We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Nestled at the heart of the New Forest, The Alice Lisle is a rural haven that boasts a truly gorgeous location with food to match. Inspired by our surroundings, our award-winning chefs produce locally-sourced dishes perfectly accompanied by our wide range of refreshments.
PRICE RANGE
$7 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Playgrounds
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
425
261
169
153
117
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
425
261
169
153
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs sunday roast beef pie the pub new forest play area lovely location car park specials board beer garden food was lovely lovely lunch ponies conservatory dog ales
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely beautiful pub in the New Forest. Brilliant service, excellent staff, delicious food and lovely beer!! All done during the COVID nonsense. Oh and donkeys wondering around the car park😆 Dog friendly too!

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 29, 2020

Stopped for a coffee on our way home from the New Forest, lovely cozy pub with a nice fire and friendly staff. Coffee was lovely.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kaz82255093, Brilliant - Very glad to hear that you had a great visit with us and you felt very cosy! We hope to welcome you again very soon.. Thank you, Tom General Manager

Reviewed October 29, 2020

I visited the Alice with 2 friends. The restaurant had a lovely, quiet atmosphere and the bar next door was very cosy with the fire on. Charlie and Ewan were our servers with good knowledge of drinks and the food menu along with friendly service....A great pub with good food and service, will definitely be back again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Erik Daniels, Thanks very much for you review. That's great to hear that you singled out a couple of our young team members who do a very good job and are very friendly. We hope you can visit again in the near future.. Thank...More

Reviewed October 27, 2020 via mobile

Dining here today, booked online during visit to NF with family of 6. Decide to have lunch and so glad as it was easy booking a time online and requesting a dog friendly area. The menu choice was great from lots of specials with locally...sourced ingredients to a wider menu with starters and deserts. At this COVID time we felt safe to dine in a spacious area. Food was absolutely amazing no clean plates from us. All 6 chose different dishes having 3 course each. Compliments to the Chefs. All restaurant staff were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Have been before several times by not for a couple of years since visiting definitely on top Of my favourite dining experiences. We will be back, many thanks.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mandy G, Thanks for your feedback - that's brilliant to hear! Very glad to see that all 6 of you, with different dishes having 3 courses all enjoyed them thoroughly! We hope to welcome you again very soon when you next visit.. Thank you,...More

Reviewed October 26, 2020

We visited the Alice Lisle which was moderately busy on Sunday evening. Chloe was our server and despite being busy and dealing with Covid restrictions was so cheerful and helpful. She checked we were ok for drinks and nothing was too much trouble for her....The food as always was fantastic. Ollie also popped over to say hello and checked that everything was ok. A great dining experience not only because of the great food but the amazing staff too!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi michellegracea1, Thank you very much for your kind review. I will pass on your comments to Chloe - who is definitely always very cheerful!, as well as our kitchen who always do a brilliant job producing delicious food and lots of it! Hope to...More

Reviewed October 19, 2020

Great to have this pub on our doorstep, the whole team do a great job from start to finish. Lovely Sunday lunches with good choice of beers and wines. Seem to have the covid system sorted too! Well done :)

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jason H, Thank you very much - very glad to hear you enjoy visiting us time after time and we look forward to seeing you even more in the future, cheers Tom General Manager

Reviewed October 15, 2020

The Alice Lisle is a great pub in a great location and we have had many a good meal here - usually in the bar rather than the restaurant. Covid regulation practices are top of the class. We ordered a veggie ragout and the burger...with extra bacon. The ragout delivered was the non vegetarian version and whilst it was returned to the kitchen the burger was left on the table - no bacon- to go cold. Vegetarian ragout was delivered - with added bacon?? Clearly a communication issue between bar and kitchen which can be attributed to inexperienced staff. With the burger priced at £15 I expected more than a burger in the bun with chips - despite the fancy special sauces - salad and coleslaw would be nice otherwise price it lower Disappointed - had to go to M&S at Ringwood and bought a meal for 2 £18 which was of much better quality then the Alice Lisle offering - need to up your game I thinkMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Hi John S, Thank you for your feedback. Very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit. There was unfortunately miscommunication between FOH and kitchen and a simple mistake which resulted in your disappointment. The server believed that you requested bacon with the ragout dish, which...More

Reviewed October 4, 2020

Staff were excellent and pub was well fitted out to cope with covid. The reduced menu was a bit limited and a bit disappointing compared with past visits. Hopefully they will get back to normal once this is all over withMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Hi Paul D, Thank you for your feedback. Glad to see the team were excellent and you were impressed with our covid measures. However slightly disappointed with regards to the menu being limited - We offer a selection of sandwiches, mains and signature dishes daily,...More

Reviewed October 3, 2020

My wife and I call in The Alice regularly but eat there infrequently. We had an early dinner last Thursday my wife had a steak and I had Buttermilk Chicken Burger. Both were sensational which I don’t say often. The steak was high quality and...perfectly cooked. The burger I believe had been marinated in buttermilk which kept it succulent (chicken burgers can often be dry and chewy). The service was attentive and friendly. Well done to the Alice team Chris & Marilyn KennedyMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Hi Cjklakeside, Thank you very much for your feedback. That's brilliant to hear you had a really nice meal and enjoyed your visit with us. Our team try to please everyone as much as they can so I'm glad you noticed this also.. Hopefully you...More

Reviewed September 20, 2020 via mobile

We used to visit this pub 25 years ago when the kids were young,an old saying is never go back which I think is very true it used to be fabulous food and average prices now it is average food with expensive prices,not that impressed...with the food the waiter was very sloppy delivering the food to the table not good at all won’t rush backMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Hi PompeyJohnBear, Thank you for your feedback. That's a shame to hear about your experience. We believe overall we offer value for money so we're sorry if this wasn't shown on your visit to us. We hope if you visit us again (not in 25...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Original White Hart
328 reviews
1.92 miles away
Burley Manor
778 reviews
4.32 miles away
Moorhill House Hotel
943 reviews
4.69 miles away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
273 reviews
5.28 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cellar
202 reviews
1.92 miles away
The London Tavern
226 reviews
1.24 miles away
Friday's Bar & Tapas
211 reviews
1.91 miles away
Lovitaly
389 reviews
1.92 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ringwood Brewery
679 reviews
2.20 miles away
Hockey's Farm Shop
154 reviews
2.27 miles away
Insight Activities
810 reviews
3.30 miles away
Go Ape Moors Valley
390 reviews
3.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KTandPD
March 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from AliceLisle | Property representative |
Hi there KTandPD, I know it is a shame but unfortunately we had to get them a hair cut as they had become unsafe hanging over our garden! I hope you will come and visit us soon and fingers crossed our lovely trees will grow... More
0
Votes
Coz2
February 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AliceLisle | Property representative |
Good afternoon Coz2, We do not offer sandwiches on Sunday's I'm afraid, we do however offer a number of starters as well as sharing platters along side main course options. I hope this helps, The Alice Lisle Team
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing