We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cock of the North

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Great North Road | Bell Bar, Hatfield AL9 6NA, England
+44 1707 653263
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First of all I can't fault our waitress, she was very friendly and helpful on a busy Saturday night. Ordered a Greek salad starter, feta, red onions etc. Both of these ingredients were missing, waitress enquired for me and was informed that the kitchen had run out and replaced with white onion and goats cheese. This starter really should have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I can only apologise again for the greek salad - we would usually advise customers but I'm afraid in this case there was a miscommunication with the kitchen. I do hope you will return to us as our menu is very varied and I am sure there... More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been here before and reviewed before This visit today a party of 4 on entering the restaurant no one asked if we had booked a table , stood there and waited finally we had to ask behind the bar as they did not acknowledge us straight away. We were shown to our table so not a good start !... More 

Helpful?
Thank 48loopyloo
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I understand your visit was not at our usual standards - for that I am sorry however we did experience a sudden rush of customers yesterday meaning service was slower than usual. The plaice was prepared by the chef in the morning and did all contain the feta... More 

Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having just read my pending review P feel I may have been rather stingy with the stars awarded - so I wish to upgrade my rating to 5 stars. Also I should mention that the carmelised onions served with the sausage and mash imparted a delicious `sweet and sour' taste to the dish, an embellishment not encountered elsewhere in my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Supersnipe
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear Supersnipe, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Rosie, Steve and the team. More 

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This pub is just about the closest to the factory so we use it now and again. If you want simple food then it's just about OK. Anything more complex tends to be on the 'average' side and also more expensive. As a place for drinks it's quite relaxed with a real fire and lots of nooks and crannies to... More 

Helpful?
Thank webmanmike
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear webmanmike, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way but, we are a predominantly food led business. Thanks again, Rosie, Steve and the team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff here work their socks off to provide a good service. The menu is varied and the ambience is great for couples and business meetings alike.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear Andrew L, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. The team are always happy to hear that our customers have enjoyed their visit and that their hard work is appreciated! We hope to see you again soon. Rosie, Steve and the Team More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With a change of work schedules, Bell Bar proved to be the mid point for us all. We selected Cock of the North as previously I'd had a good meal here. Firstly the service - this was friendly and attentive on the whole. However, the poor waitress brought us our drinks, then a few minutes another waitress brought an extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank rjs6Pint
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear rjs6Pint, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the portions however, it is a core menu and the portions and pricing is set by the company. Thanks again, Rosie and the team. More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at 1pm and eventually received our order at 1.45pm. The lasagne had been under the hot lights so long that the sauce surrounding the pasta had completely dried up. We sent it back but the waitress had to be told the take my dish back as well as I did not wish to eat on my own and... More 

Helpful?
Thank tdales1057
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It really is a shame you didn't ask to speak to myself (manager on duty) on your visit, we are ALWAYS more than happy to solve any disappointments on the day rather than receiving poor reviews which are demoralising to our team who all work extremely hard... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

Decided to visit here having driven past and felt it looked quite smart and inviting, and was also run by the same group who run our favourite pub in Hatfield. Just popped in for a post work drink with my partner and young daughter. Must admit it's very smart and well maintained inside. The only issue was that there was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inayellowshirt
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are a pub restaurant but as you may have noticed when you visited we are more food led than drink. We do have several areas for those who would just like to drink but of course those areas are on a first come first serve basis.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2017

If ever a restaurant has gone downhill its this one! We have been occasional visitors for the past 8 years, it always lived up to expectations. We have visited twice in the last month and on both occasions the food was below average. I will not be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noonoo75
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a shame that in this day and age people are more inclined to write negative feedback as a review rather than their positive visits. You write that you have been visiting us for 8 years and it has always lived up to expectations. It would have been really nice if you could have... More 

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

We've been coming here for 10 years since before it changed to a mcmullens. Have always enjoyed our meals here. Lovely interiors, ambience & polite staff but tonight the service was painfully slow. Also, £20 for a miniscule rib eye steak, the size of a burger. Shockingly my youngest found a piece of plastic in the kids meal from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank NattyL71
Con_BellBar, Manager at Cock of the North, responded to this review

Hi Natty, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. The steak you ordered was a 10oz ribeye from our core menu which we purchase from our nominated supplier - we have never received any complaint about the size of the steak. Apologies again for the small piece of plastic you found in your daughters meal, although... More 

Travelers who viewed Cock of the North also viewed

Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
 
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
Enfield, Greater London
 
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cock of the North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Great North Road | Bell Bar, Hatfield AL9 6NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hatfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 653263

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cock of the North and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
7 months ago
London, United Kingdom
8 months ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cock of the North staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?