We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#5 of 16 Bar in Romsey
Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
About
A truly special place to drink, dine and stay at the edge of the picturesque market town of Romsey. The Cromwell Arms boasts locally-sourced specialties, a host of perfectly-stored ales and wines, and a fabulous marquee. It’s the perfect place to rest a while on the South Coast.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
212
142
91
45
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
212
142
91
45
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tempura prawns sticky toffee pudding sunday roast cheesecake beef sea bass soup cooked to perfection stayed here nice meal the pub car park garden
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 30, 2020 via mobile

Popped into this lovely pub restaurant on the way back to our hotel from Romsey. Warm welcome, nice atmosphere and great cocktails (my wife had the best porn star martini ever).

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2020

Thank you for the lovely review Terry! Glad you both enjoyed our little pub - our Pornstar Martinis really are rather good if we do say so ourselves! Next time you'll have to pop by and stay for dinner! Sean

Reviewed October 4, 2020

we had a great couple of days here, breakfast was great, they went out of there way to meet my fussiness. Room was lovely, check in was very easy and Sean and the team looked after us very well. The other half was very happy...to have HSB on draught. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Thank you very much Kathy for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is very lovely area indeed and we hope to see you again. Lucky to have the HSB on draught as we only have it on occasionally. Thanks again, Lucia

Reviewed September 30, 2020 via mobile

The Cromwell arms have a very organised and efficient system dealing with the current Covid 19 crisis. We were explained the details at the door and then taken straight to our table. We all (6) had a very nice what l would call home cooked...roast dinners ranging from pork, chicken and a delicious vegetarian nut roast. It was also nice to see HSB on tap bought straight to the table. I can highly recommend the Cromwell arms even more so at this difficult time due to its excellent organisation and service.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
oliverc489, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

Thank yo so much for your excellent review and such a lovely words. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit at the Cromwell Arms and thank you very much for recommending us to others! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Lucia

Reviewed September 27, 2020 via mobile

Food was delicious plenty of choice and very tasty. The Game faggots were really good. Only marked down as waitress had mask under her noseMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

Hi Pip, Thank you for your lovely review. I do appologise about the staff face coverings, all our staff have been Covid trained. However, we will make sure to not let this happen again as I promise you this is not normally the case. Hope...More

Reviewed September 19, 2020

I booked a table for 6 people for lunch We had a very enjoyable lunch party The service was good The food was not amazing but good too. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2020

Thank you for your review Tony. I am very glad you enjoyed your time at the Cromwell Arms and hope to see you again soon! Lucia

Reviewed September 14, 2020 via mobile

Mixed review from us. On our first night of three we were wakened by the fire alarm and had to evacuate into the car park in the early hours. A member of staff came out to tell us it was ok and safe to return...to bed which we did to be woken by the alarm a couple of hours later. The next morning no one acknowledged the incident, we were quite happy to see the funny side but I feel an apology would have been in order. The next morning ordered breakfast it took a while but not too bothered about that, but my husband had a long hair in his meal. Quite revolting! We paid £148 a night for a cosy room which was small but pleasant. Due to Covid there was no house keeping in the rooms. I feel this place is overpriced for a pub with rooms, tastefully decorated but overall disappointed.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2020

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I really am sorry for the inconvenience with the fire alarm on the first night of your stay. It was caused by another guest trying to discreetly smoke in the bedrooms and was extremely...More

Reviewed September 14, 2020 via mobile

Not all Fuller’s Kitchens are the same - this one’s brilliant. A family celebration brought us back to the Cromwell Arms on the 12th September. 6 of us had a thoroughly enjoyable time, capably served with wonderful food. I had lamb rack of ribs which...was cooked to perfection. Date & molasses sticky toffee pudding?? Oh yes. We’ve been here before and will come again. Why not find out for yourself what a great pub this is??More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
oliverc489, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2020

Thank you for the lovely review Keith - it's great to hear you had a good time with us. I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the team in the kitchen and I look forward to welcoming you back to us soon! Sean

