We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

$$
Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
441582764624
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 9:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Went her before heading out for a meal the Cocktail were lush and after 7 we went for our meal staff were very friendly and made our drink's up and delived them to our table and we had a tab which we payed as we left the cocktail's were a 2 for 1 great deal thank you for a fab... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah P
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Deborah Thank you so much for your lovely review I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will arrange this for you. We look forward to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We had a really nice lunch, fresh ingredients, very tasty. Great service and even better to discover Monday's are half price!!

Helpful?
1 Thank AllieJLondon14
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Allie Thank you so much for your kind review I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will arrange this for you. We look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had such a laugh here but that might have been because of the company more than the place 😄 Anyway, we really enjoyed eating here and were pretty well fed. 2 Sharing Platters and a plate of Nachos between 5 people...we were stuffed. Customer service was very well accommodating aswell considering some of the group could not make up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Lauren Thank you so much for your kind review I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will arrange this for you. We look forward to... More 

Harpenden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very slow service - always understaffed. Rather noisy. Menu changes, but new menu is not very appetising. Only gluten-free food is chips, and even they are coated with something. Accessible to wheelchairs, but too many tables are high, with high stools, so wheelchair users can find it impossible to stay.

Helpful?
Thank DavidScottCollins
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi David Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. If you would like to email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com I can discuss this further with you. Kind Regards Heather More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Would recommend for cocktails (241) and a dance later in the evening. Service fine, atmosphere good, our whole birthday group had a good night

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan F
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Sheridan Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will sort this out for you. Look forward to welcoming you... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Visited the Slug & Lettuce on a Saturday morning in July. Although two local restaurants in St Albans and Harpenden, we opted for the latter as it is usually quieter and more welcoming. We arrived around 10:30am to approximately six tables occupied and took our seats prior to ordering. The menu is straight forward and easy to understand, and pricing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hertsratings
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Hertsratings, Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will sort this out for you. Look forward to welcoming you... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Very disappointed, visited for my daughters birthday meal. First choice of lasagne was not available or even the vegetarian one. So choose scampi instead. The rest of the family had there meal, my meal was forgot! had to chase up cutlery and for the table to be wiped. It took over 1/2 later, after the rest of the family had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vickers40
Slug and Lettuc... H, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Vickers40, Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. Unfortunately we were very short staffed due to illness and I'm sorry that this impacted our service when you came to our restaurant. If you would like to email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com to discuss this further. We take... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

I frequently visit the slug and lettuce, harpenden but sad to say last nights visit has put me off going back... The smell from the toilets at 8pm was disgusting more like the end of the night. The wait time to get a drink was ridiculous and overall it was not a pleasant visit. The venue is very tired and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Slug and Lettuc... H, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. Unfortunately we were very short staffed due to illness and I'm sorry that this impacted our service. I have already taken the matter of the toilets up with the cleaners so that this does not happen again. If... More 

Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

My first visit today and probably my last I'm afraid. The best thing about this restaurant was the waitress, who was pleasant and efficient. However, I had scampi and chips, which was nothing special, the breadcrumbs around the scampi weren't crisp and the chips weren't hot enough. The coffee wasn't hot enough either. The toilets were a bit oh dear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann2shoes1
SandLHarpenden, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Ann Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear you experience with us was not a positive one. If you would like to email us on slugandlettuce.Harpenden@stonegatepubs.com to discuss this further. We take our feed back very seriously and I will investigate this further. Kind Regards Heather More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed my meal this evening. The service was first rate at my table. Very friendly staff. I had fish and chips. It was very tasty and my wife enjoyed her chicken. Good atmosphere and attentive staff meant that I didn't have to go to the bar. Toilets were a bit dim lightening wise though.

Helpful?
1 Thank EamonnFire
SandLHarpenden, General Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this review

Hi Eamonn Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure it is passed onto the team. As a thank you we would love to treat you to a free glass of bubbly next time you are in, just simply show this review along with some ID and we will sort this out for you. Look forward to welcoming you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $18
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 High Street, Harpenden AL5 2RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Harpenden
  • Phone Number: 441582764624

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?