We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Whether you’re arriving on two legs or four, we’ll have the perfect refreshment waiting – just something we’ve picked up from years serving ramblers, riders and regulars. Add quality food and ales to a beautiful Lyndhurst location and it’s clear pubs like this don’t grow on trees.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $31
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (1,318)
Filter reviews
1,305 results
Traveler rating
795
313
111
57
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
795
313
111
57
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie crab burger fish and chips mash sandwiches ham venison pudding potatoes sunday roast chicken salad the pub new forest cycle ride specials board
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

I live nearby and eat at both this and it's sister pub The Fox and Hounds in Lyndhurst often. I have eaten the Harissa chicken with couscous and lemon and garlic yoghurt about 100 times, and there it is on the menu. What I got...was a chicken breast rolled in harissa paste and grilled, and giant couscous cooked in what tasted like tomato ketchup, about half the volume it used to be, off the bone not on. None of the delicious lemony garlic yoghurt and not a patch on the old dinner that matched this description - and it cost £16. I can see it now; the managers of Fullers at their zoom meeting mulling "how can we make more money? I KNOW lets leave the same menu but downsze the meal and charge a bit more for it! No-one will notice!" I noticed. Service always lovely though.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had Sunday lunch during our short break - this is a well organised, friendly pub with a big garden so that social distancing works well. I noticed quite a few people asking for special requests and despite being super busy the team pulled out...all the stops for their customers. The food was very good with a special shout out to the lemon dessert which was a dream!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear "Helen B" Aw this is lovely to read , thank you so very much. I shall pass this on to the hard working team and we are just happy to have pleased you and your guests. Kind regards, Matt England - GM

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal in this restaurant, service was great and we were really impressed with how they followed Covid guidelines, this made us feel very safe.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Amanda. Thank you for your kind review. We take the safety of our customers very seriously and its great to get some awesome feedback. It was lovely having you here for your anniversary. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Team Oak

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here as a group of six for Sunday lunch and it was fantastic. The pub is lovely and cosy but with a sizeable garden perfect for the summer. Food absolutely brilliant, highly recommend the Sunday roasts. Ale well kept and staff knowledgeable about...range of food and drinks. Felt covid-safe throughout. This is a brilliant pub and an absolute must visit in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "Londoner on tour" How nice to receive this kind review, thank you! The whole team work hard and so I am pleased they did well. We hope to see you all in again, kind regards Matt E - GM

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for four plus child for Friday 28th at 1:15 and planned a nice lunch after a long country walk. We rung through to say we would be ten minutes late and got caught in the torrential rain just minutes before arriving....We arrived only to be told to stand outside and wait for several minutes (still raining hard at this point) but we managed to cram into the small entrance as best we could. The waitress then informed us that our table was outside (apparently because we’d booked only a few days prior) I asked the waitress if we could take the empty four seat table next to the door just to be simply told no. We had a nine month old baby with us and were placed outside on a table that was half in direct rain! Literally two of us would have been showered whilst eating. No apology, no ‘we’ll see what we can do’. I left in a taxi to collect our car only to find out on my return that the table by the door had been given to a ‘walk-in’. My wife overheard the waitress say to one of them that ‘this my be quite contentious’ giving them the table!! You don’t seat small children in the rain! Your service is absolutely appalling and ruined a good day out.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David H That shower took us all by surprise, I am sorry your group were put out. We were already fully booked inside, I can see the other tables did go to bookings, not walk-ins. I too have young children so can appreciate being...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We hadn’t booked a table but popped in for a light lunch. We were not disappointed. Service was great and the food very good. We felt safe from a covid perspective with sanitised tables, track and trace and plenty of hand sanitiser.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "L G" Thanks for the kind review and also for coming along and dining with us. We all appreciate it. See you in again, Matt - GM