Reviewed September 8, 2020 via mobile

Our second stay and this time we spent 3 nights here. It's a great place to stay, ten mins walk into town and ideally situated for exploring the surrounding areas. The place was very clean with lots hand gel available throughout. A request for masks...to be worn in corridors etc was adhered to by the majority of responsible guests. Room was spotless and comfortable and we slept very well. We had one meal in restaurant on Friday evening. A small menu but all was very good and the Argentinian Malbec especially enjoyable. All the staff are great but special thanks to the housekeeping ladies who kept us supplied with teabags, water and fresh towels, not to mention the yummy biscuits! If anything spoilt our time spent here it is the parents who think everyone likes to hear their children screaming in the corridors and shouting in the restaurant. Sad they cannot teach them from an early age how to behave in public. Good breakfasts set us up for our days out and we noticed tables and chairs were thoroughly cleaned when people left which made us feel confident. As good a time as our first stay (we missed the complimentary bottle beer in our room) even though life is greatly changed since then. We will be back again soon!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2020

Thank you guys for the lovely review from your stay with us. It's fantastic to hear that, especially in these strange times, you had a great time with us and didn't find too much amiss from pre-COVID days! We are slowly getting back to things...More

Reviewed August 24, 2020 via mobile

Starters were a little small for the price, main courses reasonably sized, though beef rather chewy, and side vegetables were only marginally warmer than tepid.....Strange to be given a fork to serve them out though. The day’s vegetarian starter started off as interesting, with coconut,...but it was hard to detect the key curry ingredient. The posset was also not as lemony as one would expect, and those choosing the Eton Mess lamented the paucity of meringue pieces. Having a Sunday dish of roast chicken, and then end up having to apologise to everyone that there was no stuffing, also detracts! Staff amiable enough, but service not as attentive as one might like. However, the response to the Covid19 situation was patchy. Waiting at entrance, and QR code scan for and Trace, gel, separate entrance and exit, servers declining to lean over you when serving, plus helping yourself to drinks when brought round by tray - all merit “ticks”. But less positive aspects were:- tables too close together, and their error on our booking meant that one person in our group was too close, and unable to distance from the very near adjacent table; knives and forks were wrapped in napkins, but spoons for dessert were just plonked (from a bare hand) onto the table, and for some reason it was ok to lean over the table and guests to collect dirty dishes. Biggest surprise that none of the staff members had masks or face shields.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
oliverc489, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2020

Thank you for the feedback. Please do bare with us while we're getting used to the new COVID restrictions. All our tables are socially distanced to the current 1m + guidelines, and our team are sanitising their hands regularly - though we are now wrapping...More

Reviewed August 19, 2020

We were there yesterday with my misses we started good we ordered our mains until there it was fine the burgers were nice except the fact that 6 items that we tried to order from the menu they didn't have them after that the made...a mistake on my ice cream they brought different flavour that I had asked no one ever asked us if the food was allright or anything like that and when I went to pay my bill in the bar the bartender was really rude and abrupt. We had a nice start but after a while everything was a letdown and the brownie that my misses ordered it would have been 3 to 4 days old the desserts was a complete failure.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
oliverc489, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2020

I'm sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience with us. I have discussed your comments with the team working Wednesday evening and, while we have had issues with stock availability over the last couple of weeks since reopening, this week they've been minimal. That...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The White Horse Hotel
763 reviews
.45 miles away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
1,392 reviews
2.60 miles away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
526 reviews
2.98 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Southampton Rownhams
391 reviews
3.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Suan Thai Restaurant
340 reviews
.36 miles away
Three Tuns
574 reviews
.16 miles away
Paws for Thought Cat Cafe
116 reviews
.43 miles away
Natraj
369 reviews
.44 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Plaza Theatre
302 reviews
.76 miles away
Romsey Abbey
363 reviews
.45 miles away
King John's House & Heritage Centre
124 reviews
.47 miles away
Romsey Signal Box
33 reviews
.82 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
alanpass43
February 3, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from hjohnnacepilot50 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, It was a Fullers pub when we went in Aug' 2019.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing