We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$13 - $32
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
124
100
51
35
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
124
100
51
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak the pub room upstairs sunday lunch attentive service high street portion sizes lovely food rob thai pubs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited today and had the best Sunday lunch we have ever had. (And we have had a lot!). Roast pork loin was served for two and was not only enormous, but so beautifully cooked and with plenty of crisp crackling. Veggies were perfectly cooked and...really varied. Lashings of gravy and homemade Yorkshires. Truly, it could not be faulted. Kids’ meals similarly excellent. Service also excellent. Well done Harpenden Arms!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kate, Thank you for your lovely comments! Really pleased you had such an excellent time with us yesterday. Hope we can welcome you back in the near future for more of the same. All the best, Dan

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Re-opened later than other pubs but with great Covid measures in place. They have excelled at table service with friendly staff and a lovely selection of drinks & cocktails. Food seems to have taken a big jump in quality since re-opening too, we have eaten...here multiple times and loved it week in week out. One word of advice is to book at the weekend, we have been caught out recently on Fridays or Saturdays when they are busy (no standing drinks of course).More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm glad you have enjoyed your trips to us and hope we will welcome you back for many more to come. All the best, Dan

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my wife and toddler son. Food was awful and overpriced. Staff were innatentive and got our order wrong. Took ages to get our bill. The eat out to help out meant we wasted less of our moneyMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Sorry to hear about your experience. It is very different from much of the feedback we got during August when the EotHO scheme was on when we had recently reopened, and we would have been very keen to act on these issues immediately with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the Harpenden Arms for Sunday lunch with the children and I have to say I have never experienced such bad service in Harpenden. We arrived for our 1pm booking on time and were served drinks pretty quickly. However it went downhill from there....An hour and a half after arriving we were still waiting for our mains and, understandably, the children was thoroughly starving and fed up. When the food did arrive my salmon salad (which on the menu is described as 'Blackened Salmon, avocado, heritage tomato & cucumber salad, new potatoes) arrived without new potatoes and loaded with red onions which I dislike. We mentioned to the server that it didn't have new potatoes and please could we have the salad without red onion only to be told that they don't feel obliged to write every ingredient on the menu and that it was our fault as they asked whether we had any dietary requirements at the time of the order. I have never known red onion to be a dietary requirement and how could I have mentioned it when it wasn't on the menu? Other items on the menu do mention red onion as an ingredient. When my main finally did arrive, other family members had finished their meal. It was the complete rudeness of the manager that baffled me. I have been to this pub on numerous occasions and booked it for several events over the years under the old manager who was always friendly and helpful. On this occasion, the manager was rude and sarcastic throughout even telling me it was served 'just the way he liked it'. There is lots of choice in Harpenden so we will not be back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving a review and getting in touch with us directly, we always take feedback seriously (good or bad) as it gives us an idea of where we can improve upon areas within our business. We have replied to you personally so as...More

Reviewed September 6, 2020

Came in last month for a drink or two with a few lady friends only to see the manager frantically running round with a shirt saturated in sweat, understandably it was a hot day but this surpassed the hygiene levels that I believe are acceptable...for someone who shall be delivering drinks to your table. Plus he was wearing shorts which I don’t believe is in line with pub policy. We didn’t stayMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2020

Hi Shelley, First of all, I can confirm that smart shorts are in-line with Fuller's & our house policy during hot weather. As you referenced the very hot weather I would assume this was quite some time ago at the beginning of August, shortly after...More

Reviewed August 27, 2020 via mobile

A fantastically well located pub with a first class selection of drinks as well as a very appealing food menu....then the customer service starts! We ordered one shared starter, five mains and two puddings and in total the dining experience took circa 2 hours. Our...delicious starter arrived without enough flat breads to support the three dip dishes (our friends had the same issue the day before). The additional flat breads took 15 mins as apparently the kitchen was too busy. Once the starter was finished we had to wait nearly 45 mins for the mains to arrive and they were superb (burgers and fish & chips). We then ordered the sticky toffee pudding and this turned up cold as they forgot to heat it (they did remove from the bill and apologised for forgetting to heat it) We spoke to the manager about the overall experience and he informed us it’s the busiest day of the year and we should have expected this as they are having to deal with so many customers. It’s such a shame that customer service lets down a great pub/restaurant that offers such delicious food and an extensive drinks offer. We certainly left feeling as if the problem was created by us choosing to dine with them. They have no need to worry in future as we won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2020

