We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Inn - Bovingdon

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
79 High Street | Herts, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0HP, England
+44 1442 832800
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2016

Friendly village pub, staff very nice, food is lovely too, always made to feel welcome..roaring fires in winter and a nice clientele

Helpful?
Thank 641georgina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2016

I have eaten here a few lunchtimes and been very pleased but on the last visit the food was quite abysmal (actually mine was the only one of four which looked edible). If we hadn't been in such a hurry we would have complained and hopefully they would have put things right but they weren't given the opportunity to do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrQuiet1949
Linda W, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I was very disappointed to read that your meal in September at The Bell was not good. Having been to our establishment on several occasions according to your comments I am particularly sorry that you were rushing and hence unable to discuss the problem with us so that we could indeed 'put it right'! We have since August... More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2016

This was our first visit, having chosen it from the reviews on tripadvisor. The service was attentive despite the fact that the lady was the only one serving behind the bar, & she was waiting on tables & collecting the food from the kitchen. The menu was failrly small with additional items on the specials board. The quality of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Biddy50
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Wow!! Frequented here with my husband and 2 children for a last minute Sunday roast.. Firstly we were met by the warm welcoming staff and cosy pub interior... We were then seated in the corner where there was a lovely big open fire (yet to be lit) When handed the menu there was a nice variety of pub meals ranging... More 

Helpful?
Thank welikeeatingout
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

My family and I visited The Bell for an evening meal and I must say the evening was faultless. We visited during a rugby match so the pub was very busy but the restaurant area was to the back and completely out of the way of the crowds the staff apologised for the cheers and boos but in all honesty... More 

Helpful?
Thank X1296FUmeganw
Linda W, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this review

I was delighted to read your lovely review of The Bell - we try our very best to give diners and 'drinkers' alike a memorable and enjoyable time when they visit us and it appears we achieved our goal yet again! I recall your visit as I was very aware of the excitement brewing in the bar area but, as... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2016

I would just like to say how rude are the 2 obviously miserable people that have recently reviewed the bell saying how noisy and un professional it was run!! are you sure you were in the Bell Bovingdon! as this beautiful village pub has always had a friendly warm welcome with the most outstanding food for miles... and the most... More 

Helpful?
Thank 364local
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2016

I have lived in Bovingdon for some years and am somewhat surprised at so many good reviews of this pub. The Bell is in a great location in the middle of the high street and is an impressive looking pub...looks like your perfect country pub. The Bell in my opinion is very lucky as it has a captive audience being... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank r0ss507
Linda W, Owner at The Bell Inn - Bovingdon, responded to this review

I am so sad to read a review on our pub/restaurant that is, as the writer points out, unusually unfavourable. Whilst I see the complaint does not in anyway reflect on the food side of our business it does reflect poorly on the bar side which is generally enjoyed by so many locals and passers by alike. Our bar staff... More 

london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2016

This review is about the pub not restaurant. Why would your staff of which one is a family member sorry if I'm wrong allow bar staff to continue to serve 4 very loud annoying customers who were very drunk to the detriment of other customers including ourselves who just wanted to go out and have a quiet drink in a... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank farrihey
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2016

Love the Bell for a relaxed evening out. The food is good pub food and they do a very nice steak. Nice atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. Recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank KW082016
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

What can I say - beautifully cooked to perfection, the roast beef just melts in your mouth. The roast potatoes were cooked properly and the chef even took time to have a chat. The atmosphere was very relaxed, just perfect for a Sunday. Definitely won't be our last visit. Hoping to try the lobster next time.

Helpful?
Thank ppgirlfriend

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn - Bovingdon also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn - Bovingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 79 High Street | Herts, Hemel Hempstead HP3 0HP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 832800
Description
This beautiful 18th century pub & restaurant serves freshly prepared food daily from Tuesday to Saturday plus a Sunday roast with several a,ternatives from 12 til 3pm Sunday's. Our steaks are cut from mature Hereford or Aberdeen Angus beef and our wonderful 'Bell' burgers are made from the same beef! Homemade pies and desserts are available daily as well as a list of 'specials' that includes fresh fish dishes. We have a lovely paved patio area and inside we boast 4 open fires that welcome you over the winter months.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Inn - Bovingdon and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bell Inn - Bovingdon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?