We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oak Inn

Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FD, England
+44 23 8028 2350
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (69 reviews)
“crab” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We are regular visitors to The Oak and it’s a lovely pub. Lots of people visit in the day on the Brockenhurst to Bank cycle ride so it can get very busy in the summer. Food is very good but London prices and nothing out...More

Thank Macarry
A TripAdvisor Member
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
47
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Cycled miles to get here. Had a starter and main, together with a kids meal. Starter... Chilli king prawns. Prawns very watery, shell off. Very disappointed. Main... Bacon chop, triple fried chips, egg. Ok. But just ok. Service. Nice greeting from bar staff. Waitress lovely....More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

hi thanks for taking the time to share your experience online, i have had a meeting with my team and we will expect that on your next visit it will be much improved for you. best martin

Reviewed 1 week ago

Tonight my family and close friends decided to go for a meal in a quaint public house in the heart of the New Forest. We arrived and was seated and ordered our food consisting of a few starters and six mains. As I have an...More

Thank OldBill69
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello oldbill69 many thanks for the review of your visit, i remember we had a conversation on the night with your concerns i have had a chat with my team to insure we keep up our experience for all our guests we hope we have...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This pub is popular with bike riders as it's very close to the bike trails in the New Forest, usual pub grub with nice covered area to eat outside. My biggest gripe was the baby change table is in the ladies toilet.

Thank Aly S
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

hi aly s great to see you enjoyed your visit with us unfortunately with such a small pub we have to use the space that is available to us hope to see you again best martin

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this pub on our bike ride round the new forest on the hottest day of the year, so a very welcome stop off. We liked it so much we returned later for dinner. Food was fantastic especially the platters, and the sandwiches at lunch...More

2  Thank Trotter966
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

hi trotter966 I am really pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience with us at The Oak the barman hasn't stopped smiling since reading the review best Martin

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

awesome evening here yesterday ... great ales Fullers and Gales and excellent food cooked to very high standard. Service was friendly and efficient. The assistant manager Dave was exceptional. Highly recommended. .

1  Thank Steve L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After our crossover to Newcastle we were ready to stretch our legs and sit at a table which didn't heave with every wave. Our lunch meal was simple but well prepared. It was nice to have discovered this wee spot. My grandson and I enjoyed...More

Thank 3deschoffie
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello 3deschoffie great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at the oak , i will pas on your feedback to my team best martin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited The Oak on many occasions over the last 16 years but for the first time we were very disappointed. I believe it has recently changed hands but I fear the place is not as good as it was. We took a friend...More

1  Thank spindleygoat
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hello spindleygoat thank you for your review I will pass on your feedback to our chef team, we would love for you to visit again please drop me a call on 02380 282 350 to discuss Best Martin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I visited here last night and were totally blown away by it. The pub is in a really pretty part of the forest, my friend said there are some nice walks around too. The food was lovely I had the ham hock,...More

1  Thank becxboo
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi becxboo many thanks for your review, we pride ourselves on our guest experience, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit we will look forward to seeing you again soon Best Martin

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have visited the Oak over several years and it has always been good food, worth booking. We had booked to take some friends visiting from Estonia for lunch and I had said how good the food was etc... However, we were disappointed to be...More

1  Thank Bill F
OakInnLyndhurst, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Bill F many thanks for your review, Due to being a fresh food business we are dependant on our stock levels and suppliers on this occasion we had not had our delivery also a extremely busy lunch. The 10 pies we had in stock...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Lyndhurst
The Crown Manor House Hotel
1,580 reviews
1.00 miles away
Penny Farthing Hotel
162 reviews
1.12 miles away
Forest Lodge Hotel
930 reviews
1.16 miles away
The White Rabbit
590 reviews
1.16 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The New Forest Inn
544 reviews
.76 miles away
The Swan inn
386 reviews
.68 miles away
Tasty Pastries
36 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
New Forest National Park
1,575 reviews
1.15 miles away
Furzey Gardens
352 reviews
2.80 miles away
New Forest Reptile Centre
164 reviews
.45 miles away
All Saints Church
13 reviews
2.36 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cam8648
May 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OakInnLyndhurst | Property representative |
Dogs are very welcome if they are well behaved.
0
Votes
Tracy S
December 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Upalia | Reviewed this property |
The Staff are Great just divergent a ring and all will be answered to give you a wonderful day out
0
Votes
annabobbleuk
July 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OakInnLyndhurst | Property representative |
Hi there, Yes we do have highchairs and baby changing facilities.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$16 - $41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Lyndhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8028 2350
  • E-mail
Description
Whether you’re arriving on two legs or four, we’ll have the perfect refreshment waiting – just something we’ve picked up from years serving ramblers, riders and regulars. Add quality food and ales to a beautiful Lyndhurst location and it’s clear pubs like this don’t grow on trees.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing