We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poacher Inn

The Poacher 1 Alton Road | South Warnborough, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
+44 1256 636518
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (8 reviews)
“pie” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Poacher 1 Alton Road | South Warnborough, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you again to Nadia and team, for a wonderful meal and warm service. I don't usually leave room for dessert, but I can never resist a crumble - the crumbles are truly to die for, and I'll always be making room for one in...More

Thank Alex F
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Alex for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening at The Poacher Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Nadia

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a family reunion at the Poachers and enjoyed good food and friendly service. The pub is nicely decorated with plenty of parking. Some of us had the meal deal which was excellent value and we all had a nice relaxing lunch. I look...More

Thank Marian1990
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marian, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we really appreciate it. It has been a pleasure having your family and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Nadia

Reviewed January 10, 2018

We visited last October to check out our soon to be local. Fantastic hearty menu (using produce from their own vegetable garden!), in a comfortable, clean and well-decorated environment. We were served by Nadia herself, and treated to entertainment from a magician (they also run...More

Thank Alex F
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review Alex. :) So glad to hear you remembered us and you enjoyed both our food and our hospitality, I will make sure to share your comments with the whole staff. We hope to see you again soon...More

Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Had the Poacher Burger which was fab. But the chunky chips could, very well be, the finest I have ever tasted. Love the place, very cosy and friendly.

Thank Simon G
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear Simon, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. :) I will make sure this is shared with the kitchen staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Nadia

Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

Finally stopped of here and tryed the food .my other half had the tuna sandwich which looked absolutely lovely.i had the special offer which was a double burger 🍔 which was massive which filled the breakfast and lunch gap in my tummy etc again a...More

Thank stuboy79
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Dear Stuboy79, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you and your partner enjoyed your food at The Poacher Inn. We hope to see you there again soon. :) Many thanks Nadia

Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Chose to hold my 50th birthday celebrations @ The Poacher. Had a brilliant nigh. Family and friends all agreed we can not fault the place - great service and food, great ambiance and very friendly staff and locals. We (2 adults and 2 kids) also...More

Thank katherine t
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Hello Katherine, Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your party at The Poacher Inn. I will share your feedback with the whole team. Thanks again Nadia

Reviewed November 11, 2017

Whilst the wine was good I tried three different bitters, each was awful. There is clearly a problem with the pipes/cleaning. Hobgoblin gold....really awful The other two I tried little better Won't be going back.More

2  Thank fireyfred
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Mr Fireyfred, I am sincerely really sorry to hear that when you visited The Poacher Inn our ales were not up to our usual standard. Please do give us a second chance to prov to you that it was a single isolated episode. Kind...More

Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Thank you for a delicious roast, great live music and your lovely team! We will be back!!! The partridge was cooked perfect and the beef was super tender, gravy perfect too!!! 👍😍More

Thank Helen C
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Helen, Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you had a nice meal and you appreciated the live music. :) This month the next live performance will be on Sunday 15.10 again at 3.30pm. We hope to see...More

Reviewed October 2, 2017

Good value lunch. 2 courses £9.95. Freshly cooked and home made. Friendly staff and nicely decorated

Thank Pauline D
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Pauline, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you found our Lunchtime Deal good value for money. :) We hope to see you soon Nadia

Reviewed October 2, 2017

Great welcome, Real Ales (I wasn't driving), veg just as I like it, not soggy. Crunchy outer fluffy inner roast potatoes, Delicious roast sirloin perfectly cooked, served with a 'kicking' horseradish sauce.

Thank Greg P
schicchi_nadia, Manager at The Poacher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear Greg, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch last Sunday. I will make sure that your comments are passed onto the Chef. :) Thanks again Nadia

PreviousNext
12345611
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all South Warnborough Hotels
The Red Lion
14 reviews
2.52 miles away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1,223 reviews
3.76 miles away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
1,469 reviews
3.94 miles away
Raven Hotel
492 reviews
4.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Hoddington Arms
255 reviews
1.49 miles away
The Chequers Inn at Well
303 reviews
2.39 miles away
Fox and Goose Greywell
183 reviews
2.48 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Manor House
7 reviews
1.71 miles away
Odiham Castle
135 reviews
2.77 miles away
Basingstoke Country Hotel Spa
63 reviews
3.75 miles away
Andwell Brewing Company
7 reviews
3.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Poacher Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Poacher 1 Alton Road | South Warnborough, South Warnborough RG29 1RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  South Warnborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 636518
  • E-mail
Description
Under new management since 2016, The Poacher Inn captures the true essence & spirit of a traditional English country pub. The friendly staff & rural surroundings provide a warm, homely environment for customers to relax whilst enjoying a drink from the well-stocked bar, a delicious homemade meal from the menu or a stay in the comfortable En-suite accommodation. Situated in the picturesque village of South Warnborough, The Poacher Inn overlooks some of the most beautiful English countryside and with outside seating both at the front of the pub and also in the rear garden area, it's the perfect place to enjoy summer days!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing