We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 Akeman Street, Tring HP23 6AA, England
01442 826027
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hadn't eaten here for a while but visited in June 2016 and impressed at new venue choices and value for money

Helpful?
Thank Tringfan
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Dear Tringfan, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we are so pleased to hear that you think our New Menu is as yummy as we think it is! Please do visit us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The cocktails here are really good and clearly not watered down. However our meal didn't live up to our expectations. We had the chicken burger and pork belly. Both were nice, just nice not much else to say. The chips were really good but the pork belly was rolled rather than in a strip which made it very fatty. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Co1307
TheAkemanTring, General Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate our guests comments as it helps us improve in certain areas. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your cocktails and hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my friend for supper early on a Saturday evening and it was super. We didn't order lots of food but what we had was quick to arrive, cooked very well and tasty. The team working were really friendly. Have been back today for morning coffee and it is my destination of choice each time I'm in Tring.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Good afternoon Paula, Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We pride ourselves on the high quality food and drinks that we serve coupled with our fantastic service. It's lovely to hear that this was all evident on Saturday evening and your subsequent morning coffee. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Akeman in... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband decided we needed to go out for dinner on Saturday evening - lovely surprise. We were greeted by very friendly staff. The menu had plenty to choose from and our waitress was very helpful.. I had asparagus to start and prawn& crayfish chilli tomato linguine. Didnt disappoint. Lovely. My husband had pork belly bites to start and then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meryl W
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Meryl It's lovely to hear from you and great to know you enjoyed your dinner with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate it. More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

a party of around 20 People booked a week in advance and pre ordered all food 3 days before the day. The starters were bought out in dribs and drabs along with some portions of food meant for the main course. after around 45 mins the mains were served with several meals missing or wrong and one of our party... More 

Helpful?
Thank englishpedr0
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

We are guessing that your review relates to the party that the guest below has reviewed and as we said to them we are very sorry to hear of your poor experience with us but we do hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are very capable of giving good service and excellent food. More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here today for a family birthday. Due to being 20 of us we were asked to pre order our food some days before. Despite this we waited over half an hour for our starters and then over an hour for our main courses. Some of these were incorrect and 1 was forgotten and had to be cooked last... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina K
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last visit to us and it sounds as if we did not provide our usual high standard of service and food. We are continuously striving for great food and service excellence and feedback ensures that we can continue to improve. We hope you will visit us again when... More 

Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I live in Tring and have been going to The Akeman regularly since it opened about 8 years ago. Like one or two others who reviewed below I had noticed the slip in quality of food and service, particularly in 2015. Prices have been rising, but not with the desired level of value to match! However, I do want to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ted B
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Hi Ted B We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your last visit to us. We pride ourselves in sourcing ingredients of the highest quality and producing the best food possible so it is great to hear that our guests appreciate this. More 

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Last minute booking and all the staff were very attentive. Great food. Family friendly and a great experience. Thank You.

Helpful?
2 Thank Di T
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Me and my fiancé came in here yesterday after failing to find elsewhere to have sunday lunch. This is not the first time we have been here but certainly the first time for a Sunday. It was quiet and we were informed they would need the table back within an hour and 45 minutes. Our orders were not taken for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katy020387
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. The omission with the roast chicken was a mistake and it was unfortunate that you did not bring this to the attention of your waitress at the time as this would have been rectified immediately. We take on board your suggestions regarding the gravy but... More 

UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Oakman Inns now seem to think they are better than in reality, they are, their prices have skyrocketed, £21.00 for a sirloin steak and £30 for a bottle of Malbec is well OTT. It is some months since our previous visit, this place used to be buzzing, but the rise in prices and drop quality of the food and drinks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank andski
TheAkemanTring, Manager at The Akeman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your review, we appreciate our guests feedback as it helps us to improve. We pride ourselves on sourcing quality ingredients served with great service. I would like to assure you that we source our steaks from one of the best suppliers in the country. More 

Travelers who viewed The Akeman also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Akeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Akeman Street, Tring HP23 6AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: 01442 826027

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Akeman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?