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch and wanted to thank everyone for making our visit memorable. Please book though and spare a thought for the hardworking staff who tried their best to accomodate. Had to listen to the poor bloke on the entrance repeat the...same conversation over and over again. Have you booked? No the two empty tables outside are for reservations arriving in 15 minutes and we can't serve you, sterilise and turn them around in time for guests who have reserved them. No you can't just have a drink at the bar, its table service only. No you can't have a drink outside the front, the carpark is not our property its new forest land and the neighbours wouldn't be happy. We can fill up water bottles or provide take out carton drinks though. Still people were indignant at being turned away at peak Sunday lunchtime. Dont get me even started on the bloke who had a go because they asked him to put his dog on a lead. You'd think someone with small children would have some level of empathy that not everyone is keen on our four legged friends especially in a food tempting environment such as The Oak Inn. We will be back! Keep up the good work.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "Amber O" Wow, you're too kind! Thank you for visiting and thank you for the detailed and positive review! We all do our best to ensure everyone who does drink and dine with us, receives the experience we are known for. See you in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Oak Inn for lunch today with our dog & two children. The staff have done a brilliant job to follow the COVID guidance & we were really impressed with everything they had put in place. The service was great-all of the staff...who we spoke to were very friendly, polite & helpful. The food was delicious. There were loads of options on the specials board & we were all really happy with our choices. We all had desserts which were also delicious. I would highly recommend the harissa chicken! I would suggest booking in advance though. We will be returning!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "KatyAdams123" This is so kind, thank you! We really appreciate the feedback, it means we are on the right track. See you again, thanks! Matt E - GM

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my family went for lunch at The Oak Inn today. The service was very attentive and friendly but sadly the chips for all our meals were cold and overcooked and the bread of all our sandwiches was hard and dry. Clearly both chips...and sandwiches had been sat around for some time. We were also disappointed that the cheese and pickle sandwiches not only were made with very stale bread, but the filling was basic Branston type pickle with a small sprinkling pre-grated packet cheese - the kind of sandwich you would expect to buy in a cheap supermarket meal deal. Why not make your own pickle or at least buy in a nicer one? And use proper slices of cheese? At £8.00 a sandwich (!!) we expected better. We should add that the Greek sharing board was good and enough for 6 of us to pick at. Again, the service was great, and the interior decor is homely and attractive. But we wouldn't return here for food. (Small note - they weren't operating the track and trace covid system in this pub, though perhaps it was just our table that wasn't approached or asked to do this).More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "Lydia R" Thanks for the review and balanced description. We are sorry we let ourselves down with the food quality on your table, it is normally the thing people return for. We do operate a tight covid track and trace system, we would have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited along with friends and family a few times over the years, went to see how much damage the ‘fakedemic’ had done to what is a British Institution. Pleasantly impressed that the staff were doing their level best to limit the ridiculous and anti social...policies to a minimum. Went for Sunday roast, and other than the ugly board and obligatory hand sanitiser preaching the lies, all seemed fine. Except, it was a touch cold atmospherically, and the ‘busy’ happy buzz was missing, and it was not quite the same, still, food was good, sticky toffee pudding was excellent, and the staff did a good job overall. Fullers at least are fighting hard to keep this valuable part of our culture alive, too many fine venues have already permanently closed, and too all those who really think seasonal flu is ‘new’, do some research. Well done ‘team Oak’, we will be back.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
TheOakInn, General Manager at The Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "TMOG" Thanks ever so much for the 5 stars, kind words and promising to come back! See you again soon, Matt E - GM

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The White Horse Hotel
752 reviews
9.66 miles away
The White House - Christchurch
66 reviews
9.42 miles away
Premier Inn Southampton (Cumberland Place) hotel
388 reviews
8.81 miles away
Elizabeth House Hotel
536 reviews
9.21 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The New Forest Inn
714 reviews
.76 miles away
Peggy Mays Cafe
502 reviews
1.08 miles away
Surfing Moo Moo
265 reviews
1.02 miles away
Anissa's Thai Kitchen
369 reviews
1.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
New Forest National Park
1,791 reviews
1.15 miles away
Furzey Gardens
428 reviews
2.80 miles away
New Forest Reptile Centre
206 reviews
.45 miles away
St Michael & All Angels Church, Lyndhurst
38 reviews
1.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ed W
August 2, 2019|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Oak Inn L | Property representative |
Hi there, we certainly are. Regards, Matt E - GM
1
Vote
Jasmin P
April 8, 2019|
Answer
Response from Oak Inn L | Property representative |
Hi there We have a lovely beer garden with some covered area and some open benches on shingle and patio.
0
Votes
zsoficza
November 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Trotter966 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don’t know but I’m sure if you ring the pub they’ll tell you as they are lovely and very helpful.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing