We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oak Inn

Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FD, England
+44 23 8028 2350
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (63 reviews)
“crab” (21 reviews)
“seafood” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

So disappointing! Sawdays will be dropping this place from their food guide no doubt. We are locals & are regulars of this lovely pub but the management has changed, prices have gone up around 20% & food quality has dropped. It's a sad time. We...More

5  Thank OldMoose1
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Oldmoose1, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. As you've mentioned the management changed this Wednesday. Regards to the menus and pricing, they are continued and set by Fullers and have not changed since the new management. We spoke to the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We had dinner here following reviews online...they did not disappoint. Beautiful surroundings, friendly welcome, great service, warm ambience, well chosen wines...and the pie!More

Thank Nan K
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey Nan K, Many thanks for taking the time to place the review for us. I have past on your thanks to both front of house team and the chefs and will look forward to looking after you on your next visit. Martin The Oak...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went twice, to lunch. Delicious meals, with very original menu. Good friendly service, but the second day we went our first course was very slow to arrive (about 40 minutes).

1  Thank discerningessex2015
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for the good review. Sorry for the delay you had with your food. Hope to see you again at The Oak! Regards, Mindau, The Oak Inn

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really lovely traditional pub in a beautiful location. Great service and food, really good value for money. Definitely recommend a visit.

Thank sassy725
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi there, Thanks a lot for the good review! Hope to see you here again soon! Mindau, The Oak Inn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the place to eat, the menu is limited, which is always a sign of good fresh food, but the choices are imaginative and I enjoyed my meal very much, the tomato and pesto soup was superb. The staff were very friendly and efficient...More

Thank Mike J
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mike J Thank you for the nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit! See you again soon! Mindau The Oak Inn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this place due to its location close to the New Forest where we visited. The menu was varied and extensive and food of an extremely high quality. I had the "ham, egg and chips" but it was so much better than I could...More

1  Thank Scottishsuese
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Scottishsuese, Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed it! We think the ham hock is a very nice upgrade to the "ham, egg & chips". Hope to see you here again soon! Mindau The Oak Inn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I last visited the Oak Inn 3 years ago and I'm delighted to say that this visit was just as good this time; possibly even better. We all ordered different food and nobody was disappointed. I liked so many of the entrées that I asked...More

Thank EnglishHugh
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi EnglishHugh, Thank you very much for your nice words. We appreciate that you came back to the Oak and we hope to see you again here soon, as we just started doing our new menu! All the best, Mindau The Oak Inn

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great gastropub, lovely food and ambience nice juicy steaks and burgers and a very good chicken pie and very good puds. Would recommend

Thank lumpar
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear lumpar, Thank you very much for your review. Hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Mindau

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We cycled here for lunch from Cycle Experience at Brockenhurst station (9 mile round trip through stunning scenery). I fell off my bike and had a nasty cut elbow. Upon arrival at The Oak Inn I mentioned my little fall and they very kindly gave...More

Thank SBrown15
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you very much for the kind review! It's the least we can do, after you do such a long trip to come to our place for a meal! Hope to see you soon, Mindau

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, friendly staff, but sadly not kid friendly, however to be fair, we were advised of this in advance.More

1  Thank diversnet
OakInnLyndhurst, Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi diversnet, Thank you for your review! All families and kids are welcome for lunch. After 18:00, however, due to being a small restaurant, we do not have kids younger than 10 inside. This age limit reduces to 5 during the half term. This allows...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The New Forest Inn
427 reviews
.76 miles away
The Crown Stirrup
276 reviews
1.00 miles away
The Swan inn
327 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby Attractions
New Forest
1,412 reviews
1.05 miles away
Furzey Gardens
324 reviews
2.76 miles away
Bolderwood Deer Sanctuary
271 reviews
2.88 miles away
New Forest Reptile Centre
140 reviews
.95 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
annabobbleuk
July 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from OakInnLyndhurst | Property representative |
Hi there, Yes we do have highchairs and baby changing facilities.
0
Votes
annabobbleuk
July 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from beas006 | Reviewed this property |
Hi - yes to both. Decent as well. Regards
0
Votes
naomicropper
October 21, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from bigtastie87 |
from 14 to 16 pounds from what I've seen they look big and good value
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$16 - $41
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pinkney Lane | Bank, Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Lyndhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8028 2350
  • E-mail
Description
Whether you’re arriving on two legs or four, we’ll have the perfect refreshment waiting – just something we’ve picked up from years serving ramblers, riders and regulars. Add quality food and ales to a beautiful Lyndhurst location and it’s clear pubs like this don’t grow on trees.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing