We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar

29 Beach Street, Deal CT14 6HY, England
+44 1304 374338
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (5 reviews)
“kippers” (2 reviews)
“steak ale pie” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
29 Beach Street, Deal CT14 6HY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

This week we enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Waterfront in Deal. We were part of a group of nine and a variety of meals were ordered. One person said the lamb tagine was the best he'd had outside morocco! I had a steak which...More

1  Thank Lindyloo662
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear 'Lindyloo662' Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for the kind comments. We will of course make every effort possible to make your pre xmas dates with us exceptional. Best Wishes, The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

We popped in for a snack and received a warm welcome from the waitress. We opted for jacket potatoes, one with a tuna mayo filling, the other with prawns and a Marie Rose sauce . They were well presented with a side salad and were...More

Thank 324,333
Mark S, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear '324333' So pleased you enjoyed you food in our restaurant/cafeteria. See you soon hopefully - Best Wishes, Waterfront Hotel Team

Reviewed July 29, 2017

The host did not have any enthusiasm or welcoming warmth. However, the waiters were lovely but one however could not spell. She thought that potato is spelled like 'potatoe' and omelette is spelt like 'omlette'. The room smelt of cigarettes and the meat was fatty....More

Thank harrybrooks01hb
Mark S, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear 'harrybrooks01hb' Thank you for your feed back. Regards, Mark

Reviewed July 13, 2017

Ten family and friends had a lovely evening in this restaurant. The waiter was friendly and helpful. We were not rushed in ordering our meals and the food was excellent. The only down side I can think of is that there is no downstairs toilet...More

Thank Jean G
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Dear Jean, Thank you for your kind review. To answer your concern about a ground floor toilet: Yes, it's been a thorn in our side since week took over at the end of November 2015, but we are actually installing facilities, as I write. So...More

Reviewed July 8, 2017

After seeing people eating what looked like an impressive breakfast outside this restaurant a couple of days previously when the weather was fine, decided to try it for brunch. We were not disappointed. My friend chose the 'all day' vegetarian breakfast and I had kippers....More

Thank dupeyabu
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Dear 'dupeyabu' Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on our business. I will pass your review on to our staff. Best wishes - The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile

Well ....err .. yes !!! Wiered .... So live in Deal decided to have breakfast there for the first time ..... The food is good little cold but okay Friendly ambiance clean and presentable... but ...if the waitresses had stopped gassing with each other and...More

1  Thank Paul J
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Dear Paul, Extremely sorry to hear this and will be looking into the matter today. Mark.

Reviewed June 22, 2017

We had a fab family meal here last night to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday! There were nine of us and every one of us really enjoyed our meals. The food was fantastic and there was plenty of it. The waiter was very polite and...More

Thank Delia M
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Dear Delia, We are so pleased you enjoyed you evening with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will pass your comments onto our staff. Thank you again. Have a lovely summer - Best wishes 'The Waterfront Hotel Team'

Reviewed June 18, 2017

What a find, great staff, very comfortable beds, spotless clean, right on the seafront and probably one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time, stayed in the family room. Geoff was great very helpful, def will go back again, not only...More

Thank samanthasweeney1
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Hi Samantha, Thank you for your review. We will pass your review on to our staff. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Mark, Geoff and all the Waterfront Hotel team

Reviewed May 30, 2017

We booked an outside table here for a Sunday roast whilst on holiday in Deal over bank holiday weekend. Service was good despite the fact it seemed very busy. Food was delicious, great value for the 2 courses for less than £12. Good choice of...More

Thank Lau_M88
Olstallywag, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Dear Lau-M88 Yes - Sunday's are always very busy. We recommend people book early ! Thank you for your kind comments. Have a great summer...Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team

Reviewed May 24, 2017

Went to Deal for lunch, wanted fish and chips, found that the chip restaurant had a fire and is closed and the other nice place was fully booked. Thought that this place looked ok and the menu was interesting. Chose the Chicken breast and the...More

1  Thank Brian W
Mark S, Owner at The Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2017

Dear Brian, I will be looking into this matter, as this isn't acceptable. Our food produce is of a high quality and our kitchen is managed by experienced chef's. So, I can only apologise that you felt the need to complain here. The fact the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lane Cafe & Restaurant
416 reviews
.07 miles away
Sea View
423 reviews
.08 miles away
The King's Head
309 reviews
.05 miles away
Little Harriettes of Deal Tea Rooms
197 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Deal Beach
254 reviews
.10 miles away
Deal Pier
413 reviews
.14 miles away
The Astor Theatre
84 reviews
.14 miles away
Mikes Bikes Deal
5 reviews
.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
zillah239
July 3, 2017|
Answer
Response from Olstallywag | Property representative |
Hi, Zillah, it was nice speaking to you yesterday and very much look forward to meeting you. I tried to send you a copy of our 'new' menu, as promised, but it bounced back ? Please can you send your e mail address again... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
$4 - $21
Meals
Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 Beach Street, Deal CT14 6HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Deal
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 374338
  • E-mail
Description
Built in the early 1700's - The hotel with many of it's original features helps to give a charming friendly atmosphere. 15 bedroom hotel - Families, Single travellers, Dog friendly and so much more. Cosy bar open 7 nights a week from 6.30pm Restaurant opens from 7.30am every morning with Light snacks, Brunches and full meal's - Evening Meal's available from 6.30pm Functions catered for Regular themed nights Popular for Traditional Sunday Lunch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing