We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alice Lisle

$$ - $$$, British,
Rockford Green | Rockford, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 3NA, England
+44 1425 474700
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“ribs” (37 reviews)
“beef” (21 reviews)
“the pub” (110 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rockford Green | Rockford, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 3NA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited the pub in 2017 and the food and service was excellent. We visited this year. Well what can we say. 3 soups excellent. Potted duck tasteless. Lamb shank excellent. 2 burgers, buns as dry as sand . Sea bass chowder 1 potato cut...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank stephenbR3321WD
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your 3 star rating StephenbR3321WD. I apologise that your visit was not as enjoyable as you or we would have liked it to be. I have informed the chefs of your feedback and we are looking in to ways in which we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here for a quick pit stop Nice location, friendly. Was charged £7 for a pint of ale and half a pint of cider... I couldn’t decide if I’d been overcharged or not, but to me it felt on the pricey side for a fullers...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ilovetrees90
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your 3 star rating ILovetrees90. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our lovely location and our friendly service. You were charged the correct amount. We apologise if you feel this is expensive, we think we are competitively priced, we appreciate...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Normally when you go off the set menu the portions are smaller and the quality of food is inferior. Well definitely not in this case as the food and choices available were excellent. Being a Fullers pub the quality of the beer and lager was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank A1n2thony
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear A1n2thony Thank you for such a lovely review! We are all so glad you had such a great time with us! As a fullers pub we pride ourselves on the quality beers, larger's and food that we produce and serve and we are thrilled...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A great day at the Alice Lisle couldn’t fault it great food and service against adversity as they were a couple team members down, we enjoyed it that much we’ve already booked our next visit! See you soon...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Claudia B
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Claudia B Thank you for taking your time to review the Alice Lisle. I am glad you had a great time with us on your visit even though you could see we had a couple of staffing issues on the day and i would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A grand looking establishment offering a nice selection of well kept ales. Very dog friendly though the free roaming of animals who homed in on us when our muck was served was not pleasant. Talking of muck and unpleasant... the food... disgraceful!!! I am not...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Jackraf
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jackraf Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your time with us was not as good as either you or we would have liked, please accept my apologise. I have investigated the issues during your visit with the team and together...More

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Our visit today was a letdown from the start. I checked the website to check food serving times before leaving Salisbury. They were supposedly serving food from noon until 9pm. I asked for menu when I ordered our drinks at the bar (we only wanted...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Scenic24187760690
AliceLisle, General Manager at The Alice Lisle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Scenic24187760690 Firstly i would like to offer my deepest apologies for your wasted trip for Salisbury and the way you had been dealt with on the day. As you can hopefully understand this is not how we normally deal with customers and complaints. we...More

Reviewed November 2, 2018

Restaurant was cold. The food was reasonable but pricey for what you got. The chef was running out of everything and it was not too good for a company the size of Fullers. The saving grace was our waitress. She pulled a bit of a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bertiebassett2014
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Great setting inside the cattle grids. Good beer and great ribs. Perfect after a great walk in the new forest.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank andrewgardiner1975
Reviewed October 27, 2018

We hadn’t been to the Alice Lisle for about a year or so, we always regarded it as an average pub with half decent food and a good, dog friendly garden. We turned up with our dogs on a rather cold Saturday afternoon and decided...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank leeph
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Every aspect was very poor from the time it took to take down our order, thru to the very long delay in delivery of our order. We got drinks and food at all different times for our party of 5 so we could not all...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bebebeeb1212
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
original white hart
288 reviews
1.92 miles away
St. Leonards Hotel
827 reviews
4.10 miles away
Burley Manor
569 reviews
4.32 miles away
Moorhill House Hotel
822 reviews
4.69 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Friday's Bar & Tapas
174 reviews
1.91 miles away
The Cellar Ringwood
69 reviews
1.92 miles away
Curry Garden
290 reviews
1.92 miles away
Cafe Velo
75 reviews
1.89 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ringwood Brewery
611 reviews
2.20 miles away
Hockey's Farm Shop
120 reviews
2.27 miles away
Insight Activities
552 reviews
3.30 miles away
Go Ape Moors Valley
331 reviews
3.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KTandPD
March 16, 2018|
Answer
Response from AliceLisle | Property representative |
Hi there KTandPD, I know it is a shame but unfortunately we had to get them a hair cut as they had become unsafe hanging over our garden! I hope you will come and visit us soon and fingers crossed our lovely trees will grow... More
0
Votes
Coz2
February 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AliceLisle | Property representative |
Good afternoon Coz2, We do not offer sandwiches on Sunday's I'm afraid, we do however offer a number of starters as well as sharing platters along side main course options. I hope this helps, The Alice Lisle Team
0
Votes
talullahbel
April 19, 2015|
Answer
Response from AliceLisle | Property representative |
Hi! Yes we welcome dogs in our Foresters Bar & the garden as long as they are on a lead. Unfortunately our dining room is a dog-free zone but everywhere else is fine.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $19
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rockford Green | Rockford, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 3NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Ringwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 474700
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled at the heart of the New Forest, The Alice Lisle is a rural haven that boasts a truly gorgeous location with food to match. Inspired by our surroundings, our award-winning chefs produce locally-sourced dishes perfectly accompanied by our wide range of refreshments.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing