We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Slug and Lettuce

Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
01582 764624
Website
Today
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 9:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Harpenden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very slow service - always understaffed. Rather noisy. Menu changes, but new menu is not very appetising. Only gluten-free food is chips, and even they are coated with something. Accessible to wheelchairs, but too many tables are high, with high stools, so wheelchair users can find it impossible to stay.

Helpful?
Thank DavidScottCollins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would recommend for cocktails (241) and a dance later in the evening. Service fine, atmosphere good, our whole birthday group had a good night

Helpful?
Thank Sheridan F
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Sheridan Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will sort this out for you. Look forward to welcoming you... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Slug & Lettuce on a Saturday morning in July. Although two local restaurants in St Albans and Harpenden, we opted for the latter as it is usually quieter and more welcoming. We arrived around 10:30am to approximately six tables occupied and took our seats prior to ordering. The menu is straight forward and easy to understand, and pricing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hertsratings
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Hertsratings, Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will sort this out for you. Look forward to welcoming you... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed, visited for my daughters birthday meal. First choice of lasagne was not available or even the vegetarian one. So choose scampi instead. The rest of the family had there meal, my meal was forgot! had to chase up cutlery and for the table to be wiped. It took over 1/2 later, after the rest of the family had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vickers40
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Vickers40, Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. Unfortunately we were very short staffed due to illness and I'm sorry that this impacted our service when you came to our restaurant. If you would like to email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com to discuss this further. We take... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I frequently visit the slug and lettuce, harpenden but sad to say last nights visit has put me off going back... The smell from the toilets at 8pm was disgusting more like the end of the night. The wait time to get a drink was ridiculous and overall it was not a pleasant visit. The venue is very tired and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. Unfortunately we were very short staffed due to illness and I'm sorry that this impacted our service. I have already taken the matter of the toilets up with the cleaners so that this does not happen again. If... More 

Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first visit today and probably my last I'm afraid. The best thing about this restaurant was the waitress, who was pleasant and efficient. However, I had scampi and chips, which was nothing special, the breadcrumbs around the scampi weren't crisp and the chips weren't hot enough. The coffee wasn't hot enough either. The toilets were a bit oh dear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann2shoes1
SandLHarpenden, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Ann Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. If you would like to email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com to discuss this further. We take our feed back very seriously and I will investigate this further. Kind Regards Heather More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed my meal this evening. The service was first rate at my table. Very friendly staff. I had fish and chips. It was very tasty and my wife enjoyed her chicken. Good atmosphere and attentive staff meant that I didn't have to go to the bar. Toilets were a bit dim lightening wise though.

Helpful?
Thank EamonnFire
SandLHarpenden, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Eamonn Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will sort this out for you. Look forward to welcoming you... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

food OK. Good for the money if you go when it's cheap! Children are welcome, and easily accommodated.

Helpful?
Thank footdoctor
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

We came here for the third time on the 30th April. Our second visit was a mixed bag, the waiter was bored, items missing from the meal such as onion rings and mushrooms. The kitchen had ran out but we weren't told until we enquired where they were. One of the bar staff took over (Dante, maybe)? He was really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie H
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Friday evening at around midnight. The S&L is usually a lively late night party spot in an otherwise sleepy town, usually thanks to the disco. It's usually full of a mix of friendly and polite locals (it is Harpenden) but not on this night. We arrived at the bar as two police cars were pulling away and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTraveller13_13

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: 01582 764624

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?