicious, I had the tempura vegetables which were soggy and came in a lump. Staff came and asked how the food was and immediately... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FeFe W
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on a Monday lunch. The presentation and setting of the pub together with a well kept garden is exceptional. We were greeted at the bar and promptly served drinks. Our waitress swiftly took our order from an interesting menu. Sadly, that is where the positive ends. Our starters took an age to arrive, although the pub was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonBTunbridgeWells
Vercheny, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With its huge garden and plentiful garden furniture, this country pub is justly popular with families. We enjoyed a light alfresco Sunday lunch, choosing a steak burger and a starter portion of moules marinieres. The mussels were well cooked in a tasty white wine sauce and accompanied by brown wholemeal bread. The generously sized burger was tender and the chips... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 198douglas
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the little brown jug on Saturday with my family for a meal It was quite busy but the service was great and we didn't have to wait very long considering how busy it was The staff were polite and all of us enjoyed the meal

Helpful?
Thank tina2016d
Duke C, Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Hello Tina, Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Duke Chidgey More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went to the Little Brown Jug last week with my husband and our friends. Lovely setting and we all really enjoyed our meals. I am gluten free and the staff were really helpful in accommodating this! Will definitely be coming back

Helpful?
Thank Meg W
Duke C, General Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Hello Meg, Many thanks for your great review, I am glad you enjoyed our gluten free options. Hope to welcome you for another visit again soon. Kind Regards, Duke Chidgey More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Slow service,filthy desert bowls covered in sauce underneath and on top.I have seen so much lettuce before .Not very impressed and will not be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
Duke C, General Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Hello Johanathon, I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at The Little Brown Jug, please could you email me further information direct to manager@thelittlebrownjug.co.uk and I will look further into this for you. Kind Regards, Duke Chidgey More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whittington and Hammond have good pubs but are getting too popular. They need to audit their model to check standards are maintained rather than just using the formula. Staff are kind and helpful but ineffective because they are trying to serve too many people with the numbers they have in the kitchen staff. They struggle to deliver orders. We arrive... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Duke C, General Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Please email me further details of this incident. (manager@thelittlebrownjug.co.uk) are you suggesting that you placed the order at half past 5 and waited over 3 and a half hours for your food? The maximum time for food to arrive to tables yesterday was 45 minutes. Looking forward to hearing back from you. Kind Regards, Duke More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid unless you want slow service and overpriced food. £75 for two adults and three kids was way over the top - basic ham egg and half a portion of chips was 12.95 and the worse but is they don't tell you the kids prices - just a vague about half price One saving grace was the garden but at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Duke C, General Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Hi Peter G, Thank you for the review. You write about us being vague, I don't find we offer "children's portions at half the price" vague. The £75 bill you claim to have had is fairly vague itself, no mention of drinks, starters, desserts or coffees? We pride ourselves on being a pub that serves good food, and did on... More 

kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

fantastic value lovely outside area great for all sorts of visits plenty of room nothing is to much touble

Helpful?
2 Thank moira60
Duke C, General Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Hello Moria60, Thank you for your great review. Kind regards, Duke Chidgey More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

My first visit to this pub with my wife and elderly parents. It was a good idea to phone ahead and secure a table as we could see from the car park that it's a very popular place to eat. Very homely atmosphere with pictures, paintings and book shelves throughout. I was surprised at the depth of the main restaurant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Trev A
Duke C, General Manager at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this review

Hello Trev, Thank you for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and we will make sure we have an extra large portion of the sticky toffee pudding waiting for you! Kind Regards, Duke Chidgey More 

Travelers who viewed The Little Brown Jug also viewed

 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Little Brown Jug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20 - $33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Monday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:30 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chiddingstone Causeway, Tonbridge TN11 8JJ, England
  • Public Transportation: Penshurst Train station directly opposite.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tonbridge
  • Phone Number: 01892870318

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Little Brown Jug staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?