We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Paper Mill

Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
+44 1442 288800
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good38%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“ribs” (8 reviews)
“beef” (8 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 737 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

well maybe its semantics but I ordered: "Chicken, smoked ham & Honeydew ale pie, mash, spring greens, red wine gravy" but what I received was a small rather nasty pie some slop on a boiled cabbage leaf in bog standard no bits gravy. The other...More

Thank RuthAnn321
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After a half year we are back again. The terrace was full of sunlovers. We drink a coffee and a pint of San Miguel, lazing under the September sun. Three boats used the canal some duck swimming and everything was perfectly relaxed. The service was...More

Thank Laszlo S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

All the staff here are lovely & the pub is beautiful on the canal. Think the toilets need abit of DIY as sometimes they are broken. Foods ok but small portions. But the price seem to keep increasing! Soon your have to take out a...More

Thank arthur088
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Eaten there many times and never disappoints. Tasty food in a bustling atmosphere attentive service, I honestly struggle to criticise, but the balcony handrails need washing to remove bird droppings,

Thank Tickledtrout23
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here a couple of weeks ago and the food was great, we chose a meal from the specials board and the food was well presented and tasty. Unfortunately I can’t say the same for our most recent visit. It was apparent that the...More

Thank podlou
Robbie B, Guest Relations Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, I can assure you that we make everything fresh from our kitchen and our chefs take great time in using fresh ingredients to cook the dishes we serve. I can only apologise that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for a meal early on a Thursday evening. Managed to find one selection that I could eat due to my allergies. Was impressed that staff did check options to see if they would be suitable. Didn’t like the fact that you were asked...More

Thank Jenny L
Robbie B, Guest Relations Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jenny, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I'm glad you found something to eat from our menu and we always do our best to tailor our dishes to accommodate allergies. We look forward to seeing you again in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have only eaten here once before, many moons ago & from memory it was OK then. Sadly not now. The dining area is spacious, but the tables & condiments etc. are tacky. No complaints about the staff, they all coped well. Three of us had...More

Thank BigBrian_11
Robbie B, Guest Relations Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Brian, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we welcome any and all feedback and will pass your thoughts on to the team. We aim that every guest leaves happy and we have let you down on this front, If...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly we had a really disappointing visit this evening at the Papermill. We use them a lot as our office is just down the road and I’ve eaten here a few times with mixed experiences. Unfortunately tonight ours was awful. We had a table reserved...More

Thank Amy E
Robbie B, Guest Relations Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Amy, Downstairs we offer a casual dining experience which allows you to order in your own time, I'm very sorry this was not conveyed to you on your arrival. We make everything here fresh and from scratch so sadly it is impossible to make...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food. It is a shame the drinks are so expensive. All round a lovely place to go. Right next to the canal and lovely on a summers day.

Thank Debbie S
Robbie B, Guest Relations Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again and hope your enjoy your next visit as much as this visit! Kind regards,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On holiday so took a gamble on the PaperMill and we weren’t disappointed. The food was lovely, The service was good and it is in a lovely setting. The children’s portions could have been a little larger, maybe with veg to balance them out but...More

Thank Ohmrs
Robbie B, Guest Relations Manager at The Paper Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, I will pass on your feedback about the kids meal portion sizes to our chefs, I will also pass on your compliments too. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
802 reviews
.06 miles away
Shendish Manor Hotel
1,022 reviews
.53 miles away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
852 reviews
1.11 miles away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
223 reviews
1.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Watling Street Cafe
8 reviews
.42 miles away
Marina Spice Lounge
314 reviews
.04 miles away
Bull Rodizio
438 reviews
.50 miles away
The Kitchen at Inspired
35 reviews
.69 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kings Langley Services Club
6 reviews
.66 miles away
The Snow Centre
1,877 reviews
.79 miles away
Frogmore Paper Mill - The Paper Trail
77 reviews
.46 miles away
XC
56 reviews
.98 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Clive T
February 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Ben M | Reviewed this property |
No I don't think they are. Maybe give them a call just to double check. Ben
0
Votes
vickykaur
June 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OliviaBurney |
Yes, BUT its only free parking if you sign in when you get inside the pub (you can choose 4 hours or 24 hours). Its run by a parking company who monitor it with in and out cameras, so do not forget!
2
Votes
Anne P
June 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David B | Reviewed this property |
You need to get in touch with the Restraunt direct I can't help you sorry
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stationers Place | Apsley, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hemel Hempstead
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 288800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing