We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20-22 Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8NZ, England
441795535075
Website
Today
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently popped into this establishment for a meal and while parking the car sent my wife and 24 year old niece ahead. Upon arrivalS joined them at a table after they had bothe been served with alcoholic drinks with no challenge. We then ordered a meal and more drinks and were served yet again without challenge. My niece then went... More 

Helpful?
Thank eddiec46
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

I have spoken to your niece regarding the issue and have apologised to her and discussed the issue with the staff on that night. I can only apologise for the experience you had with us. As much as we do enforce a challenge 21 policy and I encourage asking for ID whenever there is doubt on this occasion it was... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So disappointed in this Wetherspoons. Such a lovely building in a popular town for tourists. Usually love eating at JD Wetherspoons as great value but one was grubby, tables were not cleared and service was slow.

Helpful?
Thank Dartford000
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. If you would like to discuss the visit you had can you please contact me at p498@jdwetherspoon.co.uk or telephone 01795535075 so I can look into what went wrong. We hope you visit us again to give us a second chance More 

London
Level Contributor
329 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usual Wetherspoons menu with lots of real ale offer. Fantastic building inside with loads of seating although very popular. Nice roaring fire too.

Helpful?
Thank Timtyke
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and leaving a kind review. We are very proud of the building as we agree it is fantastic! We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our ale range! We hope to see you again soon More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

I arrived with butterflies in my stomach. Something must be done!!! I ordered a filet curry breast and it was brought to my table prompt and proper, with majesty and grace by a young lady. I began to tuck into my scrummy din din with a glass of Port. I removed my slippers and left them on the table as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2017

I have eaten here a number of times recently and it's what you expect of a Wetherspoons really. Prices are fairly cheap thus the quality of the food is average overall in my experience - it can be a bit hit and miss. Their coffee is certainly not like that of a proper cafe but drinkable. I have found the... More 

Helpful?
Thank islandwitch
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologise for the mix up on the Texan burger. We do in fact do both meat and vegetarian Texan burgers which is where the confusion has possibly come from. The vegetarian version is served with five bean chilli whilst the meat is served with beef chilli. You can request... More 

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

Came in for a spot of lunch and ordered the sirloin, very rare. When the food arrived the chips were nice, but that's where I stop with compliments. When eating at a Wetherspoon I sort of expect sticky tables, clueless staff and service with a grunt. Added to that, this time I was treated to a cremated, yet cold steak,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear your visit with us was not satisfactory. I would appreciate it if you could contact me on 01795535075 or p498@jdwetherspoon.co.uk so I can get some more details of the time and date you visited so I can look into your complaint further. I apologise for your experience with us and hope you will give us another... More 

Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
578 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2016

An unusual Wetherspoon with a high vaulted roof over the central area. Fairly busy for a mid-Noember weekday afternoon though we found it quite dark inside.

Helpful?
Thank bparkercars
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The building was originally 3 shops with the main area being a furniture store. It was two storeys but JD Wetherspoon removed the second floor leaving the high ceiling you are refering to. Next time you visit take a look to your left as you walk in and you will see blue and white tiles... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016

visited for an early evening meal with two friends. We found the restaurant clean and welcoming. The food was typical weatherspoons fare but as we only wanted to 'fill up' this was more than adequate. Although the restaurant was busy we didn't have to wait long for our food to arrive. The staff were friendly and efficient. Highly recommended if... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnchatham2014
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2016

After reading a number of newspaper articles about the prices of breakfasts, I want to put in a good word for the Full English at " the spoons" . I have a number of Italian visitors and always take them there. They LOVE it! And the price is amazing. Well done J D .

Helpful?
Thank chrisfromfav
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you and your visitors enjoy coming to us and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Always come in for breakfast when in Faversham, never again. Had the full English , was absolutely shocking, was so dried out. Looked like it had been sat on a hotplate for ages. From where we were sitting we could see into the kitchen. There were two chefs working in the area we could see, both were constantly stuffing their... More 

Helpful?
Thank malijuka
Rebecca J, Manager at The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon, responded to this review

I have messaged you for further information as this falls far short of expected standards and I would really appreciate any additional information you can provide. I am sorry your visit was far from satisfactory and hope you will consider trying us again More 

Travelers who viewed The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon also viewed

 

Been to The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Television
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20-22 Preston Street, Faversham ME13 8NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Faversham
  • Phone Number: 441795535075

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Leading Light - J D Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?