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your food with us although surprised at your interpretation of the interaction between yourself and I as it seems we have both misunderstood each other. I was of the understanding that a quick comment...More

Reviewed August 26, 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here our friends both had the steak which was tasty and i had a lovely piece of salmon followed by sticky toffee pudding 10 out of 10. This establishment has excellent covid safety protocol and well managed. Great reception on...the way inMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2020

Thank you for your lovely review, very pleased that you enjoyed the food and it sounds as though you were very comfortable with our Covid measures which is great feedback for us too. Hope you return to us again soon and I appreciate you taking...More

Reviewed August 22, 2020

Our third visit since the Harpenden Arms has reopened. We visited previously for a drink but decided to have lunch today. Attentive service at the door, automatic hand sanitiser dispenser which is brilliant, details taken for track and trace if you haven’t booked a table....Taken to our seat and everything explained to us. Good food, great service, pub is really clean, this also applies to the toilets, every table was wiped down once used, drinks and food delivered to the end of the table so you can serve yourself, we really liked the layout of the pub. I just wish people would take a chance. Saw lots of people glancing in but the heading to The George. I get people want ti sit outside but talking from experience, the Harpenden Arms is much friendlier, 100 per cent cleaner and better food,More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is fantastic to hear that our hard work regarding re-opening and making the pub safe has been appreciated. With all of us really excited to be back at work we have taken a lot of time...More

Reviewed February 15, 2020

Very popular pub serving good beer and food, Good range of real ales , its a Fullers pub, and excellent bar snacks and a good range of main courses/desserts . The pub has been extensively refurbished some time ago and is stylish with hsopotable staff...and good service. Good atmosphere Alas the main and only downside is that, unlike previously, it now allows children into the bar. They ar noisy and very off putting especially when there are children in the reaturant at the same time!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2020

Hi Brian, Thanks for your review, glad you are a fan of the place and the drinks choice of which we are especially proud. We do pride ourselves on being a family venue with well behaved children welcome during the day. Hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed February 2, 2020 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch with 3 generations of the family. Sunday roast lunch was delicious as were the “mains” which the younger family members had. Portions were very generous-so much so that we couldn’t squeeze in pud! We’ll have to come back another time. Booked on...line -easy and efficient, a reminder was also sent which is always helpful.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
HarpendenArms, General Manager at The Harpenden Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2020

Hi Jenny, Really pleased to read you had such a fab Sunday Lunch with us (less happy to read you couldn't manage any of our great puds!). Hope to welcome you back at another lunch soon. All the best, Dan

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Luton South (M1, J9) hotel
712 reviews
2.96 miles away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
3,154 reviews
3.31 miles away
Holiday Inn Luton South M1, Jct 9
647 reviews
3.96 miles away
Ardmore House
671 reviews
4.18 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bar Azita
927 reviews
.07 miles away
Lussmanns Harpenden
632 reviews
.04 miles away
Silver Palate
321 reviews
.07 miles away
Pasta Cibo
317 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aldwickbury Park Golf Club
63 reviews
.96 miles away
Harpenden Common Golf Club
31 reviews
.92 miles away
Plough and Harrow, Harpenden
45 reviews
.66 miles away
The Nickey Line Rail walk
14 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jodied785
June 16, 2017|
Answer
Response from Peter L | Reviewed this property |
No, just the a la carte menu. The server did not tell us there was blackboard with specials.
0
Votes
Caroline D
August 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from HarpendenArms | Property representative |
Hello, Unfortunately no longer. However, if you are in the area, please pop in and have a look at our menu. There may be something to tempt you! Kind Regards Rob
0
Votes
crispyuk
February 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Wenw00d | Reviewed this property |
Yes, children do go to the restaurant which is separate from the bar area but there is no door in between.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing